We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget it may be but location and facilities are great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Budget it may be but location and facilities are great”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had planned to pay extra and have a cooked brekkie but after a huge meal in Eastbourne(in easy walking distance to the centre from here) we stuck with Continental pastries, toast and spreads. I notice you can have brekkie to go if you are in a hurry and they do take out lunch packs too. Parking was by voucher £1 for the day. We would certainly return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    220
    130
    71
    44
See reviews for
113
284
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Room was very nice and comfortable. Room warm and amazing shower and bath. After running in the sussex half marathon it was nice to come back relax and have a hot shower.
Staff were pleasant but watched as we waited at the bar to be served and had to be asked to serve us.
On the whole very nice and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShornNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed as we went to a show
Had a few drinks
Good staff good comfortable room
All areas clean
Would recommend
Breakfast adequate and choice good
This is a well placed hotel for seaside and town
They even offered us a parking permit good all round

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

When I have been planed my trip to Eastbourne , I was looking for the best offer. I found good offer by DIRECTROOMS for The Big Sleep in Eastbourne. When I arrived late at evening with my sester I couldn´t believe, that it can be truth. Our room for 2 weeks was 2x2meters, no place for our things, no chance to open our suitcases, because, there was no place. Room no 205!!!! maybe for 1 person. Next day I was complaining, and they gave me another room , but I paid + 300eur. In bathroom, there was baby basin 20x20cm impossible to wash you face. I dont want to speak about breakfast. If you stay there for two weeks .......
Thank you, never more!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank familie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there over the weekend while we were visiting Eastbourne for a friends wedding. Nice sized rooms, all be it with strange blue/grey curtains and a random picture if a random bloke on the wall staring at you.

Staff we're friendly, bar's open late, big room with a sea view and fairly cheep. As long as your not expecting the Ritz it's a nice enough budget hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Olly1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights..fri 7th and sat 8th. Found parking a little strange as had to ask about permit..It was not freely offered. Hotel decor very quirky..rugs up at windows and very basic modern. Bed was firm and pillows like breeze blocks. What ruined the stay was the lack of hot water...luke warm 1st morning and none the 2nd. Reported on both days and was told it is an old system we have 50 rooms..lol. The cleaning staff had left our room window open all day Saturday so when we returned the room was freezing..the window was accessible from outside but luckily no one had got in. Am waiting for a reply from management ob an email I sent on Sunday...not very happy as £130 for 2 nights should at least get you a shower.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Strange; room was spacious but not cleaned properly. Had a choice of upgrade for extra 20 a night but room was well used, dirty and smelt so stuck with the standard double. Not quite sure what the curtains were all about?????????????? very strange - blue weird material that was also a trim round the bed very unpleasant, needed washing and smelt???? I agree with previous observations regarding the curtains - looked like the cookie monster/monsters inc ! Strange hotel - very strange.

Husband said breakfast was awful; best part - the toast.

And what is it with the picture of John Malkovich in every room staring out at you???

Weird place, very strange. Not for me I'm afraid - last nail in the coffin having a check out time of 10.30 am at the weekend - come on Big Sleep (what everyone wants to do at the weekend) not really living up to your name !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother with an upgrade better off staying in a standard double
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing