We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very, very basic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ellesmere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ellesmere
Ranked #65 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very, very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My room was over the hall. Tiny wardrobe that was full of pillows, blankets and someones old cardigan so was unable to hang full length dresses. Tiny sink in corner of room that had a flow of water that could only be described at best as a trickle. Bathroom was functional though very small. Very tired surroundings that were in need of an overhall. The only possitive was that the sheets were clean and the TV worked. There was a lack of staff and if an emergency had occurred then we would have had to have fended for ourselves. Breakfast was very basic, cold beans, cold tomatoes and overcooked bacon. Cereal and yoghurts from Sainsbury's value range. Not a place I would recommend or visit ever again. Felt like I was in some DHSS Hostel.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    20
    15
    12
See reviews for
18
48
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

In room No9 right now after a long 300 mile drive not fit to go out. On getting to hotel and ringing the bell a lady answered, do not know her name as none was given when I said I'd booked a room she seemed surprised and asked me to wait in "reception" room, 5mins later came back with an envelope with my name on it and asked if that was me. Luke warm start so I though I'd made a mistake here but after finding the room myself, on opening the door I was pleasantly surprised, ok it's a compact room but had a double bed and the usual accompanents. Very tidy ,very clean ,bed linen very fresh cannot fault it, my only gripe is the price and the way I had to pay full in advance.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank roysta42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The greeting was very warm and the room perfectly clean and tidy. Excellent quality bedding, and a clean and functional Bathroom. Please understand that the rating above is taking into accout the price and value. This is not 5 star, but the hotel is clean, comfortable, friendly and in a great position. Could not fault the breakfast, hot and tasty, but no you will not get the finest sausages at this price. But you will get a perfectly acceptable sausage.
I will be going back. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Park in the roads nearby, you pay in the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapelle-op-den-Bos, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have booked a double room and could take our dog. The room was really very small, the small double bed just fitted in and is was almost impossible to move around. We were in the basement and, as it was raining, it was raining also inside. The water was coming down from the wall. I went to the owner and he was just 'oh okay, that's a shame' and that's it. The bed was comfortable but too small and the shower was okay. Breakfast was basic but okay. We won't come back here, not even for free.

Room Tip: if you want to go here, specify that you don't want the basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W_Troch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a most disappointing experience. The double room was so small we could just about get to the bathroom, which was minuscule. The price was the same for a hotel room, but the facilities were shamefully lacking. Breakfast was disappointing too, from a Tupperware selection. The while experience was totally uninspiring.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSalamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lovely welcome, good breakfast and evening meal. You get what you pay for. It is a central location with free on street parking. Yes, it probably could do with an update but it doesn't detract on very good value for money.

Room Tip: We are staying in room 12 - we are a twin room with shower. You can see the sea if you look to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maz6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked the Ellesmere's last room on 8th April for a one night stop over on 19th April. On arrival, we managed to find some free overnight parking just around the corner. The hotel looked nice as we entered and our key was made available to us in an envelope hidden in a pot plant. We went to our room. On first glances it needed a bit of a make over - nothing matched at all. However, we were impressived how clean everything was, plenty of tea and coffee etc, plenty of hot water. The beds were very comfortable and we had a really good night's sleep. Breakfast was lovely - help yoursleves :) Cereal, fruit juice, tea, coffee and a seaside fry up. The staff were very polite and accomodating. This hotel is pretty basic and you pay for what you get. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DangerMouse1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#32 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#59 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Iverna
Hotel Iverna
#41 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sheldon
The Sheldon
#26 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Guest House
The Berkeley Guest House
#21 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellesmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellesmere

Property: The Ellesmere
Address: 11 Wilmington Square, Eastbourne BN21 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ellesmere 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ellesmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing