We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtlands Hotel(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oban(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
West Rocks Hotel(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
161
235
142
77
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
235
142
77
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastfurry curtainsbudget hotelsea viewgames roomfull englishsea frontrooms are basicwet roomper daywould stay againparking permityogurtlarge roomnice bathroomshort stayexcellent value for money
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 662 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Wow what a room, booked a suite at an incredible price for two nights, was over joyed with the whole stay, the room was out of this world, loved the furry blanket curtains, the tele right on the end of the bed, the brilliant bathroom with walk in shower room, limited tea and coffee but reception were happy to top us up, breakfast being continental was enough, choice was limited but had had enough, have re booked to stay in August, will defo be back,

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Angi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

we stayed here for a night, it was amusing, but wouldn't repeat the experience. the decor looks as if someone has spent lots of money at woolworths, and thrown it all in. quite rowdy, not helped by the 24 hour bar. the bar isn't advertised on the website, had it been I think it would have given an indication of the sort of place it is. Staff were very strange a mix of extreme unprofessionalness and rudeness. It certainly would suit a type of visitor, maybe a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I stated here, needing somewhere cheap to stay before the Brighton Marathon the next day. I paid £40 for a Saturday night. Having only paid that amount I can't complain about the experience of staying here. For the price I paid the service and facilities were fine. The decor is a little tired but the place was comfortable. If you stay with reasonable expectations you won't be disappointed. The hotel is well located, though it is at the further end of the sea front, not a problem if like me you don't mind a small walk. I would happily stay here on my own leisure or business, but wouldn't take my wife if I was after romance.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theboywatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Staff where very friendly and polite. Had a twin room which was modern with quite striking decor. Room at the perfect temperature with a fantastic view. Very clean and up to date with proper toilet roll included.

If your looking for a low budget but decent hotel this is the one.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Seeing some negative reviews on here is ridiculous! Me and my boyfriend went to this hotel last night , after a horrible day (car broke down etc) we checked in to find out we had been upgraded to a suite! so happy! we were greeted by two lovely women. after entering the room we realized we had the most amazing views from our room ever! the bed was massive and amazingly comfortable , we had a bath and a shower! The room was soo clean! and everyone one here takes the p*ss out of the fake fur curtains but they were brilliant at keeping the sun light out in the morning.
The staff were extremely helpful Me and my partner used the Pool table and bar area. The bar is really cheap! in the middle of the night i got a little hungry (around 3 am) So i decided i would go down and see if i could maybe find a vending machine. But then i found a member of staff willing to make me a meal! but i couldn't possible make someone do that at 3am so instead bought a Pot noodle. overall the experience was amazing i couldnt fault it at all! We didnt want to leave !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amii N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews