We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Nearby Hotels
$67
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$35
$28
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points by Sheraton Penang(Tanjung Bungah)(Great Value!)
$81
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Naza Hotel(George Town)
$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seriental Hotel(Tanjung Tokong)
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Straits Quay Suites(George Town)
$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
85
250
251
107
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
250
251
107
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketterrace blockbulgarian restaurantgeorge townfree shuttlehalf waythe hotel offerssea facing roomnice beachpool sidedeluxe roombuffet breakfastwater sportspenang islandbatubustaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
626 - 631 of 799 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in non-smoking sea view standard room. The room is spacious and clean. Cleanliness is the most concerned.The hotel staffs are very cheerful, helpful and friendly. The hotel provides free shuttle bus to Batu Ferringi Night Market, on first come first serve basic. The buffet breakfast was average, but very convenient when waking up with an empty stomach. We enjoyed this trip for shopping, eating Penang local food at hawker centre along the road of the hotel and beach activities.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplover2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

After staying in Singapore in a 3 star hotel, was hoping we would at least have the same experience in this hotel, unfortunately we were sadly disappointed. After checking in we thought we would see what the bed was like, the floor felt softer than the bed! We had a sea facing room, nothing to get too excited about, had more of a view of the building next door than the sea. The beach is non-existant, just like the gym. Free Internet access in the restaurant and pool was great. Staff were nice and very helpful. The location of the hotel was not the greatest, but the hotel shuttle bus was very helpful dropping us off to major shopping centres and the Batu Ferringhi night market. Overall I'd choose a different hotel when staying in Penang.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I chose the Copthorn Orchid because I needed to be at Tanjung Pinang where my friends live. I am happy with my choice as I was given a room with a sea view that was clean, of a good size and relatively quiet. Only drawback was the bathtub that was seriously peeling. Air con couldn't be controllled.
We spent 3 nights there, no breakfast as the prices were steep (plus I've read bad reviews about it) and Penang has loads of eating places anyway. But still the stay was good value for money.
The hotel has a pool with a view of the sea and there was a gym next to it. The pool attendant was very friendly but the hotel policy of giving out only 2 towels per room was unhelpful when you have 2 children with you making you 4.
Staff in the hotel was friendly and helpful, starting from the Indian guy who helped you with your luggage (he looked like he really enjoyed his work) to the efficient receptionist.
I didn't get to use the shuttle service but you'll need it as the hotel's between town and the touristic parts further uphill. There didn't seem to be any reliable public transportation service around and I guess that you'll need taxis in order to move around.
I admit that I was a little uncomfortable seeing quite a number of Arab guests in the same hotel with the females all covered from head to toe. You see their husbands googling at white women at the pool while they sat around in the heat and humidity all covered up - and you wonder if under the whole black cloth it really hides a female - you never know. For everybody's safety nowadays, I thought nobody should be allowed to cover their face.
Otherwise, I would be most happy to return to this hotel if I should visit Penang again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petales88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

this hotel is old and rundown and looks nothing like the pictures. the pool is pathetic but wait till you see the "promising" beach. the beach is not right there...you got to navigate to get to it and you find a patch that looks pathetic. Our baby cot came with a layer of dust and dirt on top of it, the room key broke while we try to open the door, the toilet flush was broken and we had to lift the cover and use our hand to pull the flush from inside. The lcoation was neither near Batu Ferrighi nor Georgetown, you couldn't walk to either, takes a taxi which cost $18-$25 depending where. the hote ferry was always booked and the hotel taxi overcharges. the staff were nice and refunded us...we ran the very next day. It promised a resort hotel but it looks more like a city hotel with a patch of pathetic beach. The room had been closed for so long it had an awful damp old wood smell. It was horrible. The free buffet looks exciting at first with a huge spread but it is mainly cooked food and asian food like rice and noodles; nothing had taste in it, not the eggs, the bread, croissants, the butter was even spoilt.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foiegrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stayed in the Copthorne Penang for 3 nights in August. The first thing people notice when booking in this hotel is its seafront location coupled with the relatively cheap prices for rooms. These are the same factors that lured me to trying this place out for our trip to Penang.

After staying here, I could say that you do get your money's worth. But that's not saying it all too nicely. Location-wise, the hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes drive from Georgetown. For about US$47/ night, we got reasonably clean rooms, though ones that have seen better days. The hallways smell damp. The bathrooms are old and mouldy, and the room furnishings are relatively worn. Two complimentary bottles of water are provided daily. While the hotel provides the standard shampoo and bath gel, toothbrush kits are nowhere to be found. The TV channels are extremely limited. With just 10 channels, they don't seem to have cable TV.

The hotel charges RM30 for a buffet breakfast that has a very limited selection. The food itself is not up to par with hotels elsewhere. Internet connection is available free of charge in the restaurant and pool area via Wifi. Internet in the room is chargeable. The small room which they call the fitness center - which consists of just 3 equipments and a few dumbbells - is a joke.

On the positive side, you do get the sea view as promised, and it's a great view at that. Guests can also walk to the sandy beaches if they wish, although as is the case throughout Penang, there won't be clear blue waters.

Though the hotel is certainly more than liveable, there are definitely other better hotels in Penang. I would consider staying elsewhere if I get the chance to visit Penang again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Event, Revenue Analyst at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2009

We are appreciated with the feedback from you. The hotel hallway is being clean daily and freshener being sprayed daily. The bathroom is with old tiles but it is clean; the room furnishings are old but all well maintain as well. All rooms are with satellite TV channels and in-house movies. The hotel serves breakfast with 27 items including 6 western main dishes and 5 local main dishes, which is value for money for the selling price.
We are regrets to hear that our facilities and service are not up to your expectation. We would appreciate if you can give us another chance to serve you better. Thank you for your sharing on the experience and we would definitely improve on the areas that you have highlighted. Thank you again and hope to have another chance to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews