We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun,Beach and Sports at Flamingo,Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Alwaye, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Sun,Beach and Sports at Flamingo,Penang”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed at Flamingo by the beach alongwith my family members. We were a group of 68 and really enjoyed the hospitality of the group. The hotel had a very good spread for the Breakfast and was very conveniently located to Indian restaurants.We all enjoyed the nice setting of the property by the beach and which also gym,private beach and facilities for activities. It was fun to see almost all members going for paragliding, using water scooters as well as enjoying the their dip in the sea and the beautiful pool. They also gave us a venue for our get together during the tour, The upkeep of the room and view is also worth mentioning which makes this.property my favorite.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room...and you one with sea facing!!! trick
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayManadath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good time with us and do look forward to having you back soon.

Thank you
Best regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    255
    238
    104
    90
See reviews for
284
253
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

If you get your room for $70 AUD or less then its fine if you pay any more then try and get up to Batu Ferrangi or stay in George Town.

We stayed 5 nights got a cheap deal and basically got what we paid for:

- Large ocean front room
- Our room interconnected with a strangers room that we could get into his room but he couldnt get in to ours, told the hotel staff and the solution was to not go in to there room.... Ok then
-Bus stop at front door hotel will change your money for bus money.
-Pool nice but the entire place was packed with Saudi's swimming in Berkas. Being lould looking down on Aussies etc not the most welcoming feeling.
- Breakfast OK not suited for westerners as only bread or omelettes or fried eggand have to ask same person each day to cook the clear part of egg. Ok if included in your room rate but dont pay for it seperatley.
-Had a few power outages so had to leave hotel as to hot and lifts not working. This happens everywhere so not there fault.
-AC not that cold and not sure why had it cranked as high as it could go.
-View at sunset on balcony was pretty and a mosque up the road so it was very surrel to sit out and listen to the call to prayer while watching the sky change colours and the sun go down.
-Bar and lobby area was newly renovated and nice.
-Beach was pretty isolated a few jet skis etc but not as pretty as Aussie beaches.
-Never ate at the resturants but looked like good value for hotel prices.
-Staff overall ok nothing special but no bad service.
- Best Indian resturant across the road.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but probably wouldnt come back, over run by Saudi's, breakast not enticing BUT it is perfect to be right in the middle of Batu Farungi and Georgetown.

Next time I would stay in Batu Farangi as we enjoyed the food and shopping there better. Wouldnt care if we had beach front or not as we didnt spend time on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelivetravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. The proximity to the beach was why we chose to stay here - and in that it delivered 100%. The beach and pool were clean and well maintained. The hotel itself required something in our room fixed every day - which was thankfully done quickly. The elevators broke down at least once a day. Hope they can do some regular maintainance and make this hotel all it could be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjack2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us these feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on your next visit.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Thank you
Best regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Run away! This is NOT a 4 stars hotel. Customer service is an abstract notion. The hotel is old and need many reparations, even dirty. Everything you need will be charge (more coffee in your room ..), Naughty food, disapointing breakfast buffet, noisy and incorrect behavior of usual basic customers. Crap WiFi: very low and cut during the night, neighbour's hotel' wifi is more reachable! Mastercard system only works at the bar and even if your are still eating someone will come and ask you to follow him across the hotel to reach the good card reader system.. And back to your table another one would have clean your table! Unbelievable!
Swimming pool is nice, but need to be clean more often.
Where can I post pictures??

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FabcabFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Thank you
Best regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Bungah hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have a whole list of times to complain about but I am not sure if management will read it so maybe I will just stick to the basics.

The lifts have a life of their own. Enough said
The rooms have a smell (at least mine does)
The aircond also has its own life (at least mine does)
The breakfast is good for first day only. For subsequent days you realise why you should be eating across the street where there is a great roti canai outlet (forgot the name)

What's great:

Location. Fronting the beach
Rooms are actually quiet. Cannot hear my neigbours except in the bathroom
Views were pretty albeit my room had a truncated view
Staff were very friendly

So, for a beach resort and the pricing I was expecting something better. I stayed at the Flamingo because I had to attend classes at Dalat. Otherwise I may have picked the Evergreen laurel.

Room Tip: Don't go too high up in case the lifts breakdown
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CiviCSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking immediately.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Thank you
Best regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel is amongst the earliest hotel been build in Feringhi, Penang.

So its pretty sure that the maintenance of the hotel quite poor but still able to function well such as the elevator..(at least during my stay).

However during the dinner time, we was having a bit of miscommunication with the staff. we bought the groupon (a sale voucher) for dinner treat, and made a phone call earlier and booked the table. We also clarify about the groupon we've bought and the staff who attended the call was BANI. And she did allow us to use the voucher on our visit on saturday which is not our buffet type. If im not mistaken they have around 3 types of buffet. Thats why we did proceed to dine in on Saturday as the staff said there would be no problem.

When we arrived, however one of the staff said our voucher is on different type of buffet. And he kinda hesitate to allow us. And we did told about the booking and the conversation that have been made. This indian man quite nice because he did not forbidden us to dine and ask us to come back next time (which troublesome ). He said remaining of the buffet cost will be charge. And we feel thats ok. At first. But i think, one of the staff made this fuss. And she did clarified on the voucher. Why we need to pay??
Oh and second things is also happen during the dinner time as
there was a bunch of international visitor, around 30 to 50 people, they make a lot of noise. It was very unpleasant moment while having dinner and you must bear on the screams again n again n again. And there's no action from the staff to stop them from making other visitor becoming deaf !

The room quite basic but enough space to stay. The view facing the sea just okai.. Oh forgot to mention about every single sounds from your neighbourhood.. !! Wiwiwiwi..
With the price, i bet i can ignore it.. Its old building after-all.. It has no sound-prove wall.

The registration quite fast. So far.. It just worth the money. But the service, i hope if i ever to stay here again, should be precise and customer friendly.
And very poor wifi connection. I stay at level 13th

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gadisbegmerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to learn of the incidents during your stay. Your feedback are important to my teams and we will work on creating a pleasant stay for your next visit.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Thank you
Best regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Tanjung Bungah overlooking the sea and it is simply great. The hotel reception staff and others were quite keen and had lot of energy to help out the customers. The room was very clean and neatly formed and most importantly the bathroom was spotless and exquisite. The swimming pool was one of the best and was very clean and well looked after. The buffet breakfast was quite scrumptious with many many Eastern and Western delicacies. If you want to go out for a meal, do not forget to checkout the VIVA HAWKER FOOD stall which is literally 5 mins down the road. The beach and the sea looks very dirty and oily and I wouldnt recommend swimming there but the hotel is simply great. (P.S. - I personally feel this hotel is situated in a better location and mostly importantly a safer location than hotels in Bukit Ferringi).

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooldemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good time with us and do look forward to having you back soon.

Thank you
Best regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,045 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,167 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Property: Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing