We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Nearby Hotels
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points by Sheraton Penang(Tanjung Bungah)(Great Value!)
$69
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Naza Hotel(George Town)
$64
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seriental Hotel(Tanjung Tokong)(Great Value!)
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Straits Quay Suites(George Town)
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveler rating
97
284
252
118
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
284
252
118
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet breakfastacross the roadspacious roomgreat poolnice viewindian restaurantsea view roomswimming pool isnight marketpenangbusbatucozasia
Filter
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 848 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The website is very misleading. Rooms are not even close to what is advertised. The Front Desk staff were not helpful neither friendly.

The room smells of smoke, even though a non smoking room was requested. Too tired to move around after a 5 hour drive to Penang. Every time you touch the bed, it shifted. Floors were still wet from moping when we check in.

Your only saving grace is your swimming pool & a F&B staff named, William. Not only does he offer fantastic service, he also anticipates the needs of the guests- an uncommon quality & should be valued.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed here in Jan 2014 and enjoyed the room very much. We had a room on 23rd floor, I think, seaview deluxe room. Room was spacious enough for 2. I really enjoyed waking up watching the fishermen boats nearby go out to sea and having tea at night on the balcony. Breakfast was decent. The front desk was helpful. Only complaint was the super slow wifi. All in all, the room with breakfast is good value for money by my standards and I had a great time in a spacious sea view room at a fraction of a price compared to other hotels. Will definitely come back and stay in the same room, I hope.

Room Tip: High floors - Deluxe sea view rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noor Azah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned fro a two week stay at this hotel. We had a room on the 12th floor overlooking the beach and local town.The hotel has kerb and beach appeal, although the reception area is a disappointment and look more like a three star hotel. The room was large, the beds were very comfortable and the linen and towels were changed daily. The hotel is well equipped with a large pool and direct beach access. The staff were helpful and friendly and various courtesy buses are provided to take you to and from local attractions. one downside was breakfast which was quite basic and the dining room was overcrowded at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor overlooking the beach and Tanjung Bungah. This will get the sun from about 2 to 7pm on the balcony. The other side will only get the sun for a few hours in the early morning.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

During arrival, there was a problem with their computer systems, thus check-in was delayed for about 30 minutes. Apart from that, was pretty much satisfied with our stay there.

The hotel is clean and brightly lit. Rooms were also clean and quite spacious (can probably fit at least 4-5 person with additional bed). Just normal beach, not those white/soft sandy beaches, but didn't really expect much on that. Breakfast was provided, but nothing to shout about. We booked the hotel with a choice of 60 mins massage or buffet dinner. Opted for the massage, as we were looking to enjoy the local food more. Again, nothing special about the massage, but if we won't pay for it if given the choice.

Location wise, it is about 15 minutes drive away from Gurney Drive and Straits Quay. Georgetown is probably 20-30 minutes drive away, depending on traffic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReaperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good time with us and do look forward to having you back soon.

Thank you
Best Regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo hotel by the beach Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Not too far from town and yet on the beach. We took the 3bedroom suite and it was very spacious. Huge dining area. But it seemed a bit tired. Needs up keeping. Breakfast was ok, serving normal spread. Like to take a walk on the beach in the morning though beware of broken glases.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JunJunQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews