We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the perfect escape - how true”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Swn y Don

View from front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from front of house
View from front room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
View from front of house
View from front room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newgale, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jash10ash
wigan
2 reviews
“the perfect escape - how true”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed for 1 week - but it wasn't long enough. The house is as lovely and spacious as it looks on the photos and was very clean. There is everything you need in the house and the beds are super comfy, although if towels could be provided it would be lovely - its a nuisance having to pack them. Newgale is ideal for the active - beach/sea sports/walking and other areas of interest are within easy reach. The wildlife boat trips are particularly good, although double check accessibility for those with limited mobility. The only pub - the Duke of Edinburgh serves excellent food and is well worth a visit, as is the Victoria Inn at Roch (1 mile away) where on a Wednesday they have a quiz - what a really good night out we had. I have limited mobility and managed to get around the house, but there are about 3 steps down into the kitchen/dining room - I need a wheelchair outdoors and couldn't access the beach due to the sea defences. However, the authorities have made a super job of repairing the area following the recent floods and damage. All in all a brilliant place made better by the good weather we had.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, spaciousness, facilities
Liked least: area not particularly suitable for someone with limited mobility
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgine...
Bristol
1 review
“The perfect escape!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We arrived in Newgale on saturday night to an amazing view! a gorgeous long stretch of beach with sand, pebbles and caves.

I wanted to write this review more about the place we stayed at than Newgale itself - which is amazing with it's sunny beaches and lovely views.

Swn y Don is a great holiday home. Everything was immaculate when we arrived, the rooms are large and spacious, the bathrooms tiled like a roman bath. The kitchen is so easy to use and came with all equipment we needed, the dining table was ideal for nights in and other times we sat out on the decing to have breakfast.

We felt safe, comfortable and quite spoilt! waking up to the view of the beach is worth every penny and for the amount of space and the high standard of home (which includes the biggest tv i have ever seen!) it truly was a great deal.

The owners provided us with great detailed directions and a list of a million things to do, which was a lovely personal touch.

I couldn't recommend this place enough. A special mention has to go to the guys at the Big Blue Experience, friendly, helpful and they know their watersports! Just a fantastic week

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the personal communication from the owners and the modern feel of the house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nicolanei...
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing