We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A contradictory experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A contradictory experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked one night at the Big Sleep on Groupon, for £55.00 (double, extra charge applicable for weekend booking). Having seen the photos on the hotel's website and read various positive reviews, I thought that this price was a bargain. When I arrived at the hotel, my heart sunk. From the outside the hotel looked like some really cheap hostel. What's more, there was a sign for rooms for £40. Clearly, a bargain it was not!...

Entering the hotel imroved our opinion of it. This is an old building that has not been renovated, but parts of it have been beautified and decorated in great funky taste. The dining /living room is a lovely space, very pleasant to sit at (and, unfortunately, look at the rain outside). All furniture is fashionable, the sofas are dressed in Orla Keily covers, the cushions are cute -you get the picture. Unfortunately, our room was nowhere near as lovely or comfortable as the public spaces. Cramped and basic describes it better – though it was also clean and pleasant. Breakfast was another disappointment; also basic, with really greasy finger pastries that are particularly unappetising.

Overall, the Big Sleep was a bit of a let down – but that was mainly because the offer and the reviews had raised my expectations. Had I paid the £40 rooms were advertised for on that evening, I would have been more than happy with the experience.

Having said that, I would not discourage anyone from staying there. The hotel is clean, the public spaces are really nice to loiter in, the staff is helpful, and the location is great, right on the seafront. Just be prepared for a basic hotel, and you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariax_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    226
    135
    73
    44
See reviews for
115
292
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
camberley
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Booked this hotel for a two night stay in late July. The day before we went the terrible weather suddenly changed and we arrived in Eastbourne at the beginnnig of a mini heatwave. We expected the hotel to be a basic hotel and a little bit different from the norm, we weren't disappointed, but if you are looking for luxury and service you may be. It is a little further out of Eastbourne than some we have stayed at but suited us fine as we enjoy strolling. The entrance is very off putting, I thought I must be missing the real entrance as it looks like a side door and more of a staff only entrance. The receptionist staff were polite, but I immediately noticed the lift was out of order, fine for us as we were only on the first floor but not good if you can't climb stairs. The room we had was bright and clean, but what made the stay was the fantastic bay window and view over the sea and the pier . As it was sunny the entire time you could sit in the window and watch the world go by and just enjoy the view and the sunshine. Bathroom was small and really just a wet room with some toiletries provided. Tea and coffee are also provided. I have never seen curtains like these before, very heavy and a bit like shag pile carpet, they certainly don't do anything for the room but create a lot of dust although they are brilliant at keeping the light out. Breakfast is a bit like a school canteen and you have to share a table if it is busy but the food was fine, cooked breakfast is extra. We used the internet and just had to pay a deposit on a cable . We enjoyed our stay and if all you want is a room and breakfast with few frills this is a non stuffy hotel close to the beach and sites of Eastbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamberleySheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

....we stayed at The Big Sleep. We had paid £55 on Groupon for B&B and a bottle of wine which was delivered to our room. The room was fine: looking over the square and with a seaview, minimally decorated but looked clean (there were a few marks on the white walls), a bath (very welcome) with shower over (the towel rail was rusty) and had everything we needed. We slept very well.
Breakfast was also minimal but fine with pastries, toast, cereal, yoghurt, fruit and cheese. It was nice to share a table with other people and swap stories.
The location of The Big Sleep is exceptional - right on the seafront and near to the theatre and everything else. The staff we came into contact with were very amenable. It felt very bohemian, very relaxed and we had a lovely time. We would come back again.

Room Tip: Room number 105 is at the end of a corridor with no passing foot traffic, is further away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

As a contractor, clients don't always send me to the nicest hotels, but The Big Sleep in Eastbourne beat all expectations... or lack of really.

The room in itself was minimalist (by the lack of furniture, fittings or decorations), compact & bijou (that's estate agent slang for small). White veneer furniture with a pastel blue line isn't what I call boutique (that's how The Big Sleep describes itself).

After dropping off bag and going out for a meal I came back to the room to find it unlocked?!?!? I was a tad concerned as IT equipment was left inside. I challenged reception only to be told "we had a double booking and had to check the room". When I asked why there was a need to enter the room, let alone not lock it again I was greeted with shrugged shoulders and the most insincere "sorry".

The night sleep wasn't the most comfortable... whilst the mattress & pillows were ok; the base wasn't and squeaked awfully as soon as you moved an inch. Lack of air conditioning was another set-back.

Come the morning, the bathroom looked clean, but on closer inspection didn't deliver either: dirty towel, floor mat, bath cover and the most horrible towel rail I've ever seen.

The breakfast (continental only, full English required a supplement to be paid) was unsurprisingly acceptable with a variety of cereals, French pastries, toast, etc... all self-service.

If my client decides to send me to Eastbourne again, I know which hotel to avoid... just not worth the hassle.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here... plenty of other options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 2, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Arrived after booking by phone and explaining my husband is a terminally I'll disabled person
Man on desk very abrupt and rude
Third floor room
Lift broken
Room was booked as sea view however after finally getting my husband to the room it was dirty tiny and the view was the dirty garages and scaffolding at the back of the building dirty fur curtains and dirty marks all over the stark white walls
Bathroom was so small you had to squeeze into the gap to use the toilet
I let my husband rest for an hour as he had just struggled with the three flights of stairs and then we left
Horrible experience

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 2, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The only "budget" feature of this hotel was the price. Rooms were recently refurbished and clean. Staff were incredibly accommodating, nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent. Even though we didn't opt for the in-house evening meal, they arranged discount at a nearby restaurant. Would recommend without hesitation. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

i looked around for a nice place to stay near brighton with my toddler and my mum. this worked out really well. we had a suite as it was able to cater for the travel cot, and were pleased by the size and cleanliness of the room.
we didn't opt for the (reasonably priced) extra for the cooked breakfast.. and were thoroughly impressed with the continental option. lots of choices, sensibly laid out in the dining room.
the hotel happy to match online offers if you are comparing prices, we ended up with a good deal.i had tried a few places looking for just one night's stay - on a saturday.
a note : the lift wasn't working, but one helpful member of staff offered to carry a case up for us. when i booked, i was told that i needed to have a travel cot, one was actually provided in room. i would love to return with my husband and two other boys but there is not a family room/ interconnecting doors on offer.
we enjoyed 'the way we lived then' museum which was a quick walk away.

Room Tip: The suite we were in had lovely view... and plenty of space. Lift temperamental so beware if lots lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
904 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing