We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachside location but average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Reviewed January 19, 2014

One good thing about this hotel is that it is located next to the beach and sea, so you are just steps from the beach. If you get the seaview rooms, you would have a great view from your balconies.

The room we stayed in was large and spacious but we felt that it was quite basic. The rooms are not carpeted but tiled instead. It may not be an issue for some people (we generally prefer carpeted rooms).

Tanjung Bungah is slightly away from the city centre so if you want to be near to the city, then perhaps this may not be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ytravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you

Best Regards

Suresh Kumar Nagaiah
Front Office Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 794 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed for a night here. Overall, it was pleasant with reasonable price.

Pros:
i) Spacious clean room, comfy bed and soft pillows
ii) Clean bathroom
iii) Convenient public transportation, bus stop is just in front of hotel.
iv) Free shuttle to Gurney Plaza/Komtar (only one way, twice a day, 10.30am and 3.30pm if I was not mistaken). Please inform them early to make reservation. Limited to only 9 passengers per trip.
v) Adequate breakfast spread. Wish they could add a few selection of western food though
vi) Very faint live music from the lobby was heard, so not much disturbance in room
vii) Flat screen tv with variety of channels

Cons:
Level 4, no WiFi in room at all. Otherwise, it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn1e_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We will look into improving the coverage of wifi for all rooms and do hope your next stay with us will be memorable one.

Thank you

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo hotel by the becah Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We did not choose ourselves to stay here, it was a part of our tour. We do not like such big hotels.
But we don't agree with the bad reviews. Our room was clean and cleaned everyday. The elevator not overcrowded and enough tables free at breakfast.
The staff at the reception friendly and helpful and speaking understandable English.
Only the staff at the pool a bit lazy. You have to ask for everything, they do not anticipate to bring you a cushion for your lounger, they even hide them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorretjedeCorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! I will definitely share them with my team. I will also ensure that the service of the poolside improves. Once again, I am glad you have a pleasant experience with us and look forward to having you back.

Thank you
Best Regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

very last minute booking when its already fully booked when I called directly (it was on hari raya festive), i browsed booking.com and saw one room available with reasonable rate (RM382 including tax and breakfast). I successfully checked-in only bout 2 hours after booking, even its already 8pm! The room was nice and comfortable. The food that we ordered from the in-room dining menu were delicious. Breakfast by the beach the next morning was excellent too!

what I dont like? the floor not carpeted

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZuraAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We thank you for taking the time to let us know! I will share your wonderful feedback with my team.
We hope to see you soon.

Thank you

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had a great time at my stay at Flamingo hotel. The staffs was friendly from the start to finish during my stay. The seaview room that I stayed in has a very nice view and is very spacious. The pricing of the hotel is very reasonable. The food is good especially the buffets.The location is not too far off from town and all the attractions in Peanang and therefore, I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family for a stay

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank cutie_apple92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your wonderful comments with my team. Your kind words are the best rewards for them.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again.

Thank you

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had zero expectations from this hotel as we had read some bad reviews on it here. We had little choice as our tour operator had booked us with Flamingo, but we were pleasantly surprised to have a not-so-bad experience .

The staff at the reception have a little trouble speaking fluent english, and that makes them slow but they are helpful. We didn't have wi-fi access in the room allotted to us initially, and it took many reminders to the staff for them to shift us to another room.

The hotel bar is nice with LIVE music and a seating area over-looking the beach. We enjoyed drinks and snacks there the first night as we were too tired to step out.

Breakfast buffet is average. It takes some time to find a table even.

Our room was spacious and clean, but the bathroom was not.

The beach is easily accessible from the hotel. One can also sit by the pool or enjoy a nice swim in it. We chose not to as there were many kids in the pool around that time, and the pool closes by 8 p.m.

Do inform the reception at the time of check-in that you would like to take the free shuttle service to the night market at Batu Ferringhi. Georgetwon is not very far from the hotel. One can cab it or take a direct bus from right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun-kissed_musings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your feedback with my team and work towards improving the areas you have mentioned.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo hotel by the beach Penang.

Thank you

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Compared to some of the other hotels on the beach, this place was a pretty good deal. The staff was friendly and the ocean view was nice. The rooms are average and the hotel is noticeably old and under-maintained but you get what you pay for. I would cautiously recommend it to someone with controlled
expectations.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank James_Riney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear James

Thank you for the review and comments. We are indeed looking into refreshing our rooms and common areas. I do think it would be impress you once the process is complete. Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you
Best Regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
783 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,087 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 2 in Tanjung Tokong
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $47 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing