We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort - felt like paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mai Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ang Thong
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort - felt like paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Mai Samui for part of our honeymoon, and are so glad we chose to stay here! The resort is beautiful with a huge, gorgeous infinity pool with bridges, palm trees and greenery all around. We stayed in a pool access room, which was great as we had our own pool patio with a daybed and our own submerged sunbeds. The staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic (I think the best breakfast ever), where you can get omelettes and waffles to order, freshly squeezed fruit juices, hot thai food, exotic fruits, ice cream, desserts and pastries, and so much more....... Having waffles with mango and ice-cream for breakfast was just heavenly!

A few suggestions for improvement - the bathrooms are not fully sealed off, so small insects and lizards can get in through the cracks. This was a bit annoying as we always had to close off the bathroom so that the insects cannot come into the main room. It would be much better if the bathroom windows could be sealed off properly.
Another suggestion is that the toilet cannot flush toilet paper very well. However, this seems to be a problem all around Samui and is probably not specific to this hotel.

The hotel is a bit far away from the main centers, so there are not many restaurants nearby. The Mai pub's food can be hit or miss. There is a nice little beach restaurant called PJ's - just walk to the beach, turn right, and walk for 3-5 minutes. We would recommend this hotel for couples who wish to stay somewhere beautiful and secluded. However, if you plan to spend most of the time sightseeing or partying, you should probably stay somewhere more central.

Overall, we had a great stay, and can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Hotel is divided into 2 main parts. Choose a room on the side of the hotel where the main pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imi138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    311
    103
    29
    16
See reviews for
254
810
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Keith, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Mai Samui for a 5 night package in early June. The rooms were very clean and well laid out and appointed, the outdoor bath on the balcony was excellent. The coffee maker in the room was a bonus. All rooms have a fantastic view of the huge pool and ocean. We had a couple of banquets on the beach which were great - all the food you could possibly eat and a big variety. Wangchai from reception was exceptionally helpful. We did a cooking class which was very entertaining and the food was divine and the chef was a great bloke. There was no milk in the room and each time we wanted some we had to call room service which was very slow - this would have to be the only complaint we had. The spa was great - we had 2 spa treatments in our package but the normal cost was a bit on the expensive side. Internet room and library were great, breakfast was scrumptuos. The grounds were very peaceful, relaxing and luxurious. Staff very friendly. A great place for a relaxing holiday. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirlful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Having got off a long flight to Bangkok, then hanging around the airport, then another hour flight to Samui all I was looking forward to was getting to the Hotel.
Well we were met by the Mai Samui Staff at the airport, decent enough sign so made contact quickly.
We had pre booked hotel transport at 1,000B / $40Aus.
Thought it was way pricy, but having checked the local Taxi rates found it was actually very reasonable. In Bangkok we can get a taxi from the airport to the city around 45 mins for 250B..........Samui expect to pay 600b for a 10 min ride?

Anyway in the jeep and off to the hotel.
The journey takes around 30 to 45 mins as the hotel is the other side of the island from the airport.
Coming down a steep hill the lady pointed out we would be turning right and the hotel would be a few minutes away.
Presentation and first impressions go a long way for most of us Westerners and to be frank, the little sign of the Hotel tucked behind a huge sign from the Passage Hotel made me think, this was another one of these occasions where the accommodation was not going to be as expected.
HOWEVER, passing the Passage hotel, Which looked nice we came to Mai Samui.
To say we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement.
The place is downright magnificent.
We were met by the bell boy, who was actually a giant of a man with a smile to match.
We were escorted up the steps to the reception area.
Within the first few minutes we felt our journey had eventually came to an end.

We were thankful to have been met by one of the Managers who we later saw a lot off during our stay. A little lady (Kik) with a heart as big as the pool, the size of which was the biggest I have ever seen in a hotel and we have travels extensively around the world.
So quick check in, room key in hand we were escorted to our room on the second floor.
The room was very welcoming, a little to much decoration for my taste, but nice.
The bathroom is all white moulded stone, I think terrazzo? Even the bath which is sunken into the floor.
Good start we thought, so off to bed.
opened the curtains in the morning to a view of this magnificent pool.
Looking over we saw the pool access rooms with private steps and beds into the pool, so we thought we should see about an upgrade.
Breakfast first.
Breakfast is buffet style with made to order eggs, waffles etc etc. Tai and international, together with continental.
We sat next table to a couple who just looking at them knew they were eager to share something with us.
We said good morning and then they started...........their opinion was the breakfast was limited and understaffed. OK everybody is entitled to their opinion..........but come on............we counted at least 7 of a staff to serve a buffet breakfast?
The breakfast items ranged from Soup, rive (boiled and fried, Noodles, fried veggie, stir fried chicken, potatoes, tomatoes, eggs made to order (omelets of choice, poached, boiled, fried eggs)
bacon, ham, sausage, cold meats , cheeses, pastries, cake at least 8 types of bread and on and on and on.

After breakfast we then went to see about the upgrade.
We paid an additional 2500B a night extra, but deal done, we were now moving to the fabulous pool access rooms..........worth every $.

The only down side of our stay was the cost of food and drink.
Ok Mai Samui may be listed as a 5* resort but is is not the Conrad or Four Seasons.
The food is tasty and the cocktails good, but I think if they charged a little bit less they would keep the customers in the hotel.
Lack of entertainment...........there is no entertainment, although we have still to stay in a Thai hotel which provides any.
Mai Samui is around 3 miles from the nearest town and 9 o'clock at night feels like you are on a desert island and not a holiday island.
There is no dedicated customer device desk, to which information on activities outside of the hotel can be provided. You can however ask and the staff will make recommendations?

Would we come back................YES..........
Staff..............Fantastic.
Quality of construction and facilities...............first class
Food............Good but cost double than outside the hotel.
Wi-fi..............yuk!!!........comes for a few seconds and goes for a few hours.

Ideal for couples.
Access poor for old or disabled.
Not a lot to do for teenagers.........well nothing really apart from the pool.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have the same layout. The pool access rooms are a MUST if available. Pool vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_J255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The resort itself is beautiful, but the beach & food was a real let down. The tide was either always very far out or too far in, making it not possible to swim in, not to mention the rocks everywhere.
Most of the time the service was quite good, the staff are happy to help you on most occasions, minus the "egg" lady who found everything a hassle.
You would be silly not to hire a car for the duration of your stay as it is not possible to walk any where from Mai samui, either a car or a scooter is the way to go!
The food is the next issue. In our pack we recieved a "complementary meal" in the Thai resturant. Too say this was an enjoyable meal would be a lie. There idea of a 3 course meal was 4 different types of food on one plate, which consisted of a fish that stunk horrible, rubbery duck and tofo with a piece of pineapple for dessert. Don't even bother with the free meal to be honest!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Travelled to this resort for a week with a friend on a Scoopon deal. If you come across any of those vouchers, snap them up while you can because Mai Samui can be expensive, but it definitely worth it!

The views and rooms and outdoor areas are all stunning, such a beautiful place that even smells fantastic and relaxing.

Being further away from the town/markets, it is tranquil and free of disturbances, plus the staff can organise transport for you if you wish to go into town.

Staff and room service was absolutely amazing, we really felt at home as if we were part of a family, always greeted by a smile. The food was amazing and always top quality... Craving those buffet breakfasts and drinking coffee in the morning sunshine!

Special shout out to staff members Catherine, Jefferson, and the man we nicknamed out 'Thailand Father' (because as two young females travelling he always took care to see that we were safe and happy) who served us graciously and who we still miss greatly!

If you can afford it, I highly recommend Mai Sumui!

Room Tip: Recommend a room on a top level - it's high enough to get a great view, but not too high that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

the resort is a beautiful in nice location the rooms spacious and clean king size bed pools are fantastic and staff very friendly and helpfull breakfast was average and food and drinks at restaurauts were at the higher end for thailand prices walk ways to fine dinning and pool access is very dangerous as you have to go over small wooden bridge with no handles when wet very dangeruos but overall we would go back there because very relaxing and lovely resort if thats whot your looking for in a holiday

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossiedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just come back from 6 nights at Mai Samui and absolutely loved it. What a beautiful resort and just what we wanted - a totally relaxing break. Everything about it was fantastic - beautifully appointed spacious rooms, the glorious pool, fabulous meals, especially the yummy breakfasts, a great little gym, library and computers, we all had a few massages each, hired the bikes to cycle to the next town and also attended the hotel cooking class - which was great fun. The staff were all wonderful - so friendly and helpful. The only thing to be aware of, if you are looking for nightlife, that the main drag of Che Wang is about 30min away, but the hotel has a shuttle there 3 times daily. You will have to get a taxi back in the evening. We loved our stay there and would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a really relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ang Thong
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
10.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
1.3 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Mai Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 2/6 Moo 5, Laem Yai Beach, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Samui Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Mai Samui Resort And Spa
Mai Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand - Ang Thong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing