We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St James
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay.The apartments are light and airy with great balconies looking out to the sea.All the staff are really helpful,welcoming and friendly and are always on hand to help you find your way around Barbados.The bus stops just outside the hotel for access to Holetown for the supermarket,bars ,restaurants or for last minute groceries there is the garage further up the road (walking distance).The hotels location directly on the beach is one of the best ,just a couple of steps out of your room and you are on a superb beach.!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JD2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for The St James
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 51 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have stayed a few times. Great beach front location , good quality accommodation - we paid for the sea view - well worth it for the beautiful sun sets. Beach a little busy but there is a private reserved area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripadviser02890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was reluctant to write this review as I don't want too many people knowing about these wonderful apartments!! we have stayed on two ocassions and it continues to be delightful. It is immaculately clean and in an excellent location just along from Sandy Lane. Many good restaurants are within easy walking distance. The local bus is right outside the door and can take you straight to Bridgetown or Oistins. The wonderful and helpful Cecile is always available to help if required. Very highly recommended and we will be back. The only slight criticism outwith the control of the apartments is the daily arrival of the pirate ship to visit the turtles. This can cause some noise but ok if you like reggae music!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne4045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the St. James twice already, it is a great place! we really enjoy the proximity to the beach and to all the great restaurants in the area. The rooms are always clean and the staff is very friendly, specially Cecile who is always very kind and helpful to us.
We love Barbados and are planning to go back in the near future.
The only downside is that it might get a little noisy during the day and it might be hard to nap in front of the beach....but, we are happy to make a sacrifice or two in paradise!

Room Tip: beach front are the way to go
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toronto00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there in February 2012, and we loved it. The staff is wonderful, the place is clean and comfortable, and the beach is gorgeous. The hotel is close enough to walk to many nice restaurants and bars (we especially loved Mr. Vic's), and the bus ride to Holetown is easy. We hope to return next year!

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of roosters in the a.m., you might consider earplugs!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a perfect position on Paynes Bay. Whilst the accommodation is a little tired the welcome from the staff and the overall cleanliness made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnedry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the St. James for six nights in October 2012. We found the staff very friendly and accommodating. We asked for snorkel gear and were allowed to borrow two sets for the duration of our stay. We loved the oceanfront view from our balcony and are certain that a view this spectacular would have cost significantly more at any of the other hotels on Paynes Beach. Having a kitchen, although we didn't cook, was very nice to save on breakfast and alcohol. The rooms are all beautifully designed and those that have sea views are dreamy. Having maid service is great. You can swim out and enjoy the Turtles that seem to reside in Paynes Bay or walk along the beach. Across the street on weekends is a barbecue by a local chef who used to work at the elite Sandy Hotel. The food was unbelievable. We wish we went there all 3 days he was there but didn't try it til the last day. We also ate the first night on the beach for a mere 20 per person from Danny who works next door to the St James. So romantic and delicious. The only negative is because this location is so perfect, Cruise lines send there cruisers here to relax and snorkle on the beach. They were situated to the right of us but still dampened the isolated feeling we love. No pool, no restaurant. Basic but exactly what we wanted. Also next door is a sports rental place so it has its good points and negative but all in all I would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for ocean side
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendykay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
0.2 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
846 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados (Formerly Beachcomber Suites)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range: $185 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St James is positioned right at the centre of Paynes Bay, and looks directly out across golden sands and the azure Caribbean Sea. The St James is literally right on the beach and our guests have a wide stretch of beach on which to relax on their sun loungers under sunshades.A huge attraction for the St James is the presence of a large family of friendly turtles who have made their home in the waters in front of the hotel. The opportunity to swim with the turtles each morning has become a unique experience for our guests.The St James consists of 11 different apartments and studios and we can accommodate a party of any size.We do not have a bar or restaurant as our guests love experiencing the world renowned bars and restaurants in the local area, or preparing their own meals with delicious fresh Caribbean foods from the supermarket just down the road. Each apartment has a fully equipped Italian open plan kitchen, and we can also provide a cook upon request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The St James Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing