We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at Paradise Sandy Beach for 4 nights - arrived at 11am, and were offered a welcome drink while the room was being finalised - about 20 minutes, which gave us a chance to look around the pool/beach area.
We were on the 25th floor in a deluxe room - which was located on the beach side of the hotel - great view and a huge balcony. The room was gigantic and very comfortable.
PR lady was great and helped us out with Tourist Bus Tickets and advice. Bus stops out the front to got to Georgetown (about 40 minutes) and Batu Ferrangi (about 15 minutes). Buses are easy to get around on, which we did for the entire time - NO taxi's.
Didn't spend much time at pool as it rained every afternoon, but it looked nice.
We did a fishing tour organised by the hotel - nice way to spend a few hours, however hubby would've liked a little longer fishing and not so much time on Monkey Island!
Excellent Indian restaurant across the road.
Only negative, not a lot of restaurants close by - either have to eat at resort (which we never do) or go into Georgetown of BF. We did catch bus to BF 2 nights for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimandAndrew06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 783 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night only. The first thing you notice when entering the room is the space. The room is spacious, luxuriously decorated and clean. There is a balcony for you to enjoy the view of the sandy beach. It is near to other hotels as well. The nearest attraction will be The Toy Museum (just a 5-minute walk only) and Floating Mosque. What I like about the hotel is its location - not that far from the town and yet not too near (or in the town itself). The buffet breakfast is okay. Just one very minor problem that I have experienced is about the lift. Since I stayed on the 25th floor (yes, the highest floor), sometimes the elevator was kind of late in arriving, but it was okay that they provided chairs for the hotel guests while waiting. definitely will stay here again in the future

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hasreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel was a lot bigger than I expected. The rooms are spacious and nice, all have a balcony that gives you a nice view on the beach and the sea. Considering the number of guests the pool is a bit on the small side. I haven't used the pool because there were a lot of young children in it, all accompanied by one or two parents who sat fully dressed on the side of the pool. Still, it was a nice place for a couple of drinks at the pool bar.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaasmeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Well this hotel, on paper seemed to be a good choice, especially with the good deal I got from Expedia ( 4 nights with breakfast at 420 euros). However on arriving you see that the hotel is in need of an overhaul. The hotel is clean but with an "old feel" about it. We took a deluxe suite, which was big, but the furniture and fixture and fittings were old and worn. The kitchen was quite useless without any cooking utensils, but it didn't bother us we had no use for the it. The staff did their best, but there was a lack of basic skills, it seemed as though they really didn't have a clue what good service is. However the staff were friendly. The pool is nice but for the size of hotel it is too small, when the hotel fills up with guests the pool is overcrowded and there are not enough sunbeds either poolside or on the beach. We never ate at the restaurant, because across the road there is a fantastic Indian restaurant which is very very cheap. A word of warning, the Paradise really fills up on weekends with families, so if you don't want a load of screaming kids in the pool area, wou should avoid coming here over the weekend. If I was to visit Penang again I would probably not come back to this hotel, but if you a looking for a very basic beach resort with no frills the Paradise is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flint_piggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at this resort for two days one night. The resort is quite out of the way if you want to go to Georgetown. There is nothing much nearby. The hotel room has a nice balcony where you could have a nice view of the surrounding. The chef at the restaurant is very friendly and provide excellent service when he served us during dinner. We all love the nasi lemak at the breakfast buffet. Overall, I am quite happy with my stay as I do not expect much activities in the first place. I enjoyed my peaceful moment while sipping my cup of tea at the balcony area.

We would also like to compliment Mr. Roslan from the hotel tour operator who has been professional, and take great consideration for the needs of the elderly. He has been our driver throughout our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valleyveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

One of the best hotels I've ever visited with my family. we were 6 adults accompanying 2 children, and I can assure you we really never felt bored during the whole time spent there. Loved the beach side, but the swimming pool can be a little more spacious as you are accommodating a lot of guests at a time. the indian restaurant in front of the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MORSHEDULMANNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived at this hotel yesterday afternoon and have had problem after problem.. I don't know where to start. The first impression upon walking into our room was that it was so poorly furnished. The bedroom is ok (except we got 2 single beds instead of a double and they were unable to provide any alternative) but the living room has a white tiled floor that looks and feels like a bathroom. The sofa is actually a really hard chair and is stained... sat down and promptly stood up again. The TV (which we never use) is small and looks so old I'm surprised it works (although we never tested it so maybe it doesn't!!). But the kitchen was the big one for us, since we only chose to stay here because of the self-catering facilities (long term travelers so occasionally we really crave a home cooked meal). The "kitchen" consists of a bench and a sink, nothing more. Not one single utensil and no stove to cook on. Several calls to reception brought some forks and spoons but nothing more. Apparently everything else is chargeable. Sorry, but when a room is advertised as having a kitchen that really does mean it has cooking facilities, otherwise all it has is a sink, which is no use to anyone unless you can cook.

The real trouble started however when we tried to connect to the internet and it didn't work. This was when we discovered that the service here is TERRIBLE. Rude, incompetant, totally off. My usually quite and smiling husband was beside himself and hearing him deal with reception over the phone last night provided me with the best laugh I've had in ages. Without going into the details, let's just say that it took over 24 hours to get connected and that we endured accusations that it was our fault, suggestions that we didn't really need internet, etc etc... Really bad. They did actually concede in the end that it was all their fault and a fruit platter just arrived at our door as an apology but the damage is done.

The good point about this place is the view - we can see both the sea and a hill with lots of green, which is nice. The spa is expensive so best to go elsewhere. Haven't found the beach yet due to all the internet problems (really need this for business), but it appears to be just in front of the hotel.

We will extend our stay here because we no longer have the energy to change hotels but next time we'll look elsewhere. At this price point for Malaysia, the value is not there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beroccstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,087 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 2 in Tanjung Tokong
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 527 Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia (Formerly Paradise Sandy Beach Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $41 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at Tanjung Bungah, this 4-star resort is just 45minutes away from the Penang International Airport. Its tastefully decorated 315 suites are perfect for business traveller, leisure holiday or family vacation. All suites are fully air-conditioned, equipped with coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer, IDD Telephone, 32 inch LCD screen TV, WI-FI in the room, mini fridge and in-room safe. Kitchenette facilities are available at cost upon request. The Breeze Cafe and Gaya’s Beach Side Bar & Restaurant, overlooking the sea, offers local & western cuisine, and a fully stocked bar for you to enjoy while you watch the sunset. An array of sea-sports, including parasailing, boat rides and jet skis are also available at the beach front. For the more adventurous who wish to explore the vicinity of the resort, the heritage city of Georgetown is only 20 minutes away, while a host of entertainment and night spots are just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sandy Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Paradise Sandy Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort Penang/Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing