We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I booked Monday to Friday for my Disabled Parents to have some time out and get a rest ,away from there humdrum lives of hospitals and Drs .

I phoned the Hotel first to confirm they cater for Disabled people,Which they did.plus they told us about a scooter service ,wheras they drop of the scooters and pick them up from the hotel and the hotel put them on charge overnight ready for the next day and there jollys along the prom.so simple but so worth its weight in gold you pay for the privalge £98 for two scooters not bad i thought.

My parents have had a wonderfull time and the hotel and staff looked after them,in everyway,my parents loved them.
They where in a disabled room on the ground floor it was more than ample for there needs.clean tidy although the view was of roof top,but they only used it for sleep as you do and could of upgraded if they wanted as the hotel has a lift, another bonus.

overall the hotel was well presented,i and would stay there myself.so thank you to you all for a wonderfull experiance for my parents.well done.

Room Tip: the disable room was at back of hotel lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssinbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 654 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

the staff at this budget hotel are very friendly and helpful, if there are any problems if they can help they will I was surprised at the reviews that said they couldnt care less ,however somethings they cant control like the noise from inconsiderate guests.
I stayed there with my mother for 3 nights the rooms though small were big enough after all this is a budget hotel with no frills the bath rooms were both wet rooms which i would not choose to have were both very clean as was the bedding and very comfy beds
Im not sure I would go there again but thats no reflection on staff or accomadation but the noise issues.I would take this opportunty to thank the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked this hotel as it was cheap. I would have had a better time at a travelodge or a small b&b . The room was dirty and there were a couple of empty cigarette boxes on the floor, dirty bathroom/wet room (it smelled of urine so clearly not cleaned very well) pillows as thick as a slice of bread and no selection at breakfast even though we went down very early. Never again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidays7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were very lucky to get the 3 nights for 2 deal at the end of August - a great bargain! Great location on the front, and the parking arrangement with the local council costs just £1 a day - for that, you get to park anywhere on the big square by the hotel, and any of the diagonal bays along by the sea front - excellent! We would like to thank the staff for making our stay comfortable and memorable, namely; Elvira, Jodie, and Ashley. Top job! The whole place is relaxed and friendly, the decor is quite chic and retro, and the free continental breakfast is quite adequate. We will be returning soon for a weekend break, it's great. Thank you!

Room Tip: The lift stops at 11pm, but the noise prior to this is minimal anyway, and certainly does not interf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Rooms extremely basic, clean, double bed on the small side & pillows would benefit from replacement as very thin.
We pre-booked a bottle of wine, they didn't put in the room as hoped we'd change our mind from white as it was their last bottle, they had no ice bucket either :(
Woken by the fire alarm at 5am, night security suggested probably due to someone 'doing something they shouldn't then a loud drilling/vibration noise, after 40 minutes night porter rang us to say noise should have stopped .. If it had I'd have been asleep & not appreciated the call but it hadn't, he said it was from floor above but didn't know why exactly so couldn't do more
We decided to leave at 6.30...were asked to pay £35, but the screen couldn't say what for ... We'd paid in advance so definitely wasn't anything for our room, I requested a call from the manager & was assured I'd get one... Needless to say days on I'm still waiting for the call :(
Ironically my husband booked for us to have a night away as we've a young daughter & sleep deprived!!
On the plus side the location is fab, I understand the hotel is for sale - hopefully the new owner will improve things as the bedroom was comparable to travel lodge currently

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmithsHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a double room on the 3rd floor.The bed squeaked everytime you moved,faux fur curtains and trim around the bed.No wardrobe just a rail with a few hangers.Our shower was the worst I have ever used.Descaling it once in a while would help.Breakfast was continental but only really cereal and toast.The croissants etc had run out.
On a positive note the hotel is right on the seafront and thankfully we had a side sea view.Loved Eastbourne but would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie67Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

PLUS
Even though style of the hotel wasn't my cup of tea i have to say that i forgot about that once i saw how clean the hotel was (bathroom in particularly) I stay there with my partner in january and the room was nice and warm (you could ajust temperature on the radiator to your likeing) as well as the water in the shower which was with good presure and hot. In the bathroom you could find build in hairdryer which save you packing your own one (very space-saving). The breakfast is served in very bright and spacious room overlooking seafront so you can start enjoying your holiday from the very beginning. The staff is very halpfull and friendly. All in all its a lovely place to stay.

MINUS
The only thing we felt a bit disappointed (my partner more than me to be honest) was the breakfast (as we expected to be full english breakfast) and even though it was very nice (you could find wide selection of cereals, crossants, yogurtes, coffe machine which was serving all types off coffe, boild eggs and many more) he still was missing full english breakfast with sausage and bacon. We stayed there just for one night so we wasn't to bother about the view from our window but if you planning to stay there a bit longer make sure you choose room with sea view as we had a view on the garbage dumpster from one side and on the wall from the other.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.7 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#25 of 40 in Eastbourne
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,701 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $45 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne) 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne’s seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. The Citrus Hotel Eastbourne is beautifully located for both holidaymakers and business travellers alike. Families love the spacious family rooms and family studios. The hotel offers you free Wi-Fi thought all of our bedrooms and public areas. As with all UK hotels, we are a non-smoking hotel. Bed and Breakfast and Room Only rates are available as well as rates for Group Bookings. By contacting the hotel directly, we can offer you the cheapest rates available on the market. Choose between a continental or our Citrus full English Buffet Breakfast. All of our bedrooms are en-suite, some with wet areas and each has a flat-screen TV. Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone as well as our complimentary Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing