We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We llike to pop in”

Vintage Inns The Beachy Head
Ranked #172 of 455 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Beachy Head in Eastbourne is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We love to pop in here summer or winter. Has some good hearing aid friendly spots and understanding, friendly staff with views of the country, sea and sheep.
My favourite is to drop by for coffee and mini pudding. But occasionally take a meal.

Very windy so if you are not strong on your legs be mindful when you come . But great location.
Would Trip Advisor start leaving a question about places being hearing aid friendly please. Its very topical now.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 953jrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Vintage Inns The Beachy Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beachy Head. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 223 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2017

Location is everything at this place, when you've hiked up 500ft and you see a pub/restaurant it's amazing especially with the views that this place has.
Sadly the service and food is shocking and very expensive.
2 beers came to £10, meals are expensive so you'd expect the quality to be a lot better than it actually is.
The girl behind the bar gave shocking service with a 'can't be bothered' bad attitude which automatically put me off the place, not friendly or welcoming at all..
We were hoping to watch the sunset over the cliffs but we waited 40 minutes for our table to be cleared, after watching the 2 waiters having a chinwag at the bar for ages.
We did the deal where you get 2 courses and had to order deserts at the time of the mains yet when they cleared our mains we waited 20 minutes and they'd completely forgotten about our deserts so we had to go to the counter to remind them.
Chicken was dry, best thing about the meal were the mushrooms so whats that say about it!!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ANTMJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Vintage Inns The Beachy Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 441323728060 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

This used to be our favorite place we visited with our oldest friends when they came down to the coast. Let's face it, the location is spectacular. Unfortunately the pub has gone downhill. Before we sat down 2 daddy-longlegs had to be despatched from our table area. The staff were friendly enough but the whole ambience of the place could do with a tidy-up. The food took a bit of time to arrive and the ham and eggs were OK albeit expensive at over £10. The plaice on chorizo mash "special" was poor. The fish was very dry and the mash runny with precious little hint of chorizo. At just under £13 a huge disappointment. The fish and chips boasted a small fillet concealed in a lot of batter. It was pricey and not to be recommended. This was coupled with pricey wine and beer. In short, fine dining prices not matched by the food or immediate surroundings

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank grandfrdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Vintage Inns The Beachy Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Here at The Beachy Head, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact our manager 441323728060 to discuss ways we can better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Great walk with our beautiful dog then popped into here for a drink was pleasantly surprised they allowed dogs water bowls out for them. Food lovely staff friendly comfortable surroundings will deffo be back especially that we can take the dog in bad weather

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Budeastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Vintage Inns The Beachy Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Hi, thank you so much for the positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Dropped in for a bit of lunch and a pint after a long walk. Staff very friendly, food arrived quickly and was very good. Cosy atmosphere. Good choice on the menu. Great beer.

Recommended!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Vintage Inns The Beachy Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Hi Richard M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beachy Head. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Inns The Beachy Head also viewed

Seaford, East Sussex
Hooe, East Sussex
 
Crowborough, East Sussex
Hassocks, West Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Vintage Inns The Beachy Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing