We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing stay at beautiful location and gite.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Brossac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vixywolf
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at beautiful location and gite.”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have recently returned from relaxing week at La Fleurette, which is spacious, cool in the heat and beautifully equipped. This gite has 3 bedrooms and one bathroom which was good for our party, and a private garden to one side. It was all so comfy and spotlessly clean, we wish we could have stayed for two weeks. There are so many pretty touches and conveniences.

The pool is gorgeous and a good size, with loads of loungers to relax on, overlooking the valley to the nearby village of Brossac. There are outdoor activities such as croquet and indoor games for evenings or when you can't be bothered to go out. The area is beautiful if a bit crispy after this year's prolonged hot and dry spell, with the usual array of pretty French villages, a market in the nearby town of Chalais on the Monday which was very nice and the cities of Bordeaux and Angouleme only an hour away. Chalais also has the local Intermarche supermarket with cheap fuel.

We have had a lovely time, Sarah and David were super helpful and we will return - hopefully soon!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you all had a good time and we look forward to greeting you here again in the future. Sarah and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChambers...
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Chez Sarrazin for a family get together and it couldnt have fit the bill any better. The drive from Bordeaux airport was very easy with us arriving at our Gite in good time. The owners David and Sarah were met us with a warm welcome which gave an instant feeling that this would be the perfect home for our weeks holiday.
The Gite had all that we needed for the 4 adults and a toddler in our party. We spread out comfortably across the 3 bedrooms and found the living area to be spacious and well equiped. As we chose to eat in most evenings we found the kitchen had all we needed and the dining table easily big enough for dinner and a game of cards. If we didnt eat inside then we were sat in the Gite's private garden area having a bbq and enjoying the sun set.
Josie (the toddler) was well catered for at the site with a lovely little swimming pool and plenty of outdoor activities including swings and other playground equipement. The adults made the most of the items provided in the games room as well as a few lengths in the pool and general lazing in the sun.
The most regular trip out was a short cycle into Brossac,the local town, for beautiful fresh breakfast croissants. Days out included the market at Chalais, a couple of visits to Aubeterre for swimming in the river and strolling through the winding streets and finally a visit to Remy Martin Cognac house for the adults!
Overall a fantastic stay. Chez Sarrazin is definitely on my list of places I will visit again and I'm already looking forward to driving through the fields of Sunflowers to get there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the Gite made our holiday
Liked least: Not having my own bike as this is great cycling terrain
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you all had a good time and we hope that you may be able to return to Chez Sarrazin in the future!! David & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292juliet...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful and elegant retreat in the Charente - superlative value for relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Chez Sarrazin is just beautiful. Clearly converted and maintained with love and respect for its character and the surrounding Charente countryside, this is a wonderful base for visitors to the Charente. I cannot praise it enough. I travelled with teenagers and a toddler and this suited these diverse needs with its wonderful child friendly facilities - the photos do not do the space justice, we were amazed by the space and the facilities provided - volleyball net, badminton, croquet, boules, rugby and footballs , darts (!), boardgames, jigsaws, wifi. And the pool is just incredible - a Hockney like splash set in gorgeous countryside. The gardens are so beautifully landscaped and maintained, it feels truly luxurious as well as friendly and welcoming. Sarah and David are marvellous welcoming hosts, so kind and generous. The bread and pack of butter, milk, coffee and tea as part of the starter kit was so thoughtful and welcome- I had been worried about breakfast on the Sunday morning but this was taken care of. Hotel like touches such as good quality towels, and soap provided gave an extra, unexpected level of luxury.
Eco friendly too with careful encouragement to recyle and sort rubbish including food waster for compost was great.
Incredible value I would recommend to all - and would certainly return. Thank you Sarah and David!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your time at Chez Sarrazin and for your kind review of Gite Fleurette. We do hope to see you again in the future. Sarah & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R
1 review
“A perfect venue for a brilliant family holiday.”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've just returned from a fantastic family holiday at the excellent Gite La Fleurette!

Our hosts, David and Sarah were absolutely brilliant who both went out of their way to make us all, including our dogs, feel extremely welcome both before and throughout our stay.

The pet friendly Chez Sarrazin is a superb base for any family holiday consisting of the beautiful main house and fabulous gardens, two gites (both of which can comfortably sleep 6 people), a large camping area with large individual pitches, a really excellent swimming pool area, a large 'play area' with enough 'sports'' for all ages as well as a modern laundry room and plenty of parking space.

We stayed in the lovely single storey Gite La Fleurette surrounded by fields of golden sunflowers. The accommodation is very tasteful with 3 good sized and individually decorated bedrooms (one even featured a large bread oven which proved to be a perfect 'den' for our two dogs), a well equipped kitchen, a spacious family / living room with free WiFi, TV/DVD a wood burner and an easily accessible shower room / toilet. Gite La Fleurette also benefits from a private outdoor BBQ and garden dining area and shared access to the really excellent swimming pool.

Chez Sarrazin is well sign-posted from the main road and easy to get to from just about anywhere. It's about 2k across the valley from the sleepy village of Brossac, 5k from the Lac Etang (which has a bar and the wonderful Restaurant Quai Sud featuring a terrace overlooking the lake). The bigger town of Chalais is 8k or so away which contains just about everything everybody will need as well as a large market every Monday featuring loads of local produce.

Chez Sarrazin is about an hours drive of Bordeaux, Royan, Cognac, Bergerac and Angouleme as well as in easy reach of the sandy beaches on the Atlantic coast. There's also plenty to do locally if you didn't want to travel too far.

We would thoroughly recommend Chez Sarrazin / Gite La Fleurette to anybody and will definitely be returning next year (if there's any availability left!)

A really big thank you to David and Sarah for making our holiday so special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: David and Sarah were absolutely brilliant hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
Thank you so much for your very positive and kind review. We were so pleased that you had such a good holiday particularly after the trauma of having to find another holiday venue at very short notice. We would be very pleased to see you again in future years (and thanks again for your excellent services as a 'pool boy'!!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueAnstis...
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place and great hospitality”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived in torrential rain (the first for two months) planning to pitch our tents in the field. The fabulous owner kindly offered for us to pitch our tents in the barn and even cleared the area for us, provided umbrellas and a washing line to dry our clothes.

The girls had a brilliant time in the fabulous pool (despite the rain) and we had lots of laughs camping in the barn. With a superb local restaurant for dinner, lots of sporting equipment available at the site and some amazing countryside all around, along with a local lake for activities - this would be a wonderful place to spend more time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: the rain
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so pleased that the overnight rain actually enhanced your holiday experience! Fun memories for sure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing