We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - bad experiences with Reception's Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Generally a very nice and clean hotel with a nice clean pool. Big spacious rooms and a nice view if your sea view room faces to the west or north.
Pool is nice, just the music is a bit too loud. They have access to a nice and quite clean stretch ob beach.
We, a group of three, stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the first 3 days stay in the rooms 1521 and 1522 a lot. Breakfast is good and suits western, Muslim and Asian, but lacks variety after a few days of stay.
Unfortunately we had two unpleasant experiences with the Reception's daytime Manager. First he obviously didn't know the difference between a personal and a traveler cheque. Stressing out his experience he didn't accept single traveler cheques but wanted to see the cheque book from which the cheque is torn out. (Traveler cheques are always loose and not in a book). He kept talking and talking about his experience without listening, eventually I had the chance to ask him to call a bank to learn better. Next day he notified us that he was wrong.
Second and really upsetting encounter was how he handled to change us to a new room after 3 nights. At 10 pm our air conditioning started pouring (not dripping) water. Our room was 1522, high floor, sea view as booked and guaranteed. However, they shoved us in room 612. Noise from neighboring hotel's air conditioning system and barely sea-view (watch the video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcpN2o5wX_0). We demanded to move to an adequate room to the one we had before and paid for.
First he said there is no room available. But on this day, a Monday, many guests had checked out and whole day and evening there were just a few guest at the pool and almost no guest to see in the restaurants or lobby bar unlike the previous days. So there must have been couple of adequate rooms available. After long discussion he had suddenly TWO suitable rooms for us to choose from.
In both encounters he continued to stress out his experience. He kept talking, never listening, interrupting, even arguing and thus complication the situation and not a single time he apologised for what happened. The whole endeavor lasted until midnight when a very kind bell boy showed us the two rooms to choose from. The bell boy Faizal dealt with us far better than the Reception Manager Mr H.
Next day after our day trip to Langkawi a Ms S. from the Hotel Management called and apologized for what happened and tried to make it up to us again.
Bottom line is, technical problems can happen that was never the issue but guests should never be shoved into an inferior room late at night and a Reception Manager should never handle a conversation with guests in such a way.
Otherwise and apart from these really upsetting encounters, the Flamingo is a very good choice for the location of Tanjung Bunga.

If you don't want to eat at the hotel every day there are food stalls up the road (toward Batu Ferringhi) and opposite. More restaurants (Thai, German, Bulgarian aso.) are 15 mins. walk eastwards. We tried on our last day the German Restaurant Ingolf's. What a surprise, food was good and the portions really plenty. The other days we either ate at the hotel's restaurants which were good and at the local food stall and a Chinese eatery about 15 minutes walk towards Batu Ferringhi next to a junction. All were pretty good.

For going out or sight-seeing I recommend Georgetown and a day trip to Langkawi.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryanhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 807 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2010

The hotel was newly renovated hence everything was clean and new.

My parents and I were allocated room 704 during our stay and check-in was a breeze. Both front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was a pleasant surprise. From our balcony, we had both hill and sea view and the pool was just below the room. Room was equipped with hairdryer, bath amenities, bedroom slippers and a safe. Free bottles of mineral water and coffee and tea sachets were replenished daily and not to mention the set of newspaper given. Breakfast had quite a above average choice but the food was average to me.

The pool was a delight and having the beach just a stairway away was a plus plus!!! The night band was just super. Overall, our stay in the hotel was a joy.

However, I would like to share with you our BAD experiences at: -

1. Oriental Seafood Restaurant at Gurney Drive - please avoid this restaurant at all cost! Food is just very average, in fact very salty and not to mentioned EXPENSIVE! Dining there was a BIG MISTAKE for us and they did not even bother to weigh and show us the weight of the crab that we were supposed to have and when we requested for them to show it to us, they just commented that they had already brought the crab into the kitchen to be slaughtered and... just for that 1 crab, it cost us RM325! And to top it all, it was not fresh and was badly cooked. We told the captain about it and he just mentioned he will check and disappeared!

2. Second place to avoid is Island Mall/plaza - 89% of the shops there are closed and have shifted away. Don't make a wasted trip there.

Despite the above, we still had a good holiday in Penang.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnlyBeloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This hotel has recently been refurbished. stayed for 3 nights after being bitterly disappointed at the so called 5star Shangri-la Rasa Sayang down the road with their heavy dark furniture and dark rooms. cancelled the booking at the Rasa and went on a 'Hotel Search'....LITERALLY...!! turned up at 1am after driving by the Flamingo and were STILL accommodated by the wonderful night manager ' Mr Hairi who was very patient with us and did his best to fully satisfy the long list of requirements my traveling partner had given..!!!

We ended up with a lovely 3bed suite completely overlooking the beach/sea. FANTASTIC views. Even the side rooms (which we were also shown) had good views of the sea. Hotel has live music every night. Good buffet breakfast. Helpful staff, A wonderful Spa and hairdressing salon, jet ski,parasailing,canoe rental right there on the beach.
The pool is large and inviting with pool bar and great decking, steps down to the sandy beach. Only downside is the warning of jellyfish in the water. not sure if this is just seasonal.
Having checked rooms etc at a number of hotels along the Battufringhe strip, I would Book THIS hotel over the shangri -la Rasa Sayang or Hard Rock every time, for great views, value for money, great staff, lovely Spa treatments. will definitely be back with the family next time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed 5 nights whilst waiting for the ash cloud to blow away. We booked it at the airport on arrival from HK for £40pn. The room with a hill view on the13th floor was excellent and very spacious as well as very clean, no chairs on the balcony though, very strange. Good buffet breakfast. Location in Tanjung Bungah was good and the narrow beach was directly accessed from the gardens, though as with many peninsula Malaysia beaches it was a bit scruffy and the sea very cloudy, we didn't venture in. The pool area was excellent, the kids loved it along with the small play house and swing. There were some good restaurants and cafe's over the road, Rooftop being our favourite, a good family run pizza place was further up the hill. We caught the bus to Batu Ferringhi for the night market but to be honest i was glad to get back as the place was riddled with traffic and was very scruffy. Georgetown is essential. The staff and tour desk were excellent, courteous and good fun. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NbyNWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Great hotel. Next to beach. Nice pool. Well lit rooms. Clean. Spacious. Worthy stay.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jv3nus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

I stayed here with my partner for a week, we found the service great. We did not bring our reservation details with us (i know!), so the receptionist allowed us to use there office PC and printer to print out :))...id obvious recommend you turn up with yours tho...

Bell boy was very nice and waited patiently while we did all the printing and helped us to our room.

Room is very nice. We stayed on the 13th floor in a sea view room. We had a 32" plasma TV, large king size bed and a nice clean bathroom with walkin shower (no bath). The room doesnt have carpet but with the heat all year round its more a pro than a con. The room also had air conditioning, a digital safe and was very spacious. For a standard sea view room i feel we got alot of value for our money. If i was to moan about something it would be the fact that there were only 6 coat hangers...not a big problem tho.. Room was cleaned when we came back up from breakfast.

Breakfast was very good, quite alot to choose from! I read on here from one reviewer that breakfast had 'no cheese' and another said there was no variety. You do have to remember that you are in Malaysia!! not the the west, there was fresh fruit, differnt types of breads to toast, butter, jam. I personally had chicken sausages, rice and chicken curry :) there was lots more types to choose from also!..perhaps you missed all that.

Cons?

The beach is not the best and the water merky.

The area is out the way and requires a bus ride to other places mentioned. You can however walk to a 7/11 store to buy water food etc

Wifi was patchy in the room (in the sense that you had to move your device to find a weak signal)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0hnnywishb0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Have recomend it for my friends and we really got value for our money. Bought it for RM140 (~£28)/night at the mattafair and normal price is around RM200 but still worth its price.
Only things that were missing are chairs&table on the balcony.
we´ll be back soon

Lars / Sweden

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orebrolars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,766 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 2 in Tanjung Tokong
276 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $46 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing