We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel in Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in Penang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Family of four stayed here in October 2013. The staff were extremely helpful & professional. The accommodation was 2 bedrooms, 2 bath, large balcony with plenty of chairs & table on 19th floor. Sea view. We were able to leave our rental car there on our return to airport for journey home. It represented extremely good value. Plenty to eat at breakfast which was included . Recommended for families.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    317
    194
    68
    52
See reviews for
230
239
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is our third stay at Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort; our first visit was for three months, our second visit was for one month, and our current visit is for five weeks.

We book a one-bedroom suite which offers a huge amount of space for your money; large lounge with dining area and kitchenette and balcony overlooking the beach, equally large bedroom with second balcony overlooking the beach, and bathroom with tub and over-bath shower.

The suite has a television with Cinemax channel included, fridge and small ice-box and tea/coffee making facilities. I believe that some suites have a hob ~ but not all; and dishes are by request. We generally take some melamine dishes and just prepare light snacks (salad, sandwiches etc.) in the room because food is so good and cheap in Penang that it's a waste of time and energy eating-in!

For best views, request a high floor facing Flamingo Hotel ~ rooms 2509 and 2511 are the best one-bedroom suites that the hotel has to offer!

The hotel has a laundry room where you can wash and dry your clothing (2 RM for machine token and this includes laundry detergent), a small gym, tennis court, pool and spa.

Breakfast offers some Western options but it trends more towards Asian food.

Located between Batu Ferringhi and George town, on an excellent bus route and with plenty of local eateries in the immediate area. Weekly bus passes can be purchased from the hotel concierge but taxi's are also pretty cheap.

Room Tip: For best views ask for for room 2509 or 2511
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RannochStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked this hotel upon my first trip to Penang and no problem encountered thus far when I reserved via their website. The hotel is situated along Tanjung Bungah beach which is a 15-20 mins cab ride to Georgetown, and I found the hotel facing a very nice sea view. I booked a deluxe studio king room during my stays and was given a room on high floors. Room is clean and spacious (as seen on my attached pics) with a good sea view from a balcony. There is a pool for some dip but it's always packed and crowded. As for the beach, it has a long and nice stretch of sand with calm and shallow waters, but I found the water not that appealing after all (it seems murky to me), with lots of water sports activities going on. Hungry?? I suggest to go to Georgetown hawker area instead to try the variety of Penang's local cuisines. Foods in the hotel are limited and nothing exceptional. You may find yourself become picky because of this.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have excellent sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILuvTravel713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We loved staying in this hotel. The room was large with a small kitchenette. Free water and newspaper is provided daily. The room comes with fast internet and free breakfast. The breakfast was available between 6:30 and 10:30. The breakfast variety was great and included a noodle bar, conjee (Chinese rice porridge) and some western dishes (French toast, crumpets, baked beans, croissants). The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to assist us. The tour-operator located in the lobby was excellent and we went on a tour within ten minutes of speaking to them! They provided good advise on places to visit. The hotel is located near a bus stop, but also offers a free shuttle. Internet was fast and free.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabihah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Last month, we checked in a deluxe studio suite. The room was quite nice but the tap water was smelly (after we cooked the water and drank it), the matter getting serious at night as it turned yellowish and rusty. We complained to the night shift manager, but her moves are sluggish she couldn't make a good compensation for our health and physical damages. The day shift manager named Chistine came on the next day. She gave a sincere apology and offer us to stay one more night in Deluxe family suite with one extra bed and breakfast. The room was quite spacious with clean tap water and the sea view was so great. We feel satisfied with her kind and generous attitude.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kean727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Room was quite spacious but smells when we first got in. Should improve in the Parking area as the space was limited. sea View was amazing. Food was moderate. Pool was packed. The beach was clean and crowded. Water sports available. Lots of activities going on at the beach. The sea waves not so strong, suitable for kids to play on the beach.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I booked via agoda.. Hotel couldnt find my registration. Took about an hour. Then the receiptionist gave me a room.
I go for lunch 1st then i went to the hotel..
When i open the door, very suprising. A man without cloth sleeping at my bed. I go again to the counter n tell the manager. The manager seems like not guilty n even not say sorry at all.
She change my room n said mybe the receptionist wrongly duplicate the access card.n give it to other cust. What the ($$&@(??

Then i go for another room.. After 10minutes in the new room, i saw a rain inside the room.. All the furniture getting wet. The aircond leaking!!! Carpet n the curtain..
I call the manager.. She said the maintanance crew will coming to fix it. Again??
I ask for room changing.. But the manager refused.
I waited around 20minutes for he come n another 20minutes fix the problem..
I came here with my kid to relax.. Very poor service..will not come again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anneply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Bungah hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
2.7 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Address: 527 Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia (Formerly Paradise Sandy Beach Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at Tanjung Bungah, this 4-star resort is just 45minutes away from the Penang International Airport. Its tastefully decorated 315 suites are perfect for business traveller, leisure holiday or family vacation. All suites are fully air-conditioned, equipped with coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer, IDD Telephone, 32 inch LCD screen TV, WI-FI in the room, mini fridge and in-room safe. Kitchenette facilities are available at cost upon request. The Breeze Cafe and Gaya’s Beach Side Bar & Restaurant, overlooking the sea, offers local & western cuisine, and a fully stocked bar for you to enjoy while you watch the sunset. An array of sea-sports, including parasailing, boat rides and jet skis are also available at the beach front. For the more adventurous who wish to explore the vicinity of the resort, the heritage city of Georgetown is only 20 minutes away, while a host of entertainment and night spots are just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sandy Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Paradise Sandy Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort Penang/Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing