We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation, but!...”
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation, but!...”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stay in this hotel from 05.06.13 to 14.06.13. Have 2 birthdays: my - 35, and my girlfriend - 25. No one congratulations in any way for the stay was not, moreover, had dinner with a my girlfriend in the restaurant 11.06, ordered from music singer song for my girl one song for $ 100, and in response - silence! .. no song, no money back, nothing!.. Do not think, that these musicians create a good image for this hotel! ... And the case has nothing to do with money, but with respect! ...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igor_reyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, Guest Relations Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Igor_Reyn,
Thank you very much for sharing this with us and I am very glad that you posted your review before you checked out so we could make it up to you on time. Our singer is not a very good english speaker and I believe the language barrier between you and him is the source of the misunderstanding. We will make sure that this does not happen again in the future and make sure our singer asks for translation in the case he doesn't understand a guest request.
I am very happy that you had a fantastic holiday and I hope you enjoyed your last lunch with us and wish you a safe flight back to St. Petersburg.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    215
    106
    60
    45
See reviews for
174
677
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for our Honeymoon in July 2011 and it was perfection.

The staff, food, ambiance, beach, ocean, room.... all perfect.

We had originally requested a room near the main beach area, but actually requested a switch to the cliff side room for the improved view & privacy, which they were so amazing about accommodating us to make us happy. We had a 1 Bedroom with Roof Terrace. We did not feel it was far from anything (we are from NYC and 'walkers') and the place is landscaped so beautifully that it makes it enjoyable. We hated having to leave, our bungalow felt like our perfect private escape.

The resort was so quiet & romantic (it was off season) and I literally was overcome with how beautiful it was.

I'm happy to see from other reviews that ROMEL is still there, he was the best. Really went out of his way to make us feel special on our honeymoon. He was our fantastic server for our private beach dinner one evening. Everyone was so wonderful.

The spa was amazing too. After our lovely couples massage we were encouraged to linger, enjoy the outdoor showers with our tea. It was so good we went back for another one later in the week - a rare splurge for us.

The beach is very important to us on a vacation and we loved it here. The cove is stunning. I loved being able to snorkel right there and seeing some tropical fish. Even saw a Ray one day!

And the food, yum! Fresh Fish, lobster - and even the simple things, like the eggs & fruit we had for breakfast in our room every day was de-lish!

It was truly everything I wished for. A truly beautiful escape after our wedding. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for the cliffs! A very short walk in exchange for views, privacy & a quiet escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrtoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear OrtoTravel,

It makes me so very happy to hear that your honeymoon with us was a perfect stay. I am glad that you were able to truly enjoy yourselves and that you found the staff was helpful. I hope you make Belmond La Samanna a yearly visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The concierge, service, cleaning, beach, food/drinks, fun for kids, overal is all great. In my opinion it's devinetly a 5-star hotel! We stayed in I10! The path to the beach and the tennis court is like a tropical rain forest! Food and Drinks was at best service, and during x-mas time they give presents to all of the guests!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quint879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear quentinsoloviev,

Thank you for taking the time to write about La Samanna. I am so happy to read that all the departments that you come in contact with have been providing a great service, I will be sure to share that with the staff. And indeed, when Christmas comes around we like to spoil our guests. Hope to see you back this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Once again we returned to La Samanna for our annual visit to St Martin. Our stay was almost perfect. We were greeted with a rum punch while we checked in. Our room was ready, and as we requested, in Building F. We like this building because it looks out on the infinity pool as well as the sea and is near the beach bar.

The only small disappointment to us was that one evening the beach bar was closed to those not attending a private birthday party. We enjoy watching the sunset with Romel or Jean and to miss one of these evenings is truly a disappointment as we only have seven opportunities each year. It seems that there should be some kind of accommodation for those of us who have paid for the use of all the facilities.

Otherwise, the entire stay was perfect. We found everyone with whom we came in contact to be very friendly and ready to assist.

The views are fabulous from almost anywhere in the resort. Be sure to reserve a package which includes breakfast. Also have a massage. A rental car is great to have for the daytime but we do prefer a cab at night.

La Samanna is expensive, but definitely the nicest place on the island, in our opinion. It is not a bustling resort, but a peaceful place where one can "re-boot". First timers we spoke with were amazed at the privacy afforded by La Samanna.

We wish the mixed drinks were not so pricey and that there was a regular coffee maker in our room.

We look forward to returning the same time, next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear sandman 9253,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. While I am glad that it was almost perfect, I sincerely apologize that the beach bar was privatized one evening during your stay. We do always have the Baie Longue Bar and the Trellis terrace as a wonderful spot to enjoy the sunsets. I look forward to seeing you back next year for your "re-booting"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited La Samanna as our villa was just a short distance away. We went to the terrace bar over looking the beach for sunset. The view was breath taking. there were lounges and beds to allow complete relaxation. The beach is nearly private with only a few villas in addition to the hotel. The staff from the guard at the gate to the front desk to the service staff was more than helpful. The waitress took us to a beautiful nearly private terrace when we could not find a seat in the bar. We had a 7 year old with us ,who was catered to including bringing her a small pizza. On
the beach they have private cabanas with butler service and champagne. For amazing quiet service in a private luxurious setting I can think of no better choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Carl J,

I hope next time you are on St. Martin you will choose to stay at Belmond La Samanna! It is always a pleasure to read that our slice of paradise has made a positive impression on those that even are not staying with us. I truly hope next time we can count you as in house guests so you can enjoy all the hotel and staff have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spectacular hotel on a beautiful beach! It looks just like the gorgeous pictures! We were greeted with a welcome coctail upon arrival and got to soak in the beauty of La Sammana. The staff was always attentive and sincere. We arrived early and after a delicious lunch in the lobby bar our room was ready early. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and we were fortunate to have a room upgrade. In addition, we had champagne and fruits upon our arrival. Our room was beautiful (F17) and had a fantastic view of the water and infinity pool. We had a breakfast package included which was such a perfect way to start the day. Ketty and the other waitresses were wonderful. Concierge and staff were always helpful and friendly. The sports center was great. We did paddle boarding after a brief lesson. The beach is gorgeous and the loungers are wonderful. It is an expensive resort but it was a special treat to go to. St Marten is a beautiful island. I have been there at least 7 times and La Samanna is the best! We are dreaming of our next chance to return! We had a wonderful time as a couple but it would also be fantastic with our (well behaved!) children! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RivieraMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear RivieraMaria,

We are already waiting for your next visit! Thank you so much for your kind review of Belmond La Samanna. I am so happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us. I will be sure to share your comments about the staff with the team,as these are always motivators for us. Hoping to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

You will feel like a celebrity from the moment they let you in through the front gates of this exclusive Villa. Felt more like an Estate or private Membership Club than a Hotel/Resort. Of course, this comes with a price. If it were cheap, everyone would be able to stay here. This is by far the most beautiful piece of property and beach on the island. Here are some tips/suggestions:

When to go: Book your trip in May. The weather is great, the crowds are gone and you will pay more than 1/2% off your room in low season. There may be some sporadic renovations going on but who cares? They do it discreetly and besides, you shouldn't be in your room...you should be on the Beach!!

My wife and I stayed in a Deluxe Ocean View Suite w/ King Bed and huge terrace. Don't be surprised if you see a Giant Roach, Lizard or mold on the bathroom tiles. This is a humid climate. What did bother us was when the several different housekeepers kept continuously reminding us that it was their last day working for the week before we checked out. Maybe the European guests are not big tippers? The room comes with a small fridge, few free coffee pods for the espresso machine. When those are done, you gotta cough up $4 a pop for a Joe. electricity is mostly 220v but they have at least one 110v outlet so you don't need to pack your converters coming from USA.

Be sure to rent a car for your entire stay. It's only 10 minutes to the airport but La Samanna is pretty isolated. Stock up on your supplies at the closest supermarket (Marigot or Maho) liquor, food, etc. We had croissants and sandwiches from Sarafina's Bakery about a 15 min drive away. Ate and drank all day on the beach, then splurged on a dinner in the eve.

The Beach: They advertise the beach as private, but it is not. You will soon find out why when you are using the complimentary water activity equipment and several Tour boats show up to ruin your quiet enjoyment. The property is private so the only way for a non guest to get to the beach is by sea and the tour operators are making a mint taxiing their patrons to this "exclusive" resort. They are loud, they blast their party boat music and occasionally swim to shore. They basically come to take photos of the resort because there is not much of a reef to snorkel, just a bunch of rocks and ordinary fish. So smile for the camera while you are scarfing down your $30 burger and $18 10oz drink! The paparazzi tour boats come in from 10 am-6:30 pm/sunset booze cruise. I counted 5 boats at once and total of around 14 throughout the day.

Guests include honeymoon couples, retirees, wall street types, staight/gay, and models. Although we saw a few families w/children, we wouldn't recommend you bring the kiddies along unless you are ok with them hanging poolside or beach side with topless, thong wearing cougars and cigar smoking moguls. Americans often get culture shocked here. Please remember European rules apply, nudity and smoking are tolerated and sometimes encouraged. Leave the kids at Grandma's and enjoy the Monaco type Atmosphere. You deserve it!

Trellis was good for dinner, but not great. Got the feeling the staff may be underpaid because no one was smiling or up to par with the dining etiquette. A little motivation and education will go a long way. A good pruning and tuning with the Sommelier & Chef will bring the service into parity with the great wine selection. Their crapiest wine is 90 pts so if you can't choose close your eyes an pick one. Be sure to take a ride up to Grand Case. THE best dining and service is found there. Some restaurants also take USD$ @ Same price of EUR. So your $$ goes a lot further.

This is the BEST place to stay and worth every penny. So save up your paper and book it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear IggyP,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay at Belmond La Samanna. Thank you for your comments regarding the restaurant and its staff, please be assured that I will share your comments with them as it helps us improve. I am glad to hear that this is the BEST place to stay, I must agree. We take great pride in providing a 5 star luxury experience to our guests, of which you were witness yourself we have a wide range of clientele. Regarding our prices on Food & Beverage, they are in line with our competitors in neighboring islands, I hope that you come back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,795 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,314 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Property: Belmond La Samanna
Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing