We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best beach for relaxing times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best beach for relaxing times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our second visit to La Samanna..once before the renovations and just this November. The beach is very private, beautiful water, very relaxing. We love it because it is not touristy or crowded. Our room was just perfect. We were in the main building on the top floor so we loved the views at night. Our bedroom TV did not work for the entire week which was not so good but that was the only glitch. We stocked the fridge with our own drinks as the prices for cocktails are a bit high on the property and it does add up.
You can rent cars right on the property so no need to call an outside company.
The breakfast buffet is just wonderful. There is something for all appetites.
We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was good. Not the best dinner we had on the island but you can't beat the views.
Staff is SUPER friendly and is there for anything you need. Most of the friends we met there never left the property. We are a bit more adventurous and ventured all over the island and then would come back to relax.
A great place for couples..not super kid friendly simply because it is on the quiet side and more mellow that a bigger resort. I actually like that there weren't a bunch of screaming kids running around!
All in all..it was a fabulous, highly upscale resort that was well worth the visit.
The couples massage was WELL worth it!!
Boutiques on premises as well as a nice fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Budcalifornia.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see that this was your second visit to the resort and that and I really hope this won’t be the last. I am sorry to read about your TV. We are now working with a big European TV/Wifi provider and getting the technology to the Caribbean can sometimes be a little bit tricky but all is now in order and everything is working perfectly. Regarding the kids, it is true that we do not have many but we do have a Kids club every afternoon on demand, so feel free to bring the kids next time and they will have great fun. I am hoping to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    210
    104
    60
    45
See reviews for
170
651
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

FABULOUS from start to finish ... rooms are beautiful.. staff is amazing best beach.... breakfast perfect and the concierge very informative... views at night the beach is lit up.. great dining.... the most friendly staff... wonderful fabulous resort.. piece of heaven...

Room Tip: Top floor... view magnifcent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Ambercity.

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay at beautiful La Samanna! I share the exact same thought about this small piece of paradise and I wish everybody was able to see its real and unspoiled beauty. I hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We just came back from 7 days vacation from this terrible place. We paid around 7000$ for horrible vocation ever. The first day I wanted to go to the beach but I saw 2 street dogs walking on hotels beach, they can come to you when you r resting and taking a nap on a beach. When I asked staff to do smth with that they just ignore me. This hotel is pretending to be a 5 star hotel but its 2 star hotel. When u having a dinner for 300& cat may walk under the table- it is normal????!!!!! Stuff is unprofessional! I've never go back!!! My friends just wanted to book this place and thank God they cancelled!!!! I don't recommend place to anybody, it is over priced for beach with street dogs and a " high end restaurant" with cats!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Liana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Liana V.

I would like to apologize once again about the presence of cats around the property. As we explained to you during your stay, Saint Martin and Sint Maarten Deutsch side are “Cats friendly” and there are many local associations fighting for their protection. The few cats we have around the hotel are all vaccinated and sterilized, tagged and protected by these associations. Please accept all my apologies if they ruined your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just got back from 5 nites of bliss at La Samanna. The most beautiful setting of any beach hotel I have ever stayed at with a long beach with hardly anyone there overlooking the island of Saba with sunsets directly in front every nite. The service is incredible with a "whatever you need" attitude. Yoann on the beach made it even more special with service above and beyond as well as the rest of the beach guys when they took care of us. Book a renovated room for sure. Trellis food as well as the beach bar was outstanding with great service as well. Spa was delightful along with a nice gym (if you can get away from the beach). Incredibly relaxing vacation. If you want high activity levels and lots of other people, this is not the place for you - if you want the most beautiful setting with high end service to relax and enjoy, there is no place better. Thanks to all the staff who treated us so kindly. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach for sure vs the cliff side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Dad527.


Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that the staff, the location and food was to your liking. As you have mentioned, we are truly blessed with our gorgeous beach and I am very glad that you were able to enjoy it all. La Samanna is a very relaxing place and you are right to say that most of our guest come to the resort to just do nothing and relax. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and can be rated as one of the top hotels in the world. The grounds are magnificent and the bungalows breathtaking. They are updated with all the comfortable features of home. The beach is private and sand like cushions under your feet. Why try someplace else when you have perfection here.... More

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lumbi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Lumbi J.


All is said! Thank you so much for your review and I do hope we will welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here over the 4th of July holiday and cannot express how much we love this property. The service is top notch as soon as you drive through the gates, the restaurant is great, and the beach is stunning. We had intentions to explore other parts of the island, but just couldn't get ourselves to leave the hotel. Finally, on our last day we decided to eat dinner north of the hotel.

Overall, the rooms are done very well especially considering the humid outdoor weather. Our bathroom was well appointed and our room was equipped with a hot tub just outside our patio. My only critiques are that the gym and tennis courts could use a little upgrading, but we enjoyed both on numerous occasions during our stay. This was our first Orient-Express experience and I would recommend their hotels and experiences to anyone. Great work, La Samanna.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Camsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Camsen.


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to read that you had a fabulous time. Thank you for sharing your point of view regarding the Fitness center and the Tennis courts. The Tennis has been redone this summer with new nets and new fancing. The Fitness center still has 3 different styles floor in the 3 rooms but the equipment is top notch from the best quality for an optimum workout. I hope you will be able to check this by yourself when you will be back, maybe soon, at La Samanna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook,NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We just returned from a week at La Samanna. . We had planned many day trips to the beautiful beaches on the Island as well as several "well recommended" restaurants off the property. HOWEVER we never left! The beach here is spectacular and has the most magnificent views of the sunset...We looked forward to our HAPPY HOUR on the deck by the pool to watch the sunset every night
The service, the food , staff and the accommodations were amazing! Dinner in the Cave was exceptional
The somolier was so knowledgeable and pared every course with the MOST perfect wine
The Breakfast buffet was beyond any I have seen before.
A week of luxury living pure relaxation Paradise found ! can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Lucysk.

Many thanks for your review. I am so happy to read that you found that our food, location and service all lived up to your expectations. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Property: Belmond La Samanna
Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Belmond, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing