We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveler rating
90
260
264
116
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
260
264
116
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night market free shuttle george town buffet breakfast sea batu bus
Filter
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 839 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

- Property is very tired and long overdue for renovation.
- The lobby was in a recess area and had to take the stairway which can be tiring if you have lots
of luggage. On time of arrival there was no bellman to be seen.
- Food spread was nothing to shout about. Can be considered basic.

Room tip: Opt for the seaview room
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musyasoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel needs to be knocked down or completely renovated. It is not worth the money they are charging on booking.com. We stayed during the Vesak long weekend, when it was overrun by Malay church groups who made our stay unenjoyable by their disregard for other hotel guests.The hotel is literally falling apart and the staff are doing their best to keep it clean but its way beyond possible. TV's and powerpoints in room don't work, bed hard. It was so bad that it was funny! The views over abandoned construction sites and tennis courts to a litter strewn ocean are just terrible. You would have a better time staying at home. The facilities such as the pool and spa are so horrible that we didn't use them. On the positive side, the staff were lovely and we felt so bad for them that Copthorne has not invested any money in the hotel.. This hotel does not cater for Westerners at all and the reviewers on booking.com probably are not international travellers. Stay somewhere else, like one of the boutique hotels cropping up in Georgetown. Actually, Penang is not a destination I would recommend at all. Go to Langkawi instead.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgainhunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I assumed that with the Millennium Group badge the hotel would be superb but in the end it turned out to be a massive disappointment. I don't mind if the rooms are old or old fashioned with prehistoric age of bedside buttons and everything but the maintenance is truly needed. The bathroom ceiling is falling apart, power plugs either giving out sparks or not working, plus the rooms has a weird kind of fermented smell. Some more the room rates is high. Sigh.. enough said...

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VOOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am writing this review while currently staying at the hotel and it really is NOT a bad hotel. It's good given the price that you pay. The hotel is big and quite old -- but is very well maintained. They have obviously lowered their price to attract more people because the property is indeed older than the ones around it, but that also makes it a good bargain. The carpets, the aircon vents and the bathroom are very clean. I would have had a major allergy attack every day if they were not. The housekeeping are currently cleaning my room as I am typing this and I noticed that they have changed the sheets every single day of my stay here. That's great! The staff also try their best to please and they are professional.

The hotel is actually well-located. Just 15 minutes away from Batu Ferringhi on the right and 15 minutes away (or less actually) to Georgetown on the left. And I must say that the wifi is very good and fast. And it comes with your room.

For food, If you cross the street and go up the hill, you see a residential area with a hawker's center that the local residents patron and sells good food during breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are also a bunch of good up scale restaurants nearer the convenience store such as a Bulgarian restaurant and a SUPER GOOD Thai restaurant just right after the Petron station (across the street, up the hill at the back row) named Chook Dii. If you are looking for a hotel that is no heavy on the wallet, this would be a good choice. I am coming back to this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelinaKyle888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked through agoda, arrived at 3 after bus travel from KL.
Front foyer and reception looks great but don't get fooled by this.
Our room wasn't ready so had to wait an hour( was told 30mins?)..meanwhile kids tired if traveling and having finally found some space, were tearing the place out,...

Was given replacement rooms, checked it out- well, smelly, tired, unclean, broken switches, toilet not flushing, bed - bad, balcony door- cant open, so made the trip back to reception to request previous room, this was given, staff are very accommodating.
Well, 2nds rooms, can't open door as key is twisted!, same old story in the room, ran for it!!

Unable to contact agoda, so spoke to Amran- manager who was very patient and kind, and thankfully I will get my whole money bck, went down the street and booked another hotel at 4 times the price of this one but 10 times better this Corpthorne.

Don't be fooled by the world renowned Corpthorne brand, it is not 4 star, but only 1 star.

Other than friendly staff, nothing else here,...look elsewhere.., not recommended

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank aartika n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews