We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Nearby Hotels
Oban(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$142
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$68
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Wilmington Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveler rating
161
236
144
78
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
236
144
78
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastfurry curtainsbudget hotelsea viewgames roomfull englishsea frontrooms are basicwet roomper daywould stay againparking permityogurtlarge roomnice bathroomshort stayexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 668 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked a double room for £79 for the 20th June which was during tennis week so was probably higher than other times. Later we decided to upgrade to a suite for an extra £20 which gave us a large (23 x 13 feet), modern sea view room with 6 foot double bed, tea/coffee making facilities, entrance lobby with large cupboard and safe and large modern bathroom with over-the-bath shower (pity they didn’t put in a separate shower).
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, though when we went to reception in the morning to request an English breakfast there was no one around – I suspect the hotel is run with a very low number of staff (the restaurant waitress was vacuuming later). The included Continental Breakfast was “adequate”, a Full English is available for £3.50 for which you get 1 egg, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 hash brown, I sausage and some baked beans – only enough for a small appetite! However for £5 you get double everything which was reasonable quality and good value.
From our room we could see one of the Eastbourne public WiFi aerials across the road so had no problem accessing the Internet for free.
Would we recommend the hotel? On the basis of our stay in the suite (room 115) – definitely YES! Only two small gripes – no shaver point and very thin, poor quality bedroom carpet.

Room Tip: We chose a suite (room 115) which was excellent and worth the extra
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereWeWent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great location. We had a suite with a wonderful sea view. The room was very spacious and nice, as well as the bathroom.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We booked a suite and ended up in one with a bathtub in the middle of the room. As we were traveling with our 3-year-old daughter, we asked to be moved to a different suite with a sitting area which was done without any trouble. We were provided with a folding bed at no cost.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya_Sidneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Big sleep hotel with my partner for 3 nights. The staff our very friendly and very helpful. Before we went I was looking at the reviews about the lift being noisy, luckily when we went the lift was broken. Was right on the seafront and saw some amazing scenes as we were lucky enough to have a sea view room. The curtains were so funny I kept hugging them haha. We went to a really cool american style diner one evening which was amazing!! We also walked along the whole beach front in a very short amount of time and took the tour bus to see where Harry Potter was filmed!! Was just a fantastic quick getaway !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGlazer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

On arrival at the hotel in the reception, the staff were welcoming and friendly. We booked a room at a very slightly cheaper rate, as the hotel advised us this was the ONLY room they had left so we agreed to take it. We were also told that the window does not open and that there is a ceiling fan in the room. We were ok with this. After taking the Key and heading up to the room. We opened the door to a TINY room which was barely a double. The window we had was overlooking a metal stairwell. So you have to have the curtains closed, always. The bathroom was also very small. We had paid 110 for 2 nights with a reduction of £15.00 included. We both did not feel comfortable went back down to reception to enquire about another room. A suite WAS available and after paying an extra £50.00 we took the room. This was much better we had a sea view a large room with a king size bed and a nice size bathroom. There seems to be an odd odour in the hotel, but in general It was clean but in need of a good renovation as the hotel feels modern, but like you were in the 70's! Massive hairy curtains which are like rugs in your room which is quite funny. Breakfast was OK cereal, toast, fruit, pastries etc. If you do want a full English prices start from 3.99. I would stay here again as we love Eastbourne but would see what else is available first.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a sea view, avoid room 315 for the stair view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemstars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the Big Sleep Hotel during the Eastbourne tennis tournament and were very pleased. The hotel is close to the tennis, has lots of cafes and restaurants close-by and residents' £1 parking for the day outside. The room was clean and pleasant, even if the décor was a bit strange (curtains and bed pelmets were a fluffy blue material!) and we had a view of the sea. The staff were welcoming and helpful. I will choose this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews