We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value Penang option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The paradise beach is a difficult resort to review fairly. This is my second visit in 5 years.
Very little has changed in that time. A bit of paint, new tv,s but not much more. The location is good if you are in Penang for 5 days or more. It is about 10 to 15 mins from Batu ferringhi by bus and 20 to 45 to komtar depending on traffic conditions. Gurney is about 10 to 15 mins by bus. If you hire acar it is much quicker. If you are after late night action choose a different venue to tanjung bungah.The beach is ok but poor water quality. There are several ok restaurants within 5 min walk. We can recommend the Indian across the road and the German as good value. The food we had at the hotel restaurant was a fair price fishy cooked and tasty.
The rooms are very large forthe price you pay. We had a good sea view from the 19th floor. The bed was hardship but comfortable enough with good pillows. Our shower was hot and good pressure. The air conditioning excellent. With a separate lounge area there is plenty of space. Breakfast is adequate with the usual mix of Asian and western fare without the bacon. It does not change much but there is an adequate selection. Wifi is free but only available in the lobby. The pool area is pleasant but only caters for 20 pr so on the lounges and a few more on the beach. At 70$ the hotel is excellent value.
The only hassle is if you are there in the Malaysian school holidays and most weekends when the hordes descend on the hotel. The adequate facilities are swamped, the pool area is too small then and the beach is taken over for corporate or family games. So if you are after a quiet time then try to mis the weekends!
Overall if lu ky you will have avert pleasant experience a very fair price.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher level room that is facing the sea for excellent views?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 788 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

There is a fantastic sea view. Old hotel but clean. Urgently needs to refurbish to complete with the others. Price is decent. About 70USD but parking is a nightmare. Staffs are OK but slow due to huge amount of customers checking in and out and making enquiries. They should increase counter staffs. Pool is nice and excess to the beach is great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takashi_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my family during the hari raya holidays around Aug 19th. .Booked 2 rooms with seaview through agoda which cost RM500. The rooms were very big with kitchenete and you can get a very good view from the balcony. Staff were very friendly. They also have a jewellery shop which sells gems from sri lanka. I paid RM20 for a fried rice which is reasonable for hotel standards. Across the road opposite the hotel is an indian restaurant which has nice indian and western food where you can get nice tea. The night market is 15 minutes away from this hotel at batu ferringi.There is shuttle service provided by the hotel at specific time to the city. The only setback with this hotel was the parking. Because it was 4 days pubic holiday in malaysa the hotel was packed and there they had such limited parking that we could not find a place to park. The parking attendants advised us to park across the road which we refuse. Finally we had to park at flamingo hotel which was just beside this hotel. I would stay in this hotel again but not during peak season.

Room Tip: request for seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nermala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel is dated. Old but well maintained. Staff polite but not friendly. Restaurant food a disaster. Overpriced and tasteless food. Rooms nice and all with good sea views. But there is absolutely nothing of any interest in the area and one might as well be on a desert island after sundown. In other words the location is the worst possible. If sleep is what one needs then this is the perfect place

Room Tip: All rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickmoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me,my wife and our teenage daughter had a good time in this resort.
We check in on 12/08/2012 and stay there for 3 days 2 nights. The staff was friendly and easy check in.
Wow as I went into my Seaview Suite , the room was so large and it can accomodate about 10 peoples easily. It has a kitchenete area and a hall with sofa and dining table and also balcony facing the sea. In our room too had a balcony and the bedroom was just perfect and it seems like my home.
I can't find any thing to complaint about.
And the pool was nice and with greens surrounding. Me and my daughter had a good time at the beach and they do have a lots of seasport activities. Me and my daughter tried the jetski and we both have a good time.
And one thing you must not miss is the Indian Shop just opposite the resort. They served a marvelous typical indian cusine and delicious of curries which you will never even imagine that they have it.
Don't forget to try their Masala Thosai! I did have it and its fanstatic.
I will be coming to Penang again and I will be staying in this resort again. Just like home Sweet home.

Room Tip: Try the Rainbow Paradise Suite Room...its spacious, clean and confort..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Set half way between Batu Ferringhi and Georgetown it is close to everything and totally accessible by public bus or hotel shuttle. Rooms are large with a beautiful outlook over the beach. Lots of local eating places in walking distance, also a local market. The staff are very friendly and helpful and welcoming and make you feel at home. We are returning next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have good views and are large, we prefer rooms with separate lounge and bedroom, but even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A functional hotel that needs sprucing up.

Good points:
1) The hotel is by the beach and it is not a crowded beach.
2) All rooms are sea-facing.
3) It is not too far from Gurney Drive.

Points to improve on:
1) It is somewhat run down and in need of upgrading. The air-conditioning was leaking when we were there. The cupboards are old and creaky.
2) The breakfast buffet needs improvement (lunch and dinner were fine).
3) We used the meeting rooms below the convention hall and they smelled terribly of mold. An air sanitizer had to be put in to dispel the odour.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyJourneys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 2 in Tanjung Tokong
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 527 Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia (Formerly Paradise Sandy Beach Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $43 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at Tanjung Bungah, this 4-star resort is just 45minutes away from the Penang International Airport. Its tastefully decorated 315 suites are perfect for business traveller, leisure holiday or family vacation. All suites are fully air-conditioned, equipped with coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer, IDD Telephone, 32 inch LCD screen TV, WI-FI in the room, mini fridge and in-room safe. Kitchenette facilities are available at cost upon request. The Breeze Cafe and Gaya’s Beach Side Bar & Restaurant, overlooking the sea, offers local & western cuisine, and a fully stocked bar for you to enjoy while you watch the sunset. An array of sea-sports, including parasailing, boat rides and jet skis are also available at the beach front. For the more adventurous who wish to explore the vicinity of the resort, the heritage city of Georgetown is only 20 minutes away, while a host of entertainment and night spots are just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sandy Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Paradise Sandy Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort Penang/Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing