We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Wow what a room, booked a suite at an incredible price for two nights, was over joyed with the whole stay, the room was out of this world, loved the furry blanket curtains, the tele right on the end of the bed, the brilliant bathroom with walk in shower room, limited tea and coffee but reception were happy to top us up, breakfast being continental was enough, choice was limited but had had enough, have re booked to stay in August, will defo be back,

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Angi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 653 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

we stayed here for a night, it was amusing, but wouldn't repeat the experience. the decor looks as if someone has spent lots of money at woolworths, and thrown it all in. quite rowdy, not helped by the 24 hour bar. the bar isn't advertised on the website, had it been I think it would have given an indication of the sort of place it is. Staff were very strange a mix of extreme unprofessionalness and rudeness. It certainly would suit a type of visitor, maybe a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I stated here, needing somewhere cheap to stay before the Brighton Marathon the next day. I paid £40 for a Saturday night. Having only paid that amount I can't complain about the experience of staying here. For the price I paid the service and facilities were fine. The decor is a little tired but the place was comfortable. If you stay with reasonable expectations you won't be disappointed. The hotel is well located, though it is at the further end of the sea front, not a problem if like me you don't mind a small walk. I would happily stay here on my own leisure or business, but wouldn't take my wife if I was after romance.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theboywatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Staff where very friendly and polite. Had a twin room which was modern with quite striking decor. Room at the perfect temperature with a fantastic view. Very clean and up to date with proper toilet roll included.

If your looking for a low budget but decent hotel this is the one.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Seeing some negative reviews on here is ridiculous! Me and my boyfriend went to this hotel last night , after a horrible day (car broke down etc) we checked in to find out we had been upgraded to a suite! so happy! we were greeted by two lovely women. after entering the room we realized we had the most amazing views from our room ever! the bed was massive and amazingly comfortable , we had a bath and a shower! The room was soo clean! and everyone one here takes the p*ss out of the fake fur curtains but they were brilliant at keeping the sun light out in the morning.
The staff were extremely helpful Me and my partner used the Pool table and bar area. The bar is really cheap! in the middle of the night i got a little hungry (around 3 am) So i decided i would go down and see if i could maybe find a vending machine. But then i found a member of staff willing to make me a meal! but i couldn't possible make someone do that at 3am so instead bought a Pot noodle. overall the experience was amazing i couldnt fault it at all! We didnt want to leave !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amii N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Needed somewhere to stay when visiting my nan, found this place with great prices. Rooms are basic but very clean and modern. Bright colours, furry curtains..very cheerful. Beds lovely and comfortable. Staff were really helpful and buffet breakfast was what you expect from a basic buffet. Dining area very spacious and cheery too. Booked for my sister and niece and they loved it too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livewellbhappy_se23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a break from London. Was looking for something cheap and cheerful find that's what we got. The location is excellent, right on the seafront, the staff were pleasant and helpful. However the hotel is actually more like a hostel. Very basic rooms with basic toiletries and a tiny bathroom. You pay extra for everything; wifi, cooked breakfast, late checkout. At £44 for the night I'm not complaining.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittykat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.7 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#25 of 40 in Eastbourne
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,701 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $46 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne) 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne’s seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. The Citrus Hotel Eastbourne is beautifully located for both holidaymakers and business travellers alike. Families love the spacious family rooms and family studios. The hotel offers you free Wi-Fi thought all of our bedrooms and public areas. As with all UK hotels, we are a non-smoking hotel. Bed and Breakfast and Room Only rates are available as well as rates for Group Bookings. By contacting the hotel directly, we can offer you the cheapest rates available on the market. Choose between a continental or our Citrus full English Buffet Breakfast. All of our bedrooms are en-suite, some with wet areas and each has a flat-screen TV. Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone as well as our complimentary Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing