We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have asked for any more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We couldn't have asked for any more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our third visit to Tamarind with our two daughters (aged 2 and 4) and we felt that we couldn't have asked for any more from this holiday. We had a ground floor ocean view suite which, in addition to having the luxury of gorgeous views of the ocean, proved relaxing and practical with the girls in tow as we were stumbling distance from the beach and could easily pop back to the room if needed. We also made use of the terrace as a nice place to sit and eat lunch (the room service menu was very good and the service infinitely more reliable than when we first visited four years ago). As well as being a beautiful place to stay, we were hugely impressed by the warmth, friendliness and professionalism of all of the staff at the hotel. Our four year old loved the Kids' Club: fantastic staff, great activities and the opportunity to play with other children (and yes, it gave us a bit of a break for some of the time as well!). Tamarind manages to strike an impressive balance of being a place that kids and adults can enjoy on their own terms - they loved it; we loved it; we all hope to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    254
    63
    15
    11
See reviews for
305
469
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

we stayed at Tamarind in March and April 2013 for our honeymoon. We had an Ocean View Suite. The hotel, the beach, the staff are really very nice. We visited the restaurant from the Tamarind several times and also the Daphne which is only two minutes beside the Tamarind hotel and is also part of the Elegant Hotels. Both restaurants are fantastic!
It is a hotel we always come back to!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Ocean View Suite, which was very comfortable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoergM996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at tamarind in may 2010 so a while ago now. We stayed just before it was refurbished. Great hotel, wonderful staff and wonderful surroundings. The location was good but quite far in my opinion to restaurants unless you wanted to eat at expensive restaurants. We ate in the hotel quite a bit and was great, especially the BBQ. Theirs a petrol station opposite hotel for the essentials such as crisps or chocolate.
There wasn't much evening entertainment at all just the occasional steel band which was nice to listen to.
The beach was lovely as was the sea. There are a lot of clear crabs that scuttle all over the beach which was a bit off putting. Water sports was good especially the jet skis.
Only a sort distance from airport.
Overall a great holiday just wished it was all inclusive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraoatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my wife and my first visit to Barbados. On the recommendation of our travel agent, we chose to stay at the Tamarind. It was exactly as described. Tasteful without trying too hard. Hotel was very clean, rooms reasonably sized (with functioning air conditioning), beaches were nice, pool was nice. We ate at the 246 restaurant on multiple occasions. The food was good and the menu rotation was pleasant. Overall absolutely no complaints with the property. The one thing to note is that the hotel was not in close proximity to a variety of dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank quimby420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has a lovely beach, the rooms are very pleasant and it is maybe half-mile down the beach from the uber extraordinary Sandy Lane. One of the best things about the Tamarind is that it has 3 pools, so not everyone is sitting around one big pool--with noisy kids, etc.
The negative is that it doesn't have a large property, so some rooms are overlooking the road. Also there are not a lot of food options without taking a taxi (not terribly expensive). But the restaurant that is attached (but I think different management) while quite lovely is very expensive. Actually all the nice restaurants on B. are very expensive. So be warned.

Room Tip: Ask NOT to be on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc20cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great Hotel, the staff, rooms and location are the best. To have a reef just off the beach within standing depth and large ray's swimming past you is awesome. I would recommend a B&B stay, and then use the yellow buses to travel the short distance for lunch or dinner. We are soon to visit there again. can't wait for Happy hour and the BBC cocktail.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panzerg307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I know I've already posted a review on the Tamarind but it doesn't feel right not mentioning some of the exceptional staff by name who clearly love their job and what they do.

With them, the Tamarind is world class and you should all be very proud.

To all prospective future guests of the Tamarind, you'll love thishotel and the staff and you will be very lucky to be looked after by:

Kim (GM)
Dwain (beach)
Matthew (beach)
Troy (beach)
Paul (F&B)
Tania (F&B)
Steve (F&B)
Antonia (Guest Relations)
Everet (Water Sports)
Marinus (Water Sports)

There are a few others too I really wish t mention such as the girl at the beach bar with the wonderful hair and smile plus the (F&B) guy who used t be at the Sandy Lane who remembered me from 9 years ago but I just can't recall their names. It's always dangerous naming people because those you forget can easily be offended but to all the staff who looked after me and my family - a BIG thank you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Icon-Hotel-Luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
0.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colony Club
Colony Club
#2 of 3 in Porters
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
0.5 mi away
Crystal Cove
Crystal Cove
#5 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Property: Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing