We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveler rating
97
272
274
130
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
97
272
274
130
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night market george town free shuttle indian restaurant facing the sea georgetown batu bus poolside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 889 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2020

location is just nice as it is located in between georgetown and batu feringgi... food paradise and beach in just 20 minutes away. there are a few nice stalls nearby where u can enjoy local delights. breakfast buffet was also good. nice and quiet beach as well. certainly come back... but room furniture definitely need to be upgrade, and if u need to iron, u need to go to floor 15 and 11 as they dont provide ironing facilities in room..

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nsulai831077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Penang, Marcom at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Thank you very much for your ratings and your review is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the hotel, and we do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Overall experience is ok, nice sea view from balcony, nice pool, great breakfast, overall cleanliness acceptable but can do better.

If the hotel seriously want to get more visitors , please refurbish the run down furnitures and ceiling.

Room tip: Superior room
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Khairul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Penang, Marcom at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Thank you very much for your ratings and your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our sincere apologies on this matter and your feedback has been channeled to relevant departments for rectification. We do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

We stayed here 20 years ago and this year we wanted to come back. It's a bit old, run down, but still really nice and clean. The staff is so kind, polite and helpful. Bathrooms need renovations and some new mattresses would be nice. Swimming pool area a bit boring, but nice sea view, and quiet. Across the street there is a small foodcourt and a few supermarkets. About 20 min drive to batu ferringi and Georgetown.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank daf1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Penang, Marcom at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you very much for your ratings and your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our sincere apologies on this matter and your feedback has been channeled to relevant departments for rectification. We do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Before I begin, the manager and staff cannot do enough and none of what I’m about to say should reflect on them.

I felt forced to leave and find another hotel and the manager offered a full refund, for which I am grateful.

There is no animosity in this just common sense. The hotel needs to close, renovate and start again. The Copthorne group needs to listen and respond. I cannot be alone in my criticism. The advertisement for the hotel should reflect these issues otherwise holidaymakers, perhaps who feel they cannot complain or move, silently accept the conditions.

The private beach is secluded but has no facilities, no sun beds, no shade, no toilet, no bar. The pool has no bar and never any staff nearby to ask for “room” service. The cafe is closed all day. The spa is closed. The walkway to the beach is like a building site. Bags of concrete on the beach. Broken fitments in the room. Shabby, stained and badly repaired carpets. Stained bath. Overgrown roofs. Unattended gardens. No soundproofing in the rooms. The garden overlooking the beach...closed despite posters in the lift advertising this as a lush green space for sunbathing. Broken sunbeds...and very few at that. Breakfast was okay, if a little chaotic, but pastries and pancakes were poor.

The pool is good, mostly quiet through the day and clean. If you can turn a blind eye to the dilapidation there’s nothing wrong with the hotel per se but there are better options to be had nearby.

I thank the hotel for their understanding and appreciate the difficult position they are in when it comes to complaints. Head office needs to act.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank harryzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Penang, Marcom at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Thank you very much Mr. Harry for your ratings and your feedback comments is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our sincere apologies on this matter and your feedback has been channeled to relevant departments and management for rectification. Our hotel is in the midst of upgrading by stages. We do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon Mr. Harry.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019

In a superior room, which I booked for my family had dead bugs all over the walls and mold in fair few places. There are much nicer hotels in the area within the same price range. Avoid this one at all cost!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Penang, Marcom at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2019

Thank you very much Mr. David for your ratings and your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our sincere apologies on this matter and your feedback has been channeled to relevant departments for rectification. We do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews