We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Mr Vic!”
Review of Mr Vic Bar

Mr Vic Bar
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Paynes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Mr Vic is a roadside bar situated in Payne's bay a mile south of Holetown.Though not fine dining, Mr Vic has over the last 4 yrs established a reputation for serving excellent food at affordable prices, with a choice of both Carribbean & British fare. Mr Vic caters for groups as well as couples, families and singles. A large variety of local and international cocktails are mixed by Mr Vic himself ( arguably the best barman on the West coast)Live music is also played. Steel pan on a Thursday & Fab Jazz on a Sunday
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well done Mr Vic!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our visit to Mr Vics confirmed my long held view that its best to treat extreme reviews with a pinch of salt. The food was beautifully cooked, the service was great as was the atmosphere...and the whole experience was very reasonably priced, we thought. The comments we had read about portion sizes were puzzling: they were just what you would expect in a decent restaurant. I am guessing that in some parts of the world sparrows have to flap their wings very hard to get off the ground! Ten more nights on the Island...see you again soon Mr Vic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenDavis59, Owner at Mr Vic Bar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review. It is always a pleasure to know that we have fulfilled expectations. Happy to be of service and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    76
    32
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went as a party of 6 after reading some reviews, the reviews said food was good although a little pricey. Wrong the food was of a poor quality compared to other places we ate and also small portions (sparrow portions) as one of our party commented. The food was also considerably overpriced.
Trying to be something it is not (could be due to its location opposite No.1 Sandy Lane.)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevepb1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenDavis59, Owner at Mr Vic Bar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
See management response to rootical, the other member of your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holetown
1 review
“Great Little Bar”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Being local, we often spend an evening at Mr Vic's, Relaxing atmosphere and fantastic home made hamburgers. Thanks Victor & Maureen !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenDavis59, Owner at Mr Vic Bar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Many thank for your review. We are happy to be of service and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A must.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We found Mr Vics on our second night in Barbados and ate there several times during our stay.It was certainly our favourite.Karen and Victor run a friendly and welcoming place and there was a great atmoshere (especially on music night on Mondays ).Karen does front of house and spends time speaking to all diners.Victor is a lovely man and is renowned in Barbados for his cocktails.Try one of his strawberry or banana daquaris.They're to die for.A nice non achoholic alternative is the Shirley Temple.The food is really good and reasonably priced.Among my favourite dishes was the blackened mai mai and sirloin for mains,and chicken wings or fish cakes for sarters.All in all we spent some lovely evenings at Mr Vics in good company with good food.You should certainly add this to your list of retaurants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTobyTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenDavis59, Owner at Mr Vic Bar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It was a pleasure to serve you both. And an even greater pleasure that we became friends. See you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for dinner or drinks!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Such a great little place! We ate here multiple times during our stay in Barbados! Mr. Vic is such an awesome host! A+ food, drinks and service!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meganlynne0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenDavis59, Owner at Mr Vic Bar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time. Look forward to being of service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Vic Bar also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Paynes Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Mr Vic Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing