We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of The Ellesmere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ellesmere
Ranked #63 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a welcoming, comfy place to stay in Eastbourne. The room had everything we needed. The breakfast was excellent. The owner was very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 105 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

The service is friendly and personable but the whole place is in sore need of a refurb. The addition of a spa/massage room seems incongruous considering the state of our room and the rest of the hotel interior. I'm sure the cost of redecorating every bedroom would be significant but I can't imagine I'm the only guest to feel very underwhelmed by the mismatched and tired appearance. Also surprised our 'family' room had only a small shower but no bath for our 3 year old son.
Breakfast was fine but Happy Shopper sauces and yoghurt doesn't make me feel like I'm being very well looked after. A disappointing stay buoyed by friendly owners.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musser77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Good location, close to theaters, restaurants, free parking round corner, sea front 2 mins, town 10 mins walks.
Excellent welcome by host, map provided as strangers, excellent advice on places to eat, attractions.
Rooms clean, warm, excellent larger bed, en-suite a little small but given the limitations of the old building, more than adequate. Though if honest a decor a "little tired", but spotless!
Lift a little slow.
Did not eat, but breakfast smelt good!
Happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I recently spent several very enjoyable days at The Ellesmere while visiting Eastbourne. The hotel was clean, smartky presented with excellent bedroom and en suite facilities. Breakfast and evening meals were very good and the food served hot and plentiful. We would not hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Eastbourne.
Paul

Room Tip: Our front aspect room gave views of the seafront and palm trees as well as in the other direction De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulFabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very central. Perfect for the Congress and local theatres. Peter is super friendly and efficient. Rooms very warm and comfortable. Breakfast really good. Lots of choice. Parking free round the corner. Beach less than a couple of minutes walk away. Town a ten minute stroll. next street some lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for one just night , we will definitely go back , the rooms do need to be brought up to date but they are clean and comfortable ,the buffet style breakfast was about the best I have tasted , the location is just about perfect , a lazy 10 minute stroll into town with its pubs and restaurants , the seafront is just 200 yards , at night the hotels location means a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed, all in all a nice hotel with good food .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

went to Eastbourne for a wedding and needed an overnight stay. As per other reviews needs TLC but friendly welcome and comfy beds. Breakfast really good. We thought good VFM and would go back. arrived early and our room was not ready but were given an alternative room to change in and left our bag there which was transferred to our room by the owner once ours was ready.

Room Tip: Room 12 very quiet and beds comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nobels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellesmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellesmere

Address: 11 Wilmington Square, Eastbourne BN21 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: $41 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ellesmere 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ellesmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing