We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs an update, but good location”
Review of Salema Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salema Beach Club
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs an update, but good location”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at the Salema Beach Club. It appears that this property was once a hopping place. It looked like there was once a bar and restaurant on the property and a few shops, but now everything is deserted. The pool area needs maintenance and many of the palm trees around the pool were dead. The pool was freezing. The apartments need upgrading, especially the bathroom. The apartment smelled like a public toilet. The staff was friendly. The location is good - it is less than five minutes to walk into town for the beach or restaurants. It is a five minute drive to the Intermarche grocery store.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eipamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here for the second time in August 2011 and overall enjoyed the experience.The staff are very friendly and helpful. However it is pretty run down and in need of a facelift virtually everywhere. I know the economy is bad here but there are a number of shops linked to this complex which are closed adding up to a bit of a ghost town feel, inckluding 2 bars which i have yet to see open. The same can be said of the bar A Colina which is best described as dilapidated and fairly deserted. The pool area is pleasant and no issue with sunbeds and it is in a good location but beware of the struggle back up the hill from the village! Good for a low key holiday but needs improving!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We have holidayed in this area several times and booked Salema as it is relatively unspoilt by tourism and has kept its traditions as a Portuguese fishing village.

We booked Salema Beach Club through Owners Abroad. Having checked it out on Trip Advisor we considered it adequate for our needs. We booked a one bed apartment but it did sleep four, although it would have been a bit cramped. Check in was quick and easy and the apartment was very clean with plenty of extra bedding and towels, which was a good thing as there is no maid service unless you stay for two weeks, then you get service after one week! The view from the balcony (although small) was good and it was nice to sit out with a night cap after an evening out. The kitchen was well equipped and there was a large fridge freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster. The bathroom was big but make sure you buy plenty of drain cleaner as the drainage in the bath/shower was useless.

The apartments are approximately five minutes walk from the beach but you do have to negotiate a very steep hill down and up again to get back. Also, to get to the apartment we stayed in, was a climb up lots of steps. Not recommended if you find walking and climbing difficult.

There is a good sized pool on sight which had plenty of sunbeds and never got particularly busy. The Colina Bar next to the pool had a poor choice of food, typically to suit the burger and chip brigade and was usually dead in the evening. Would probably be ok if you have got kids. Surfice to say we ate there once in the afternoon on the day we arrived and went once for a drink on our way back in the evening after dinner.

There are several restaurants at the beach area offering a variety of fresh and well prepared food and two bars. If going at the height of the season you must book to avoid disappointment. Our favourite is Aqua na Boca for the evening and the Atlantico during the day for beer and sardines.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanticMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

This complex of apartments is set up a hill from the small and rather quaint village of Salema. The walk up the hill may be a bit steep, but the reward is the sea views from many of the apartments.

Built in the 80s, the complex consists of a series of self-catering apartments. Most face the pool, and most of them also have views. The apartments range in size from studios to two bedrooms. They are all self contained, with a well equipped kitchen. You will find a toaster, kettle, microwave and fridge but no oven. The bathrooms have a shower, with a hot water tank in the kitchen with capacity for a shower for two people. All the apartments have a balcony, some with bigger balconies than others. One of the apartments also features a large patio - perfect for those barbeques.

Going on holiday to this resort is remarkably easy, and in the low season very good value. You never have more than about 50 metres to walk to the shop in the complex, which always has fresh bread, a deli, a large wine selection and all your staples. The cleaner comes round 3 times a week, and even does your dishes. The cleaner can also do your laundry - which is priced per kilo, not per item. The complex also has a take-away place with a few seats, and a linen shop. If you wanted to, you could stay there all the time and simply walk down to one of the Salema restaurants for dinner. There is parking, so easy to bring a car.

The apartments face the pool, which in the summer gets very busy. By the pool there is also a pool bar, and a pub downstairs. Some of the apartments have an obstructed view from two large palm trees in front of them. In the summer that is in fact an advantage, as the ones with an obstructed view will be in the shade and are more set back from the other apartments on the 2nd level.

I believe that although this complex of apartments is absolutely adequate during the summer, it is during the low seasons that this really is a jewel. Families with noisy kids gone, the whole area takes on a tranquility which is relaxing and reviving. Wake up every morning and the first thing you see from the living room is the sea. Open the balcony door and listen to the waves from the sea - it is very calming.

Reception is staffed by the very nice Esmeralda, who lives nearby and has been in Salema for over 30 years. Naturally she knows everyone in Salema and is very helpful.

This complex is not for everyone. If you have mobility issues you will find the walk up from Salema difficult, and some of the apartments also have steps leading up to them. The standard is good but not extravagant nor trendy. The interiors are typically Portuguese, and some of the apartments have not been done up for a while - but are very clean and with little wear and tear. The TVs offer 4 terrestrial channels and there is no wi-fi. On the other hand, the location is great and the rates charged offers very good value for money.

Salema is a "working village" where the fishermen still set out to sea early in the morning. It now boasts no less than 6 restaurants. There are also a few good bars, and a couple of cafes. The pace of life here is slow, and although it comes to life in the summer it never really gets that "big resort" feel that you get with other towns further east.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank polar_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budens
0.2 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residencial Salema
3.9 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
6.2 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
6.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salema Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salema Beach Club

Property: Salema Beach Club
Address: Rua da Praia, Budens 8650-113, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Budens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Budens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salema Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Salema Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salema Beach Club Hotel Budens
Salema Beach Club Portugal/Algarve - Budens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing