We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Compared to some of the other hotels on the beach, this place was a pretty good deal. The staff was friendly and the ocean view was nice. The rooms are average and the hotel is noticeably old and under-maintained but you get what you pay for. I would cautiously recommend it to someone with controlled
expectations.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank James_Riney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear James

Thank you for the review and comments. We are indeed looking into refreshing our rooms and common areas. I do think it would be impress you once the process is complete. Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you
Best Regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 800 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for three nights over New Year. Here are the pros and cons:

*Reasonably priced
*It's relatively-well located, although if I went back I'd aim for a hotel that is much closer to either Georgetown or Batu ferringhi. This hotel is kind of right in between, and it's about 30 ringgit in either direction via cab.
*It's directly on the beach, and if you want to do jet-skiing etc. that's all right on the doorstep.
*The food is good, especially the food ordered via the bar/lounge restaurant. We have some very nice meals.
*The rooms are very spacious

Cons
*The hotel is extremely understaffed which means that everything is slow. It took me 15-20 minutes to check in as there weren't enough people.
*The food is very slow. If you order a sandwich it will take 45 minutes to arrive at least.
*The rooms are a bit on the dusty side. They'respacious but they weren't that very well-cleaned in my view.
*Although the hotel is on the beach, the water is dirty- and all the noise and fumes from the jetskiing etc is pretty irritating, although if you want to swim you can walk a bit further down the beach where it's a bit cleaner.

In general, I would say stay in a hotel very close to Georgetown and enjoy the colonial heritage and some of the food halls, but jump on a ferry to Langkawi Cenang area which is much nicer with much better bars etc..

Room Tip: Ask for one as far away from the escalator bank as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michanddyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us these feedback. I will make it a point to see improvements done as soon as possible.I will also convey your compliments to the bar / lounge restaurant.
Again thank you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you
Best Regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stay here for two nights last Christmas time with young kids. I didn't give a high expectation as for the room rates is actually cheaper than other hotels along Tanjung Bungah and Batu Ferringhi.
Room
The room is spacious, comfortable for four of us to stay. Anyway the room is a bit dusty, the bathroom ceiling moulded too. The balcony is quite big. It's good if the hotel can put two chairs there. Wasted the space and is not convenient to enjoy the view.
Lift
Agree with other reviews, the lift is slow. Have to wait long every time use.
Buffet breakfast
The lady who standing in front of restaurant is kind a rude. Since our room rates not including my child's breakfast, we want to add on for them. But seems like we begging her to let us in, asking a lot question, no smiling. Also not bother whether enough tables to sit. We walk around the restaurant and can't get a empty table. At the end we are the one who ask her whether we can sit at the extra tables at the entrance of restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bd_mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. Your feedback are valuable to our teams. Currently we are working on the issues you have mentioned to us. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. If you need assistance with your room reservation please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you

Best Regards

Suresh Kumar Nagaiah
Front Office Manager
Flamingo hotel by the becah Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is dirty, with mold in the bathrooms. The was also white powder around the room. I think it was some sort of insect replant. The walls are paper thin, and there is a significant gap under the door. The elevators are painfully slow. This is not a four star hotel. While the facilities are (mostly) nice, the rooms are in very poor condition.

The restaurant across the street is very good.

Room Tip: A low floor would be best so you don't have to wait as long for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking immediately.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo hotel by the beach Penang.

Thank you

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

OK, this place could pass for a typical Costa del Sol hotel (rather banal decoration) but is definitely worth considering if you're looking for a comfy place for little money.

- location: spot on! there's a bus stop right in front. Bus 101 takes you to all attractions (butterfly farm, spice garden, national park in one direction - George Town in the other) for half a dollar. Every 45 min there's also bus 102 to the airport (1.2 dollar) - if you take taxi to/from airport, count on 55 RH

- there's a quite sandy beach with palm trees - and NO local David Guetta playing annoying boom-boom-boom music. You can rent jet skis or go parasailing. Also a pool with happy hour for the thirsty

- rooms: do book 'sea view' (like in the picture) - big room, lovely terrace, great view, great value

- service: tons of good will, but think the staff lacks training and language skills - but definitely not as bad as in some reviews here, really, nothing to worry about

- food: breakfast is ok, but it does get a bit crowded. the buffet is rather tasteless. But who cares? Just take bus 101 to the Long Beach Food court where you can eat for 5 bucks. And fill up your fridge with booze from the shop (right in front of the hotel)

Overall, ok place, ok rooms, everything ok.

Room Tip: if you book 'sea view deluxe room' - make sure they give you a room in the main block (so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapirtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good time with us and do look forward to having you back soon.

Thank you
Best Regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Worst hospitality from the staffs and they are least concern about customer's needs.
Food are bad and the hygiene is terrible. Saw the flies surrounding the fruits. Would rather pay more for a better food and services.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mushroom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking immediately.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo hotel by the beach Penang.

Thank you

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Room was spacious,clean and comfy but the furnitures were old equipped.Nice seaview.Lousy breakfast..public transport is easy to get.The bus stop is just infront of the hotel! Will be back to a short vacation without booking the breakfast!Not worth buying.Yup..lastly staff with good service.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliencess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that we have met your expectations in hotel service and product. I will share your wonderful comments with my team. Your words and acknowledgement of our efforts are both motivational and encouraging.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again.

Thank you

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
785 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,097 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 2 in Tanjung Tokong
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $47 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing