We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming apartment, perfect hosts”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Apartment Camille

Enter the apartment from the terra cotta steps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter the apartment from the terra cotta steps.
The Kitchen diner leads straight to the terrace New appliances and ample dining space- but you will probably prefer to eat outside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Enter the apartment from the terra cotta steps.
The Kitchen diner leads straight to the terrace
New appliances and ample dining space- but you will probably prefer to eat outside.
Dine on the terrace- sun or shade whichever you prefer
Comfortable Sitting room with sofa bed and satellite (UK) tv
Enjoy the warmth on the large terrace
The bedroom with king size bed or twin beds has wardrobe and drawer storage.
Aperitif in the evening sunshine
Stroll, cycle or drive down traditional tree lined roads. This is in the village.
The canal du Midi Walk along the tow path, take a ride on a barge, or enjoy a meal at the watersid
The fairy tale castle of the historic Cite de Carcassonne -shop, walk round the walls, enjoy a meal.
Sunset over the vineyard, just a minutes walk from the apartment
Modern bathroom with walk in shower , hand basin and bidet. There is a separate wc.
La Grasse
The ancient town of Minerve- spectacular views in the Black mountains.
La Grasse- visit the historic town and monastery
Narbonne indoor market is open every day. In summer, Carcassonne market on a Saturday is an event.
If you like wine, there are plenty of domaines to visit and tastings available.
Summer is the time of the fetes, it's easy to join in!
Narbonne
Band at the cherry festival.
One of the two boulangeries in the village. Fresh bread every day of the year
The village square.
Sea sand and sun on the Mediterranean coast is 30 minutes away. This is Leucate.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rieux Minervois, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
EMaree15
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming apartment, perfect hosts”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a perfect holiday! The apartment is charming - homely, characterful layout and floorboards, huge and ridiculously comfortable bed, high spec kitchen and bathroom - we loved it. A home from home! The terrace was ideal- a barbecue, shady and sunny areas, a breeze so that we didn't overheat too much, and lovely rural outlook.

The owners are friendly without being at all intrusive. They provided a very useful welcome hamper including some delicious local wine. They are excellent hosts and even invited my partner to their home to watch a particular sports channel so he would not miss the first game of the season which was vitally important of course!!?? They emailed us very useful information before our visit and were easily contactable throughout.

We hired a car at carcasonne airport and it was just a straightforward half hour drive to get to rieux minervois- then plenty parking in the street outside the apartment. The village itself is charming and just a short drive to many beautiful and historic sites. There is a very local supermarket, chemist, bar, restaurant etc (all walking dostance).

We didn't have time to visit vineyards this time but look forward to returning soon for that. We have recommended the accommodation to everyone we have met since we got home. One of our favourite holidays for relaxation and historic sites ... and wine of course!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you, we're so pleased that you found the apartment so comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the recommendations, we hope that we'll see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you! We are so pleased that you found the apartment so comfortable , and enjoyed your stay in the Minervois.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kwentw
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spacious home and terrace in a lovely town! Just perfect.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an absolutely wonderful stay in Rieux Minervois. John and Celia were fabulous hosts - welcoming us with an aperetif and a basket of homemade jams, bread, eggs, great roasted coffee and tea. The flat is a spacious 2-bedroom, arranged with one bedroom and one lounge/tv and reading room, and an open kitchen with large dining table, plus washroom and toilet in separate rooms. Big, very comfortable bed, lovely furnishings - it feels like living in a home, with care given to decor and details. The private terrace is truly enormous - two rocking chairs, sun lounge chairs, another big table for eating: we spent a lot of time out here watching from above as the occassional passerby or car went down the quiet street toward the vineyards.

Rieux Minervois is a lovely town - fabulous butcher shop with small salads and take aways for lunch, etc...a large grocery just an 8 minute walk away that is open during lunch (in case you, like us, have trouble adjusting to the French lunchtime closures and find yourself asking "what shall we make for lunch?" Right around noon each day). There is a fabulous bar a vin on the weekends that pops up down the street, with small plates and wonderful wine - some of our favorite in all the vineyards and tastings we've done in France.

And the location is wonderful - there was more to do than we could manage: long walks along the canal du midi, visits to the medieval towns of Minerve, Lagrasse, Carcasonne, cathar castles, well-reviewed restaurants, picnic by the cathedral of Notre Dame in a nearby valley...we will need to return.

John and Celia are wonderful with recommendations and invitations - the rental home is technically an apartment situated above part of their home but felt like our own private house. Our hosts were always there if we needed anything, but left us to our own private holiday as well. We so admire John and Celia and the beautiful home they've made - And after our brief stay, they are people we would want to call friends - we were sad to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
We really enjoyed getting to know you and sharing the lovely wines and produce of our region . We hope to see you back in the region soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoPlaces5...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming hosts”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very warm and welcoming hosts who treated us as friends rather than guests , who were a wealth of knowledge and recommended all the best places to visit in the area.
A very generous welcome pack was provided on our arrival.The apartment was spotlessly clean and well equipped, within walking distance of a vibrant village with lots going on.
We really enjoyed our time at Apartment Chamille , we stayed for a one delightful week and did not want to leave.
In the heart of the biggest wine region if you love wine visit Rieux Minervois

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing - everything was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Apartment Camille, it was a pleasure to share the delights of our region with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XZ-Enterp...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A charming property”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the owners and in a short time (over a glass of wine) they had given us some good recommendations of places to visit in the area. This is right in the heart of the Minervois wine region with vines stretched along every road in and out of the village. Only half an hour away from Carcassonne and Narbonne, we were able to visit both towns in one day with ease and still have time to find a lovely medieval village to explore on our route home. The apartment itself feels so French without being tacky French and it has everything you would need (and more) for an overnight stop or even a fortnights' break. We were on a whistle-stop tour of the South so only used the apartment for a couple of nights but I am sure it will be at the top of our list if we visit the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The classic Frenchness of the property
Liked least: Not having enough time to explore the area more
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at apartment Camille, and that it provided the central base you were looking for to explore the region . We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amhaulot
Caen, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2018 for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara_Ramo...
Province of Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2015
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Apartment Camille, getting to know the Minervois. We hope you will visit again. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing