We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here at the end of September 2012.

This was our 8th visit to Barbados and although we knew where Tamarind was (and what to expect) we'd never actually stayed there before. We arrived early evening off the Manchester flight and were greeted with rum punches and cold flannels in reception, which was a nice touch.

We had booked an upgraded Ocean View suite which was exactly what it said on the tin. We couldn't fault the room at all. There was 2 chairs and a sleeper bed on the balcony, and AC in the room keeping it cool.

The breakfasts were great and buffet style, with a good variety of continental (cold) food, and also hot breakfasts with eggs and pancakes cooked to order. We had lunches in the hotel (nachos and club sandwiches) but we didn't eat there in the evenings as the hotel restaurant was a similar price to independent restaurants away from the hotel, so we would eat out for a change of scenery. There is another restaurant adjoining the property called Daphnes, and we ate there a couple of nights, which was very good, but not as good as Cin Cin by the Sea which is only 5 minutes by taxi down the coast.

The hotel grounds were immaculate, as were the swimming pools. My only complaint was that the main swimming pool was closed (and drained) whilst they were repairing the decking. But the hotel was only a third full, so there were was plenty of sun loungers round the smaller second pool and on the beach, to go round.

The drinks at the hotel aren't cheap, but this is the West coast of Barbados so as to be expected. A beer was $8 and cocktails were around $20-24 (US $), but every evening they had happy hour where the drinks were half price, which was quite popular, as you would expect.

The staff were very friendly and were always happy to chat - we have to say thanks to Diana who at 35 weeks pregnant did a wonderful job of running the smaller pool side bar.

The location of this hotel is perfect - 5mins in a taxi to Holetown, or 5mins down the coast to the Cliff restaurant and Cin Cin by the Sea. In the day, we would walk 20mins up the beach (around the rocky bit) and you were on Sandy Lane bay which was amazing. Sandy Lane was closed for the month for renovations, and we had the entire beach/bay to ourselves most days. It was perfect. The beach at Tamarind is good, but Sandy Lane bay was beautiful.

On the day of checkout we didn't have to leave the hotel until 6pm, and they let us keep a free courtesy room, which was perfect.

We'll definitely be back to this hotel. I would say it's a (caribbean) 4* hotel, but the staff and location make it feel like a 5* hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for an ocean front room - it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank art200380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I visited the Tamarind a few years ago just before it closed for renovation. At that time although the staff were very good at their job and really took care of you the rooms were in need of an upgrade. Going back in October this year it was so much better. The rooms were lovely and staff fantastic again.
We did make the mistake of going in half term week but there weren't that many children there and from what I saw they were being kept happy and away from adults by the '
Kiddies Club'.
The hotel is in a perfect location along the west coast, close to Hole Town with its lovely chattel houses and new expensive shopping mall - Louis Vuitton etc which is in need of a few more shops. In the mall there is a super deli which serves a very good light lunch.
Food is ok at the Tamarind but do try Daphne's next door at The House another of the Elegant chain but adults only. We decided not to choose that hotel as wanted to see what had happened to the Tamarind after its refurb.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side of the hotel look out over one of the three pools so can be a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bessiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our visit to barbados, we really liked the island, and would definitely return. The tamarind is between a 3 to 4 star hotel. We upgraded to oceanfront and it really made the vacation. Our room was large and a big balcony with chairs and chaise lounge where we enjoyed just looking out at the ocean.

The food was pretty bad. The included breakfast was fine. Their fruit was some melon and canned peaches. But they had made to order eggs, pancakes, etc. we had our first lunch it was a club sandwich made with processed turkey you would find in a school cafeteria, and charge 20 dollars u.s.. After that we did not eat at the hotel. Took a water taxi to sister property Colony Club higher end property and a lovely lunch overlooking ocean. Same pricing as Tamarind.

The Tamarind as a hotel is good, not great. the staff was really nice. The weather was great, water was clear. And we missed a snowstorm in New York. I would like to go back only if I get a good deal on upgraded room, like we did. If not I would stay elsewhere that is actually a 4 star property

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Jetrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My buddy and I just returned from a week's vacation at the Tamarind Hotel located in Paynes Bay, Barbados. Trip dates: 10/27 to 11/4/12.

The Tamarind is a lovely, upscale (but not pretentious) Mediterranean-style hotel located on the West coast of Barbados. The staff at the hotel are all lovely, accommodating and oh so sweet. They are always pleasant and friendly no matter what you ask or need. The guys at the beach are all nice as well and not intrusive in any way. The grounds are beautiful and spacious. The beach is lovely especially with all the trees under which you can bathe in the sun without getting scorched. If the surf is up, you may want to pass on a swim because the shells and rocks can be a little dangerous with the churning waves. However, when the sea is calm, you must go for a long swim...absolutely lovely water.

The rooms are very nice and have all the mod cons. The view from the "oceanview" balconies are all lovely. We were the only Americans at the hotel which was nice for a change of scenery. There were mostly families and couples staying at the hotel during our visit but this didn't bother we gals at all. There is a great adult pool if you don't want to hang with the kiddies. This pool was fantastic, clean and very serene...it was really our favorite spot. We opted for the breakfast plan and glad we did. The buffet each morning was delicious and diverse. Coffee was fab too!!! If the coffee (and rum punch) is great at a hotel, you know it is going to be a decent holiday. :) We dined out each night and this gave us an opportunity to also explore a bit of the island whilst driving to/from the restaurants on the west and south coasts. I would highly recommend the Fish Pot up north in Six Men's Bay and the Waterside Restaurant down on the South coast. Mr. Vic's across the road from the Tamarind is a nice little spot for drinks and local food...nice owners and good eats. Surfside up in Holetown is a fun place for post-shopping, beachside cocktails, decent eats and local chats. Eating out can burn a few holes in your wallet...but heck, we are on vacation after all...right? And there are so many good restaurants from which to choose. The bar and restaurants at hotel were all good too if you get lazy and want to stay local.

Last but not least, do hire Livington if you want a great driver for the week. He is a lovely, honest man who we would highly recommend to any traveler who would prefers the convenience of taxis for the week. Just tell the receptionist at the hotel that you would like Livingston as your driver. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ballinspittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself, my wife and 3 children have just returned from a one week stay in room 228 and found it a fantastic holiday. The food has improved significantly since our last visit 6 years ago. The staff are very helpful and friendly and we felt it was a safe and happy place to take our children, aged 4, 6 and 12 years. The location of the hotel is fantastic for being central to the high quality restaurants on the West Coast, and with a beautiful beach this well run hotel is an excellent package for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Staff are very nice and accommodating however the property itself does not look like the pictures on website in reality. Needs a little updating. Can't swim in front of the property, have to walk down further due to a coral reef that will cut your feet and makes the water rough. The water sports are nice, see Ovie for that. Definitely recommend swimming with the turtles and renting a car for the day to go to easy coast. Stunning views. Resort is kid friendly so if you're trying to escape your own them don't stay here at high seasons or on holidays and if you do ask for a room away from Raikas bar which is where the kids hang out most. On the other hand if you ate bringing your kids then great property for them. They have activities for them. To get around town I recommend the yellow bus AKA Reggae Bus. Taxi's are a bit pricey. Hole town for shopping and going to Limegrove for a bar scene. Right across the street from hotel is Mr. Vic's. a must to have dinner one night. Very homey and casual and the good is great!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great family hotel ,lots of water sports activities. Amazing views ,amazingly helpful staff all polite.
great fun for all the family. Food was great and a great pool temp.It is so relaxing you could fall in love .Considering we were only there for 8 days it wasa great family holiday.Westayed in roon 314,great views.would definatley come again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
2.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
283 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range: $280 - $1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Hotwire so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing