We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was ok for a few nights but wouldn't stay for more that 2 or 3 nights breakfast was basic. We had no problems with parking but I guess in the summer it could be a nightmare. Would stay again if I'm in the area again

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tinysmartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    220
    130
    71
    44
See reviews for
113
284
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

stayed at the big sleep in January it is a real shame that just due to two situations that i dont wish to return. The positives are
very clean room but could do with a small fridge
Relaxed atmosphere without any interruption
clean and orderly in the lounge area
Very good service
Breakfast was well thought out we had the buffet but there is a cooked breakfast alternative available.

Negative points
Walking through receiption with keys in hand on show to receiption. was asked have you booked a room? no please no excuse me just a statemented question. Then when given the number to the member of staff that we had. As we walked off raised voice oh have you paid for your dog? again rude and unecessary also if the receiptionist had checked our room on their system before approaching us in such a manner she would have been able to see whether we had or had not. Customer services definately laking with that member of staff. Also aware that there was a menu in the two days we stayed but the main product only main product Pizzas were not available on both days.

We book hotels in eastbourne twice a year unfortunately due to our experience we have booked with another hotel for april of this year.

Room Tip: rooms are good. its the service and food available i would check if i was a customer before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harcourts T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A really good budget hotel and a brilliant alternative to the Travelodge and Premier Inn. My wife and I stayed in the Suite and were greatly surprise by the size of the room. It was huge! With the biggest bay window I've ever seen. The windows were a bit drafty and really needed a good clean, they were so dirty you could hardly see the Sea view. The room has really "Funky" Retro Decoration and a huge comfortable bed. It was clean and had a good sized bathroom with shower. Overall superb value for money and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Suite, it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a budget hotel on the sea front.It is cheap and cheerful,it is very clean and the inclusive continental breakfast was very good with a good choice of items to choose from.Also there was an unlimited supply of tea and coffee.I would recommend this hotel as a short stay must.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a good hotel if you just want to sleep! Good value with comfortable bed and good shower. The TV reception was poor so not good if you were staying for any length of time. Perfectly adequate breakfast buffet which was included so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adobeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great big room; excellent price; very clean and smart and altogether very good. I'd definitely stay again. The hotel is right on the seafront and close to town and done in modern decor; I thought it was an excellent value for money hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

As I only wanted to spend one night in Eastbourne, I didn't want to spend too much money. Next time, I will because 1. The room was the size of a caravan second bedroom, wifi was extra, parking was extra, and the one thing I wanted to watch was a programme about dolphins and reception didn't know which Chanel BBC 1 was. And what is with having to leave my key when I leave the premises???? However, I paid £29.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveFanDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing