We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great hotel, wonderful location on Payne's Beach. Excellent rooms with all the amenities you can think of. Rilak's deck was a great location for lunch overlooking the sea. All in all a truly memorable stay at the Tamarind :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My second visit to the Tamarind in just over a year. Lovely hotel with a personal service. Tito, Arden, Andre, just a few of the charming staff who made the holiday friendly. The hotel is clean and modern with a good selection of food. The staff are fantastic and I will definitely be back to spend time here.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Skm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great hotel and very friendly helpful staff, in particular Giselle the concierge and Petra who sorted out our preferred room on arrival. Hotel superbly located on Paynes beach terrific walks on the beach up to and beyond Sandy Lane. Walking distance to renowed fine dining restaurants. A choice of 3 pools with superb areas to lay back and enjoy the sun! Highly recommended. Looking forward to next year. Suggest you book early!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davehev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were at the Tamarind mid September and had a glorious time. From the moment we were dropped off at the Tamarind from the airport we were welcomed by the staff and we felt like family. We were whisked to the lobby and had a welcome drink, cold cloths and sat back and relaxed. Once checked in we went to our room…3rd floor. We had decided to have a standard room and it was lovely. No complaints at all and being on the 3rd floor was nice. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We were extremely stressed prior to our vacation and were immediately relaxing, enjoying the Bajan sunshine and sipping our drinks. We had breakfast included in our package and found it delicious and more than enough variety. We ate on property the first night and it was Jazzy Steak Night, had a delicious dinner and loved the Tamarind Sorbet. Giselle at the concierge desk was a delight and guided us to many good restaurants, as well as answered any questions we had. We loved Matthew who brought us ice water, skewers of fruit, drink of the day, cold cloths, and lollies at the pool or beach. Of course, there were others but Matthew stood out as he was a nice young man who is the same age as our son and we "bonded", so to speak. We can not say enough good things about the management and staff. We felt like family as everyone seemed to truly care, were friendly and polite…knowing our names the 2nd day we were there! We had an incident with our rental car while lost in Bridgetown and called the Tamarind for help. Once arriving back that evening, everyone was concerned about us and wanting to make sure we were alright. Later in the week, I had an injury (not on property of the Tamarind) and needed medical care. Once again, when back to the Tamarind the concern was genuine. Both management and staff made sure that I was ok and if I needed anything at all. I huge thank you to both Kim Griffith-Lewis and Marcia Gooding and their staff for making our vacation in Barbados truly special. We will recommend the Tamarind to everyone. We will be back to Barbados and will most definitely stay at the Tamarind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 535donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

As per the previous reviews the hotel is excellent. All of the staff made our stay very pleasant.
This was our second visit to the Tamarind the first being our Honeymoon. We found many changes since our last visit! We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and an important birthday.On both occasions the hotel made them special giving us wine and a lovely cake, On arrival to our beautiful spacious room over looking the sea we also found another bottle of wine as a welcoming gift.
We used the water sports daily, especially the skiing, the water sports team were fantastic teachers and fun.
Each morning we would walk along the beach past Sandy Lane, and twice found new turtle nests, and several times a very famous person jogging along the beach.
Breakfast, plenty of choice for all, but we would liked to have seen a little more local food.
We had a fantastic holiday and when returning to Barbados we will be returning to the Tamarind.

Room Tip: Higher floors have lovely views of the sea. But remember no lift! But worth the walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maynespain_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our first visit to Barbados and we very fortunate to pick the Tamarind. The quality of the accommodation was outstanding with a wonderfully comfortable bed and pillows. Our room had a spacious balcony overlooking the sea and a large bathroom/wardrobe area. The room, grounds, pools etc were perfectly maintained and all the staff were helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, in fact staff went out of their way to assist. On a particularly hot day I moved to a shaded area and the barman bought me a drink of iced water without being asked. Every morning fresh fruit and ice cold flannels were brought to your lounger and in the afternoon a selection of iced lollies were offered to all guests. The wide range of complimentary water sports was amazing for a hotel which is not all inclusive. There was nothing that could be faulted; breakfasts were excellent and we ate in the hotel restaurant on 5 occasions and each meal was excellent. We will definitely return to Barbados and the Tamarind.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 329 which is an ocean front room virtually on the beach. It is a corner room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited late october 2013. Cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and the staff. It is in a great location on the west coach, with a lovely beach and the added bonus of turtles being in this part, so no need to take a turtle boat trip, just swim out with your snorkel & mask and enjoy. Or take out the free kayaks the hotel provide. We were VERY lucky, on our first night we had the pleasure of seeing a turtle come on to the beach, lay her eggs and return to the sea. Something we never thought we would see in our lifetime , a truly magical start to our holiday.

The hotel is lovely throughout. Reception was great at check in, bags were dealt with, we were provided with drinks ( fruit or rum punch ) and cold towels to refresh us.

We had room 333 ( top floor, far left corner on south block ), great room, very modern, very clean, fantastic bed and pillows and a lovely big balcony with padded chairs/sunbeds. As it was our 10th wedding anniverssary, the hotel had left a card and bottle of wine upon arrival, very nice touch indeed. The only NEGATIVE about the room was the front door, it had a gap all the way around it, this resulted n the noise levels being higher than you would expect. I informed the hotel of this and suggest they replace the doors with better fitting, more sound insulating doors, as we were woken quite early a few times due to the noise ( ear plugs helped ).

Food, was great throughout the stay. Breakfast is vast and plentiful, it is buffet style and has an egg station, so its a case of how do you want your eggs, scrambled, poached, fried, omlette just go for it. Breakfast was 7am - 10am . We had lunch 2 times, both times it was very good and you get plenty of it. We only had one evening meal, that was our first night ( surf and turf ), very very nice it was to, lovely steak and a very tasty lobster tail. It is a lovely venue for dinner. And the service is always top notch, water glass kept filled up without asking for example. No complaints what so ever about the food and the staff.

Facilities, there are many good things about this hotel, the 3 pools ( 1 adult only ), SPA ( Not much, but was ok ), the gym, the media room, the kids room, the free water sports including water skiing, aeroics lessons in the pool, there is plenty to do if you want to do it, otherwise just lay back and enjoy the beach and pools, or take a stroll along the beach ( right ) and see the many other hotels, apartments on offer along this coast. You can walk all the way up to sandy lane and take a nosey .

You can also take the FREE water taxi to the other hotels in the group, we did this a couple of times up to the Colony Club, it was a lovely hotel, very colonial in design and slightly more adult, and as we did not travel with our child on this holiday, it was more befitting for us. The water taxi was a bonus and a great way to explore other hotels.

Barbados is a lovely island, an island we have no issues re visiting and this hotel has made us want to re visit more often as it had it all, great location, great food, fantastic staff and great facilities. The location means you can walk to the fantastic restaurant THE CLIFF, we went here and had the best meal of our lives, also one of the most expensive I may add, around £350 for 2 people. You have a few other restaurants / bars outside the hotel, i.e Scarlet, Vics and a few others I forget the name of.

Great hotel for couples, families, ANYONE. Great location. Just go for it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
2.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
284 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range: $279 - $1,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Hotwire so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing