We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest”
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We have just come back from our honeymoon and have travelled to St.Marteen for 6 days and Las Vegas and Nyc city afterwards. The stay at La Samanna was definitely the most fabulous part of the whole trip, actually we are not new at staying at 5 star hotels but this one has something very very special. The room was huge and overlooking the sea with a private terrace on the roof, the service was excellent, restaurant overlooking the "private" bay, unique, we really felt as if the hotel itself was looking after us enjoying each and every part of our stay...We did go out for an excursion around the island but after an hour in the car all our interest was going back to our sun beds next to our room and being looked after by the great guys at the beach bar!!! To conclude I would say that the best of all was that price was absolutely worth it!!!!

14  Thank cbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2005

This hotel wins the award for the World's Worst! I wouldn't wish an experience with this hotel on my worst enemy. Everything from the food, to the rooms, to the people were unlike anything I have ever experienced. Don't be fooled by the pictures you see, I was and I wish that I had never heard of La Samanna.

Stayed: June 2004
17  Thank KaceeLGreenvilleSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2005

La Samanna just went thru some major room modernizations, after a few complaints that the rooms were very 70-ish, etc. Basically, new floor tiles, new bathroom, some rooms had the furniture replaced, etc. But there are some small flaws to this construction, not enough power outlets, some rooms have only one night stand, old TVs, not enough lights, speed dials don't seem to work (maybe the phones haven't been programmed yet due to the construction) but then one should not be staying indoors at this beautiful resort in St. Martin.

Since it is our third visit to the island, it is true everything at La Samanna is very expensive, for example, a can of soda can cost you $5.50 where if you venture out to the dutch side, especially near the airport, a 6-pack of soda will cost you about $2.50. Also, try eating locally, it can save you on the $$$. We recommend heading out to the French side. Also, there is casino right before La Samanna (Atlantis), try one of its many restaurants, especially Temptations.

Overall, La Samanna is a very beautiful resort, and yes, very expensive, but if you still want to choose to stay at this luxury resort, for comparison or what not, our recommendation is for you to rent a car, may we suggest a very compact one (the most inexpensive ones are $17 a day) because parking can be very tight and enjoy the other beautiful surrounding beaches, people/culture and delicious local food this island can offer to you.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2005

After searching top rated resorts wolrdwide we selected La Samanna for our long awaited honeymoon. The whole affair is a study in understatement. The service was exemplary, from their Orient Hotel reservationist who helped us plan it, to the entire hotel staff and especially Nathalie Schoenher, a F & B manager who has world class charm and a talent for extraordinary service. We were so taken with the magic of the place we purchased a pre-construction condo close by at Cupecoy Yacht Club, owned by same OEH group that runs La Samanna. We had to ask her to introduce us to the property, untra soft sell.

The honeymoon package covered all the bases, with the La Samanna II boat excursion being a key winner. Our accomodations in the Baie Rouge suite were near- perfect, like the top of a wedding cake overlooking the pool and sea, but super quiet!

Dining is over the top but a must to try at least once. The island requires that you turn off the expected and listen to the quiet magic of the island. Do not miss massage by Martine and her staff in SPA. Best in my life!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank naomihecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
River Vale, New Jersey
118
Reviewed August 31, 2005

The beach is beautiful and that is the best thing about La Samanna. I would expect to feel pampered and pleased after a stay at a resort of this caliber. Unfortunately, the expense is not matched by the quality and the attitude of management was downright insulting. $5.50 for a can of coke? $30 for a pitcher of iced tea, plus a $6.65 per per person room service delivery charge? Sounds more like extortion. And, if you're sunburned and want to make use of the cabannas on the beach (all unoccupied) you actually need to rent it-- I didn't even ask how much that was. We went there on our honeymoon and I booked a room upgrade special. I noticed that other couples were automatically being upgraded (free of charge) due to low occupancy. When I asked for the same treatment, they declined and I felt more suckered than ever. One of the French managers was expecially snippy when I said I could not recommend La Samanna: "well, the other couples we upgraded will recommend us!" The king-size bed was really two doubles stuck together and the "fully equipped" gym was half-way adequate, at best. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, USA
116
Reviewed August 28, 2005

They gave us a room the size of a closet, or perhaps it was an add on to a suite room, and we spent $450 a night for what was supposed to be a standard room. The cleaning staff left filthy cleaning rags in our bathroom, dirty dishes were sitting outside of our room the entire length of our stay, and we had to call room service each day for fresh towels. The service in the restaurant was also poor; overpriced, no air conditioning, and dried out overcooked meat.

When we complained about the service and the size of our room to the manager (I have stayed in Holiday Inn's that were nicer, had larger rooms and better service), we were offered a free airport transfer!! No joke!! (which wasn't even comped!!!). La Samanna does not deserve to be called a luxury hotel, should not charge rates of a luxury hotel, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Do not stay here unless you want aggravation.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charleston, SC
16
Reviewed August 23, 2005

Well, if your looking to stay at a property that offers a private recluse to the happenings of an Island of many journeys this is the place.
We were blown away by the staff and accomodations here. Breakfast and sun before 2pm then go to Marigot or Grand Case for a two hour French lunch and shop awhile or check out the locals market. Do the local thing then head back to your sanctuary at Lounge Bay for a late afternoon cocktail and sunset. Could anyone feel better or safer about being in Saint Martin? The scene is ultra cool and the staff is very well trained. All the beautiful people are here and the women are mostly topless and carefree.
The hotel grounds and buildings are all newly renovated and offer the utmost in Island living. I went once and had to go back. Unforgettable experience. The French side is very friendly and cultural with great food. The Dutch side is where the Gambling and Sin Fun is.
Yes La Samanna is expensive but it is without a doubt the best accomodations on the Island and the staff is almost always someone who has been there at least 10 years. That should tell you something about the property and the management. The beach is pristine and the bartenders know what to do to make you happy.

Strodog

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range: $528 - $987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing