We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach View(Saint James Parish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Lane Hotel(Saint James Parish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveler rating
769
320
90
19
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
320
90
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubcolony clubwater sportsjunior suiteice lolliesocean viewrum punchcold towelswater taxiomelettethe cliffwater skiingbanana boatsecond visithappy hourcrystal covebottle of wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from the Tamarind with my sister. We were made to feel so welcome the staff were so charming, efficient and professional with a special mention to Troy who looked after us on the beach and kept us older ladies entertained, he was brilliant, Deon who never stops smiling and The experienced Arden. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

From the staff to the location, everything is perfect!
The watersports are included in the price and very fun!!!
The staff is kind and smily!
We got updated immediately when they heard was my birthday and they sent us a bottle of wine and a cake!!!
I wish I could stay for longer but is definitely a place worth coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nandahaave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As our 1st experience of Barbados we were more than happy that we choose the tamarind to stay, the facilities were excellent, rooms spacious, beds comfortable, clean and view from balcony was breathtaking, recommend booking sea view rooms. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the little touches such a cold flannels and ice lollies whilst we were sunbathing we're nice. Breakfast had a great variation and changed every day, the birds around the table were annoying but not much the hotel can do about that. The free water sports were a great touch we weren't expecting so much variation to be on offer. As for the location it was really easy to get around, the bus service was regular, recommended guests try Karibu restaurant for some propar bajan home cooked food. We will def be going back to the tamarind again when we next visit Barbados.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saracthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The rooms are just as good as the photos suggest and our junior seaview had a massive balcony with a glorious panoramic view of the ocean. Free watersports were a suprise bonus that include doghnuts (great laugh), waterskiing, kyaking and banana boat. Its also free to hire snorkel and mask, which is a must with these waters.
That said, the most impressive asset of the hotel has got to be the staff. Wonderful, attentive staff where nothing is too much effort. We were lucky enough to get married there, and Sofia co-ordinated everything down to the last detail. The least stressful wedding you could imagine!
We must also mention the fantastic kids club staff who looked after our little boy like he was their own. It is the first time we have felt comfortable enough to take advantage of such a facility - there is so much for them to do there!
Definitely go swimming with the sea turtles, but book through the concierge for a proper day out. The food at the hotel is very good, and for a treat head round the corner to Daphne's where the food is exceptional. You will not eat out cheaply in restaurants in Barbados, but the standard is generally so high it feels like good value for money.
We had an amazing holiday and wedding, no question - we will return as soon as we can afford it! Ignore any negative reviews because this place is paradise.

Room Tip: Junior seaview is all you need.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christianthereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding annivsary. Nice touch as bottle of wine left in room with their compliments. Staff highly attentive. First night drinks we were welcomed and congratulated on our anniversary without us saying anything. Could not fault the staff during our entire stay.

The hotel is on 'the right side of the road' and so you are right on the beach. We had an ocean view room which certainly lived up to it's name. The room was a decent size with a good shower. No complaints. The balcony was a decent size to sit and watch the waves. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfasts are very good. We dined in the hotel one evening and the restaurant is right on the beach. Decent food and wide choice.

There are quite a few pools to choose from all with nice loungers and pool towels. There is a beach in front of the hotel and staff regularly come round with complimentary cold towels, lollies and watermelon. A really nice touch. There is also a flag system for someone to come over to take food and drink orders which means that you never have to leave your sun lounger if you don't want to! There are also a few gentlemen on hand to offer services such as turtle trips, glass bottom boat rides, waterskiing and banana boating.

The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because I think come of the areas of the hotel could do with a lick of paint and be smartened up slightly. However, this was not an issue for me and certainly didn't detract from my stay here.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who wishes to relax and take a slower pace for a while. A real holiday retreat.

Room Tip: If you can go for the ocean view. It really is outstanding.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getawaygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews