We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveler rating
100
274
273
130
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
100
274
273
130
116
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 893 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is completely and utterly neglected, and in desperate need of a manager or refurbishment. It looks like maintenance hasn’t done anything over the last 15 years. The general impression is old and dated - just like other Copthorne Hotels I must say. Paint job is horrendous inside out, the restaurant furniture is old and damaged, pool area is rotten. Aircon in the room sounds like a jet engine, furniture is old, damaged and scruffy, no furniture on the balcony, TV reception very poor, bathroom standards are unbelievable, no international power plugs - just like in the 70s.

Don’t go near that place, with all the new development in town there are better options available for a better price.

I must say staff was nice and helpful, even the breakfast food quality was good - presentation and ambience nowhere near a 4 star hotel though.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank liamspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Copthorne_Penang, Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Thank you very much for your wonderful ratings and your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our sincere apologies on this matter and your feedback has been channeled to relevant departments for rectification. Our hotel is in the midst of upgrading by stages. We do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel after reading some of the reviews. The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to help. Our room was very spacious and had a sea view. I think all rooms have sea view. I did not find it shabby at all. It was very clean and comfortable. Their is a kettle, fridge and hair dryer. Complimentary bottles of water and tea/coffee are provided each day. The pool is lovely. We had it to ourselves most days, as most guests did not use it. Hotel location is good. It is opposite bus stops where you can get very cheap buses to Batu Ferringhi and George Town. We also went on tours of the island with Jay, a taxi driver outside the hotel. We hired him for 4-5 hours for a very reasonable price and he showed us the sites. He was very knowledgeable and took us on some great tours. There are several shops and restaurants near the hotel. The best Indian restaurant in Penang is a short walk across the road. We stayed at the hotel for 11 days and really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank JUDE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Copthorne_Penang, Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Thank you very much for your ratings and your review is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the hotel, and we do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

Partially inspired by the Millenium brand, some possible Photoshopping, a pool and the mention of the sea's apparent proximity to Georgetown I booked this place. The welcoming staff were fine but the pre-loved or presently ambiguous hotel is a bit of a let down. Though it's nice to have a sea view the place is more reminiscent of an abandoned state housing project coupled with a confused and mediocre catering school.

Not that the many staff festooning the hotel's entrance will let you know, there is to the right of the driveway a pedestrian pathway which will enable one over the road more safely in order to buy affordable drinks and food. The 800% markup at the hotel is just over the top.

While it's nice to have a sea view, the rooms aren't that recommendable. The carpet is sticky and stained, taps partially broken, the bathroom's floor leaks a bit after using the toilet, paint and plaster work dodgy and the beds definitely feel slept in.

The pool, oh the pool. I popped down to see it shortly after arriving and was met by confused 'restaurant' staff who gave me insane directions to get to it even though it was just outside the restaurant windows. Finally they let me use a door in the restaurant and I could see that it was closed. What are the opening hours? None of te restaurant staff could answer.

The free breakfast was okay although the coffee ran out and was replaced with some tepid stuff. and the small array of fruit looked tired at best. The pool was open and a staff member uselessly waved at crows which didn't even dare eat the leftovers from by the pool breakfast eaters.

The rigmarole of what men and women can wear in the swimming pool takes some reading from both the poolside and the in room literature. There went my plan to jump in with sports shorts and a vest. For women bikinis or T-shirts aren't allowed though a one piece is. "Suitable Muslim swimming attire is available at our Convenience Store at Level 7"

The private beach, accessible via a floor insecure elevator is even more hilarious with no life guards and warnings of dangerous jellyfish and how to treat their stings. Dang, forgot to pack vinegar and wit the at least 800% mark up on basic prices here, how would one get some in an emergency?

If you are new to Penng one might wish to overlook the hotel's blurb and dutifully note that Georgetown may take an hour to get to by bus and significantly longer by walking. Refusing overt to almost aggressive suggestions from a grinning concierge / gate staff member to get a taxi to the city area at a 'special rate' I decided to walk. I never like that feeling of someone taking advantage of a hotel guest just because they don't know the area. Admittedly if I'd known that there was a bus stop barely 100 meres to the right, I wouldn't have walked. I walked until just after Batu Burst Flats, opposite The Island Mall and got a bus back for 120 Ringit.

To forgive this place for riding on the back of an otherwise exceptional hotel chain, one could just pretend one is camping and appreciate the difference that free wifi makes. Bring your mosquito repellent all the same.

Room tip: There is a notice dated from April 2019 for guests to bear with the maintenance of the hotel so that it can be the best in Penang.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
2  Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Copthorne_Penang, Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Thank you very much for your ratings and your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our sincere apologies on this matter and your feedback has been channeled to relevant departments for rectification. We do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

Firstly extremely friendly and helpful staffs, F&B was fab, our hotel room facing the sea is another nice eperience. The beach front is so close to comfort with swimming pool overlooking the sea and we have great family time. Hotel is close by to many eateries and local transport. My fav place of all time

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Quest38378699960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Copthorne_Penang, Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Thank you very much for your ratings and your review is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the hotel, and we do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

The services not comparable to the price. The beach opening is a sham as it is a small patch open for a particular duration everyday. Batu ferringhi is a better beach compared to tanjong beach. The central AC was too cold and even affected the room temperature even after you switched off the room AC

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank tanvisaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Copthorne_Penang, Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Thank you very much for your ratings and your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our sincere apologies on this matter and your feedback has been channeled to relevant departments for rectification. We do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews