We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Took the whole family back in July . Paid extra for a one bed sea view suite. We were so lucky to have a double balcony . The rooms were very well equip with two huge bathrooms and loads of cupboard /closet space . Plenty for a family of 4. Beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were well maintained and spotlessly clean. Housekeeping staff were great and they offer a turndown service. The whole staff at the hotel were always and without fail friendly, helpful courteous and very professional at all times . The management team clearly create an environment where all staff want to do their best . The attention to detail is fabulous . Cold towels are offered during the day as are ice lollies. It is all this detail and service delivery that makes this a very relaxing ,calm and special place to have a holiday. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.
The ladies in the childrens club are second to none and the children are delighted to spend time with them . W have travelled to Barbados many many times and I can safely say that this hotel will get my vote again and again . Amazing .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    289
    76
    15
    13
See reviews for
351
548
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent a week here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are very attentive and provide excellent service. The food is really good with a great optional vegetarian menu. The room was spacious and comfortable and overlooked the pool and garden. This is a big hotel and as were travelling as a couple we welcomed the adult only pool where we could get a bit of piece and quiet, not that we are against children as we love hearing them enjoy themselves, but sometimes a bit of peace to read is welcome. The hotel is on the beach and we enjoyed the complimentary water sports on offer from the hotel. Snorkelling straight from the beach is excellent and the designated swimming areas keep you away from the coral reef.
Overall an excellent hotel, only spoilt by some rain and the consequential humidity - but we did travel in the rainy season - so what can you expect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank at2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent service in this hotel. Lovely accommodation, large, clean and modern rooms.
On our return visit we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the pool and sea, fantastic!
Lovely little touches such as the cool towels and ice lollies brought around when you are sunbathing by the pool. Food in the hotel was not cheap but it was great.
Couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0sie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went with whole family and had an excellent time.

Pros:
- Staff were very funny and nice people, loved chatting to them about their lives.
- Food in Bridgetown was a-m-a-z-i-n-g.
- Luxurious rooms.
- Big pools.
- Multiple pools.
- Hammocks and comfy chairs around the place to chill on.
- Room service was slick.
- Breakfast buffet was very good.


Cons:
- Relatively few other "young adults" of my age.
- Beach vendors.
- Hotel food was very average. (Excluding breakfast)
- Dodgy toilet.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Really fabulous stay. Having holidayed in Barbados a number of times before and encountered sullen staff, Tamarind was a breath of fresh air. The staff are very friendly and they really make you feel welcome and special. The facilities are excellent, the rooms are lovely and the beds (and pillows - a bugbear of mine! ) are very comfortable indeed. The complimentary watersports are very good, the staff very helpful and encouraging. My son began our holiday not having waterskiied before and ended it by wakeboarding one handed! There's also a lovely reef to snorkel just next to the beach. Other options to burn off calories from the excellent food - and cocktails - don't miss happy hour with the amazing Alecia! are the gym, complimentary pilates and tennis court. We were there on full board and ate there three times a day and the food was excellent, in particular the really meaty shrimp and the fabulous filet mignon steaks from the a la carte menu. Special mention should go to all of the restaurant staff, the wonderful Velma who cleaned our room perfectly every day and Dwayne, whose cheerful presence around the pool and beach brightened each day. We did get rain, not unusual in August but hey, bring on the cocktails! Top tip - take the glass bottom boat with Rod who will take you on a private trip to snorkel with the turtles (USD30 per person). He is a great guy and takes lots of underwater photos for no extra cost and he'll email them to you within 24 hours. I've read all the other 5 star reviews and agree wholeheartedly, especially Liz F's. We travel a lot and have stayed in some really fab 5 star hotels and I'm very picky. I honestly could find no fault at all. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are fab, but all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just back from 2 week stay at Tamarind and it was most enjoyable. Staff really do go the extra mile to make your holiday stay the best. We had a great room, very large with fabuous sea views through 4 patio doors a big balcony, walk in closet and recommend room 219. The free water sports were a bonus as well as plenty of space to be quiet and peaceful to enjoy the wonderful beach and crystal clear sea. Snorkelling amazing and coral reef just on the hotels beach, we took our own snorkles for convience. We did get rain and more than we expected but staff again always worked hard to keep everywhere in tip top condition by raking, washing, cleaning & preening the grounds as soon as possible to keep it looking it's best. We found the staff excellent and made the hotel that bit special. Breakfast as said before excellent choice and Friday shuffle to Oisitns fish fry also good also recommend eating at the hotel on Wednesday with Syndicate band playing and the the cocktail party before. Happy hour from 4-6pm great for those cocktails too! We would not choose to go at the end of August again because of the rain and also many of the restaurants were shut or closing up. Would go back to this hotel again but in mid season.

Room Tip: 219 large room fabulous ocean views and quiet, 2 sinks. bath and shower and big balcony, walk in clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Family of 10 stayed in this hotel. First 3 days were fine, nice place, great beach, pools etc. We booked the meal plan and ate our meals at the hotel. 3rd night 3 of our group went down with violent sicknesses, later confirmed by doctors to be food poisoning. We spoke to others at the hotel who also became extremely ill. The 3 of us took 10 days to recover, and it ruined the trip for pretty much everyone. Like I said, beware.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
2.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Property: Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing