We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near the sea”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the Big Sleep Hotel during the Eastbourne tennis tournament and were very pleased. The hotel is close to the tennis, has lots of cafes and restaurants close-by and residents' £1 parking for the day outside. The room was clean and pleasant, even if the décor was a bit strange (curtains and bed pelmets were a fluffy blue material!) and we had a view of the sea. The staff were welcoming and helpful. I will choose this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    223
    131
    72
    44
See reviews for
113
290
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had booked this hotel for a wedding in Eastbourne and spent a night there with a number of members of our family.

The hotel is right on the sea front and we stayed in a "suite" on the first floor with a sea view, which was eclectic in design but very comfortable. The location was a short walk to the Pier and the town centre and right on the sea front.

Our initial impression of the hotel was not great as the reception is very tired and looks cheap and nasty and the quality and size of the room was a surprise as a result. The bathroom was clean and the room was sizeable which allowed our daughter to run around. The bed was very comfortable and a "Z" bed was provided which did not impinge on the space available and there was also a "Ironing" room which made life very easy.

My main criticism is the reception and entrance to the hotel however I would warn anyone on the ground and first floors that the net curtains on the windows do not stop the passers by on the sea front from looking into your rooms especially when you have the lights on!

The internet is chargeable and the rate is high however we did find that we had access to the Eastbourne Town network which was free.

Breakfast was nothing special but the same as you would expect from a hotel of this class so no complaints. Parking in the square outside was 1.00 pound and very convenient. There was also a games room in the lower ground floor, which we visited but did not use, which included a pool table.

All in all we would definitely stay there again although I would hope that they could sort out the reception as it looks like a bad joke from a tired1950's holiday camp!! The hotel staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly which we really appreciated.

All in all we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite as it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night at short notice. Hotel entrance looks in need of some TLC but reception is nice and clean with pleasant staff, lift as it clunked its way up does the job but I was not keen to get back in it.
The room....... Well I don't think I have ever stayed in one like it, (but in an amusing way) fluffy blue curtains with a fluffy bed base with what looked like hand painted fixtures and fittings, strangely no handles on any of the cupboards and wait for it, all blue.
The bathroom did the job but very small with a shower that although warm was very weak.
Overall it was ok, great view of the sea and close to city centre, breakfast did the job.
For a unplanned last min deal (I paid £44.00 double room) it is well worth the money. I wonder where they got those curtains from though.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephen_walls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. The hotel is on the corner of a street off the sea front near the Martello tower but looks a litle tatty from outside, being a more modern building than the gorgeous Edwardian ones elsewhere. However, once inside we were very impressed with our room. We had a family room and even with the cot bed there was still loads of room to move around. As well as 2 large beds and cot bed, there were 2 funky rocking chairs and a desk in the room, plenty of storage, a TV with a limited number of Freeview channels and tea making facilities plus a very nice bathroom. The room was at the front and had great sea view. There is a lift but the reception is up a flight of steps although there is a disablility stairlift on these steps>

Breakfast was in the lounge/bar area but as everything was cramped into the end of the room, it got very crowded and everyone was in each other's way. Not a huge choice of items either and the coffee/tea machine was confusing and frequently overflowed. Hot breakfasts were available for an extra charge.

All in all however we felt the price charged was very good vlue for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are likely to have a sea view. Avoid the basement ones as they are likely to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murgatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having stayed frequently in Eastbourne we chose a budget hotel this time -we made a good choice with the Big Sleep. The bedroom was funky, the comfort of the beds could not be faulted. The shower room was snug, wouldn't suit a large person, in here the floor could do with being replaced. However everything was very clean and modern. Breakfast was plentiful and could be upgraded to full English for extra if required. One of the criticisms l read was the breakfast was like a summer camp for children - this is the fault of the parents, not the hotel. l have stayed in 5 star hotels where the children were not controlled by their parents. The staff were charming and nothing was too much trouble. My only criticism was the entrance which looked quite tired and shabby with spare fold up chairs stacked against the wall, not the best first impression. Excellent value for money in a good position along the front promenade. Concession parking at £1 per day was a good saving. Would definitely return if still on a budget.

Room Tip: most rooms have sea view and even on the side there is a fantastic view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Did an overnight break to see the coast.
This was on special offer B&B.
Rooms are clean and basic.
Breakfast was help yourself continental,cooked breakfast extra cost.
Lady at reception very helpful advised on cheap parking etc....
Had a drink at the bar,staff attentive.

Room Tip: We had a low level room which was quiet and adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyLady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfádas, Attiki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived from LHR in the Hotel Midnight. The entrance look very poor the lift after 10pm is not working till in the morning. The staff was vey helpful and they switch on the lift to bring our luggage in the rooms.
The rooms very very small quality non acceptable the beds i thing they are from the last century very old mattresses impossible to have a good sleep. The bathroom you have to be a jongleur to get in and close the door . The door was impossible to close . It was not closet in the room but a iron construction to hang the hangers looking over the bed. It was a horror. Because it was to late to look for one other hotel we decided tos stay and to leave early in the morning. The Breakfast like a summer camp for children maybe worst. I think is the worst Hotel i visit the last 20 Years in the world and very expensive for no existence quality

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing