We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Good budget hotel, little bit scruffy in places but overall nice modern decor (really not sure about the furry curtains?!). Room was fine, bed just a standard double, which is always too small for my liking. Would have paid extra for cooked breakfast but there was no where to sit as breakfast area completely full. There's obviously not enough tables for quite a big hotel! It's pretty obvious most people on a Sunday morning will come to breakfast quite late, and pretty much all at the same time. There were no pastries at all and none appeared, so settled for a bowl of cereal sat on a sofa! Might be better to do away with the sofa area and have more tables for breakfast? Apart from that good value.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wendykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 650 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We bought our dog with us and they kindly gave us a room downstairs so it wasn't too far to take the dog out. We had room 16, which looked out to the side of the building, but you could also see the sea.
It was clean and welcoming and had everything you could want. As previous reviewers have said, the curtains took us buy surprise as they looked like someone had just hung up a huge furry rug at the window! On closer inspection they were beautifully purpose made curtains with linings. They did a great job of blocking out the light, sound, and cold. I grew to love those curtains!
The bed base also looked like it had organically grown out of the fluffy carpet, and with all this fluff around it you would have thought it would be dusty, but it was beautifully clean and dust-free.
As we could not take the dog down to breakfast, we were allowed to fetch our breakfast and take it back to our room. Very helpful.
We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roverlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The BS promises a straightforward experience at a budget price and that is what I got. My single room was on the small side but was by no means cramped and was clean with enough of the basics - tea, shampoo - to make the stay comfortable. View was not great and door unable to keep out the noise of a lost guest at 3 am. Staff pleasant enough and no complaints about the continental breakfast. All in all a day decent experience.

Room Tip: 120 view not great but room adequate enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinhbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

It is certain that we are going to check this place first, if we ever plan to visit Eastbourne again. Some earlier visitor had complained the hotel to be too fluffy, be we saw it opposite. Modern, slightly with blue and hairy curtains seasoned but other ways plain and light cleaness was a refreashing change after various nights in stuffy english interiors.

Staff could have been more friendly overall and interested about our experience. Some of them did, but some of them hardly spoked to us. Althought we stayed two nights in a suite.

Breakfest was traditional, simple and good, even though, we hoped for vedgetables, which we never find in a morning table in England, and can't see why.

A REAL and properly working shower (that incl. water mixer) in the bathroom. Water, as hot, cold or anything you like between, right when hou like it. We have learned that it's an exception in England, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently stayed at his hotel when we were in town for a wedding. This kind of concept in a hotel really appeals to us... keeping it simple and modern whilst leaving some character in a lovely old building.

We stayed in a suite (we booked late and all the doubles were gone) which was essentially a really, really big Victorian room with absolutely massive windows that you could open and walk out of, to a narrow balcony ledge, affording absolutely gorgeous views over the seafront. Equally nice view from the bathroom. Waking up to this on a sunny Sunday morning was excellent.

The breakfast is also really appealing. The included option is cereals, fruit (and nice fruit not tinned stuff) toast, pastries (warmed, tasty and frequently replenished), coffee/tea- and for a little extra you can order two sizes of full English. This I think is a good idea; normally if there is a full English on offer at a b&b I invariably just eat it - even if deep down you really don't need it or want it. But this "continental" version was more than adequate and I quite like the fact they hadn't bothered with cheeses and meat- this is Eastbourne, not Tuscany after all! We didn't order the full English but saw others and it looked good. It was nice to think they saved on this option but it was there if you wanted it.

We really liked what they were aiming for with the décor - cool colours, fairly minimalist with the odd quirky highlight / artwork / mirror etc. It lacked a bit in execution we thought; with such a large room one, of the walls was pretty much completely bare and it was bordering on a bit stark. In places it has become also ever so slightly shabby from wear and tear, which is fine but they will need to make sure they keep on top of little repairs and maintenance to make sure it doesn't get too shabby.

The shower was great and the place was absolutely spotless.

There were a few niggles, minor all, but it is what takes it from a five to a four star rating. The check-in time at 3pm is quite late, and also whilst not-unfriendly, the check in could have been a bit friendlier. Although it says there is parking outside, it's not clear how this works until you get there and then go in and ask - fine if you are in a party of two or more but not great if you were by yourself - they could perhaps put some more info on the website (or make it easier to find as I couldn't). There was also a funny smell in the communal entrance area to the first floor and on the stairs - perhaps someone had been unwell, which the hotel of course has little control of, but it really didn't smell so good. Also, an email I sent to the hotel before booking took a couple of days to be answered, again, not major but all add up to a few niggles.

We really did like this hotel and for Eastbourne it was pretty good value, with a few improvements it could be awesome. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in on the first floor had amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillOnTheHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here in a single room for one night in September 2013. It's a fairly generic kind of place. Some effort has been made to make it 'quirky' with furry curtains and bed base and bright and vibrant furniture in public areas.

My room was functional. Flatscreen TV on the wall under the clothes hanging space. Hang your clothes up or watch TV. Not both. No extra touches that give a feeling of attention to detail. Single bed, hanging space, desk and chair. That's pretty much it. Bathroom was clean with a big deep bath and plenty of hot water. This was the best feature. Bed was comfortable enough. A view of the sea at an angle, not straight on. Windows opened to let fresh air in. The location is on the seafront and it's an easy walk to restaurants in the streets near the pier.
Breakfast was ok. Continental included in the 45 pound tariff and cooked available for an extra 3 quid.

Wi-fi is available at a charge. 7.50 for 24 hours. About 5 quid for 6 hours. Less time also available. To me, it's bad business to charge for wi-fi these days. It's no longer an 'extra'. It's like charging for TV. In hotels now, I generally don't watch TV. Entertainment is mostly on my laptop via wi-fi. I'm sure I'm not the only one who resents paying for wi-fi when it's free at most places.

This hotel has the feel of a place that was born of a good idea to provide value accommodation with a quirky vibe but hasn't been well looked after. The walls of my room had a lot of dirty marks. A lot. It's not that hard to wipe dirty marks off the walls, but this hadn't happened for some time. Same in the hotel corridors. And as other reviewers have reported, a smell of disinfectant around reception and corridors. The carpet around reception was a bit like the floor covering you'd find in a fitness centre change room and it was worn. Carpet in my room was also industrial strength - hard and wiry.

My experience here was ok. It feels a bit like a high end hostel. The staff varied from friendly and helpful to unsmiling and brisk. I wouldn't stay again. At 45 pounds for a single, you can do better at a smaller B&B along the seafront where there is some attention and care about detail. Try Breakers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A group of us stayed on Friday 13th. We had the triple room and it was a nice clean large room.
We arrived late evening and the two mature gentleman at the receptions desk were extremely helpful. Continental breakfast was more than enough and the pastries were lovely and fresh. Our only gripe is those awful furry curtains and the furry bed bases, they look so un-hygenic, cheap and grubby. The hotel already has a hostel feel to it and there was a horrible strong smell of disinfectant mixed with something else not very nice in the corridors which wafted under the doors into the bedrooms. Although the triple room itself was nice I have doubts whether we would stay there again as the smell was a bit off putting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CID007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
501 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $41 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne) 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne’s seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. The Citrus Hotel Eastbourne is beautifully located for both holidaymakers and business travellers alike. Families love the spacious family rooms and family studios. The hotel offers you free Wi-Fi thought all of our bedrooms and public areas. As with all UK hotels, we are a non-smoking hotel. Bed and Breakfast and Room Only rates are available as well as rates for Group Bookings. By contacting the hotel directly, we can offer you the cheapest rates available on the market. Choose between a continental or our Citrus full English Buffet Breakfast. All of our bedrooms are en-suite, some with wet areas and each has a flat-screen TV. Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone as well as our complimentary Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing