We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed over the Xmas New Year break,2012/13 we found the staff very friendly and helpful. We wished we had been told about the courtesy bus that took you to Batu Feranghi and Georgetown we only found this out by another guest after a few days. We used the buses which we found useful as the taxis are expensive and not readily available. The room was spacious, clean and had a great view of the beach and surrounding area. The only complaint was the quality of the linen it could have been of better quality for a 4 star hotel.
I objected to some of the guests who swam fully clothed because of their culture. I feel it is a health issue and should not be allowed by the hotel.
We had dinner in the hotel (seafood buffet) which was very nice and the staff were brilliant.
If we went back to Penang we would probably stay in Batu Feranghi closer to the restaurants and nite markets. .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    259
    240
    108
    91
See reviews for
292
255
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

As other posters have stated - this is not a 4 star hotel (Don't believe the website - its all show). It is 3 at very best.
Myself, wife and 2 teenagers stayed for 5 days over Christmas 2012. The Hotel is located near the Floating Mosque and I think they must "pich" it heavily in the middle east or to locals who want to be near the mosque as there were few westerners in the hotel. We picked it because of the location, being half way between Bate Feranghi beaches and Georgetown. In fact we could have stayed at Batu Feranghi which was just 5 mins up the road by taxi. Getting Taxi's was a constant problem. Taxi's did not want to come there so many times we walked down the road until we could hail one - sometimes this took 30 mins. In the humid heat this was no picnic.
The rooms (we had a 2 bedroom 'waterviews' suite) were large and the views were good but the furniture was very tired. On arrival I tried to upgrade at the Front Desk to a 3 bedroom to get nearer to the beach (the 2 bedroom are set back from the beach) but the staff said they were fully booked which could have been the case as it was Christmas. I felt they were a little dismisive and not interested in our requests. The in room safe was broken when we arrived (it looked like it had been attacked with a tyre leaver) and not fixed during our stay.
We were constantly running out of hot water for showers which has never happened to me in a hotel before and my daughters thought this appaling.
There is really nothing within walking distance in relation to shopping or restaurants so we ended up taxing to Batu Feranghi to eat and went shopping in Georgetown. Night Markets at Batu Feranghi were great and plenty of restaurants too. If I was to go to Penang again ( and I think this unlikely as we went on to Vietnam afterwoods and had a fabulous time) I would stay at Bate Feranghi OR Georgetown not in Tanjung Bungah.
The breakfast was adequate (3 star standard) but the staff slow to replace food as it ran out. Waiting staff in restaurant were very plesant and the "Omelet maker" outside saved the day.
All things considered we had a good time but the hotel was not the star of this part of our holiday.

Room Tip: If you want the great views of the sea shown on the website get a 3 bedroom suite on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miliesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Bungah hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked this hotel because every thing else was booked up over the Christmas/New Year period. Upon arriving, it seemed very familiar and it turns out it used to be known as the Crown Prince Hotel.

The lobby has high ceilings and is spacious and has a great view of the sea and so makes a first good impression. Service is brisk and competent, not particularly warm and friendly. Our room was a good size - bed was huge and more than sufficient for us and baby. Our 5 year old got an extra roll on bed which cost us RM65 extra per night. Even with an extra bed there was lots of space in the room.

Furnishings weren't anything to shout about (in fact, verging on the need for some refurbishment) though everything was relatively clean. Floor was tiled which immediately gave the impression of a less than 4 star hotel though to be fair, maintaining carpets with a beach front location would be an uphill task.

We had the garden view room with a view which was actually quite pleasant though having stayed in the sea view rooms before, those are the ones to really go for if available as they don't seem to cost more.

Ours was an adjoining room (as it had connecting doors to the adjoining rooms) and this maybe had an impact on the noise level - certainly our neighbours sounded like they had 10 kids in their room and were moving furniture all night long. So if you have kids, best to avoid those.

Breakfast came with the room and the buffet was packed every morning, no doubt because of the time of year. We were hard pressed to find seats, and ended up sitting outside which turned out to be quite pleasant (though it got hotter as the morning went on). The buffet had an alright spread with decent choice for all tastes but the staff took a long time to refill the chafing dishes so we were constantly just waiting for our food.

The kids were at the pool everyday but we weren't really inspired to swim ourselves as people were eating their breakfast all around. The beach was nearby but busy with constant para gliding activity and fully dressed, non swimming families walking around, so not conducive for a quiet sun tanning/relaxing session.

Maybe it was because the hotel was full, but some hotels manage to still give you the impression of having some private space despite that. Not the Flamingo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasluggish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Staff not welcoming, rooms are not at all clean, bathroom had mould on tiles, had to ask housekeeping to use a scrubbing brush & disinfectant & guess what it came off. Bed linen seemed dirty as did the hotel. Breakfast was not inviting & fresh, everything looked dirty which put me off my breakfast. We had booked & paid in full to stay 6 nights, we checked out after 3 nights, booked in at The Park Royal, wish we did that initially, you live & learn. We
then returned home had discovered that we left our BOSE dock at Flamingo, I called the hotel immediatley at which I was told nothing had been handed in, but to my surprise the Manager then called to say he had 'found' it & was going to charge me a holding fee, now that's what I call customer service NOT. I will NOT be recommending this hotel to anyone, go to Park Royal, even better if your budget allows go to Golden Sands.

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The best thing about this hote is the view, that's it .. the view. Our room overlooked the pool and beach. There was no bell boy to help with our luggage on arrival.. not a good first impression. When we got to our room we had to call reception as it was'nt clean. Just about every day we had to call reception as housekeeping forgot to refill something every day (coffee, water etc or the room had'nt been cleaned properly). I felt that instead of relaxing I was focussing on what "had'nt been cleaned / re-filled" every morning. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom, which turns into a sauna if you shower with the door closed! We specifically asked for a room not near the the elevator, as the corridors are tiled and you can hear every footstep and door close. This hotel was filled with children, some running up the corridors as late as 10.30pm with no consideration for other guests. If something didn't work it took days to get fixed, and I found I was constantly following-up. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom but no power point if the guys need to use an electric razor. There are no brochures in the rooms on what to do or see while in Penang. DO NOT GET YOUR LAUNDRY DONE THROUGH THE HOTEL .. half of mine was NOT laundered, and after many complaints I only paid half the laundry bill. Handwash instead & hang your clothes over the chairs on the balcony. The pool area was full of muslims swimming fully clothed. Breakfast was average. The lobby shop was reasonably priced. Avoid using the hotel beauty salon, they are rude and you have to pay for your treatment up front, no doors on rooms and they take personal calls whilst doing your treatment. Very unprofessional. The hairdresser was good though as was the gym and pool. There is a fantastic Indian restaurant across the road. The location was ok although to get up to Batu Ferenghi for the night markets could take up to and hour to travel 8kms because of roadworks and the traffic so be prepared to wait. Most hotels have a free shuttle to take you up so no need to take a taxi. I took a look at the Park Royal & nearly cried, wish I had of stayed there instead regardless of the extra cost.

Room Tip: Unfortunatley no matter where your room is situated the tiled corridors carry noise .. so if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Certainly NOT a four stars hotel, impressive from outside, well situated on the beach, swimming pool ok but muslim people swimming fully dressed !? not enought transat by the pool and not much either by the beach side, the pool closes at 8pm !!!!!
The room sold as " deluxe " is a standard and basic room with very poor amenities , not very clean and the mountain view face the opposit building !!!! I do not recommand that hotel .

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms faces opposite building !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 75014PARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in a deluxe room. It was very small and quite shocking as the other reviews written mentioned that the hotel was 'luxurious' etc.
The bed was not clean, the sheets were dirty and everything about the room feels very average, borderline cheap.

If this was in KL city, this hotel is worth no more than RM 200 or the same standard as Vistana hotel. Come here only if you get a very cheap deal otherwise there are tonnes of other hotels in Penang or Tanjung Bunga area at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minmin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear about the incidents that took place during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies. You can be rest assured that I will personally look into the matter with my team for immediate improvement.

Once again I thank you for the feedback and support and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. If we can be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
777 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
753 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,211 reviews
2.7 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Property: Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing