We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Nearby Hotels
Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$464
$422
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The House by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$728
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach View(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$220
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa All Inclusive(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$570
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Bay All Inclusive(Holetown)(Great Value!)
$409
$369
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveler rating
779
323
91
19
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
779
323
91
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubcolony clubwater sportsjunior suiteice lolliesocean viewrum punchcold towelswater taxiomelettethe cliffwater skiingbanana boatsecond visithappy hourcrystal covebottle of wine
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2014

For once my entire family (me, hubby, and daughters 10, 6 and 3) are all in agreement! This was universally agreed upon as the best ever family holiday. Excellent personal service, clean, safe, friendly, amazing facilities (watersports, kids club, restaurants etc). I just can't fault it. We stayed for 2 weeks and we left promising ourselves that we'd return soon. The girls all loved the kids club (a first for our family) and want me to mention Pomello, Shawndelle and Sheena - apparently the most fun grown ups ever!

Room Tip: No lifts so if you have a pushchair request a ground floor room/suite - not third floor like us! Sea view rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Wow, first off I must say this trip was simply amazing. I had a beautiful 6 day stay at the Tamarind Hotel for Barbados Crop Over festival. The staff was very pleasant, informative and helpful. Me and my friend stayed in a suite with a balcony that had the ocean view. Very clean room, nice and chilled seeing how it is very hot in Barbados. Bathroom was also very clean and neat. Room service came at least 3 times a day to turn down sheets and to clean the rooms and bathroom keeping everything tidy. The hotel is located right off of Payne's Bay; very relaxing and peaceful not to mention gorgeous! Breakfast buffet is available in the morning, dinning at night with live music. There are 3 pools to enjoy a dip in, 2 bars, fitness room, swimsuit shop, beauty salon, gift shop, a business center, a recreational room for children amongst many other accommodations at the Tamarind. I would stay here again without a doubt. Already booking my stay for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank courtneyp438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have recently returned from our stay at the fabulous Tamarind hotel in Barbados. Being July there was a bit of rain most days but in general the weather was amazing. The location of the Tamarind hotel is great - right on the beach (about 1km walk along the beach to the famous Sandy Lane Hotel) with a choice of 3 swimming pools (1 adult-only). There were always plenty of sunbeds either around the pools or on the beach. Choice of 2 pool bars, plus snack bar and restaurants. The service level was great - very friendly staff throughout the hotel.
The hotel is ideal for families with kids of all ages - ours are 8yrs and 5yrs so they enjoyed the kids club (very well-equipped and air-conditioned with a great timetable of activities). The complimentary water sports are perfect for older kids and adults (although ours did enjoy the giant doughnuts and banana boat!!)
The layout of the hotel was perfect -only 3 floors high so no lift. We had an Ocean View Junior Suite that was extremely spacious - king bed, double sofa bed plus an extra single bed and plenty of floor space left. The standard of the room and equipment what you would expect from a 4* hotel.
We had a wedding anniversary and my daughters birthday whilst on holiday and the arrangements prior and during were simple - staff were attentive and efficient.
I cannot rate this hotel and Barbados highly enough - we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms near the Rilaks pool are better for families as further from evening entertainment (however this does finish early)
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 14 night stay at Tamarind. 18/7 - 02/08.
We would recommend this hotel for all types of guests.

If you are looking for a quiet chilled relaxing holiday, then this is the place.

If you have children, then this hotel went out of its way to cater for all age groups. The water sports team were so engaged with helping the youngsters to learn to scuba dive / waterski etc.

The sea is a pure clear waveless joy to swim or just walk in, the stones in the first 6 ft or so can be a bit tiresome, but after that just pure heaven to be in.

From the Operations Manager ( Antonia ), right down to the gardners, I cannot fault the attitude of the staff.
Politeness is to say the least a joy to behold, every member of staff made you feel welcome and couldn't do enough to help.

We opted for bed and breakfast, as we didn't want to commit to eating at the hotel every night.

The A La Carte menu was superb, the quality of food was faultless, a bit slow at times for service, but always piping hot and well presented.
The menu was a bit repetitive , but lots of choice.

Breakfast choice was plentiful, full English was easily consumed !!, for a healthier option, the continental and fruit options were fresh and well presented.

We had room 232, an ocean front room, virtually on top of the beach, no restricted views, well presented with a nice spacious wet room style shower.

We have already re booked for 2015, this holiday was just what was needed to unwind and relax.

If you want a more energetic holiday, this is purely down to your choice, the facilities are there if you so desire.

We visited the Colony Club hotel, but it wasn't for us, glad to return to Tamarind, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

If you love to sit on the sand with a bottle of wine and watch the most glorious sunset, then this is the place for you.

Only one fault ........ The 14 nights went too quick.

It's a shame not to be able to recommend lots of staff for a special mention, all were so helpful, but our vote goes to Patrick ...... He's out at 6am putting out the beds / umbrellas / tables, .... He is so obliging and friendly, .... If your into cricket, then he's your man ...... Thanks Patrick, great job done.

Room Tip: Ocean front - 232 is perfect for view of sea / sunset.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have just returned from an amazing 12 night stay at the Tamarind. It really was a wonderful holiday and the best hotel we have ever stayed in ( I am very fussy too!!). The staff were ALL second to none and couldn't do enough for us, they were also fantastic with our children (8 and 5), my daughter Imogen " wants to live there forever!" The food was delicious, particularly the Caribbean buffet and breakfast was vast and varied, missing the pancakes and pumpkin fritters particularly!!

Our room was delightful, beautifully furnished and decorated and very big with a separate dressing area and balcony. We had worried about not having a separate bedroom and living area but there was no need as the space was so big and there was an additional bed as well as the sofa bed for the children.

The location was just beautiful and the snorkelling on the reef right on our doorstep meant the children could experience the most beautiful underwater world and sea life. We also did the turtle and shipwreck tour twice ( see Bruce and Roderick on the beach)The free watersports at the hotel were great and once again extremely child friendly with lots of care and consideration for their needs.

Whilst there we visited Harrison's caves which were fascinating and the wildlife reserve which although a bit rough around the edges was a great experience, make sure you are there at 2.00pm for feed time,the monkeys are hilarious!! It's also well worth hiring a car to see more of this beautiful island.
Another recommendation is Daphne's restaurant for their happy hour cocktails on the deck as the sun goes down! Absolutely delicious!!

I really can't speak highly enough of the Tamarind and we are already discussing our return. Thank you to all the management and staff for making our holiday so special.

Room Tip: 222 was lovely for a family with an amazing ocean view and not on a thoroughfare!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews