We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meze Meze Tavern - CLOSED

Meze Meze Tavern
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stumbled upon this place by accident and ate lunch there then returned a few nights later for evening meal.. On both occasions the service and the food were stunning. I am not a huge fan of meze but there was plenty for even meat phobic me. The owner and his wife came and explained all the dishes. There was such care put into the food. The little terrace is a nice place to sit under the grape vines after dinner. It is an easy drive up from the coral bay area, well worth the trip. Haven eaten in the very overated peyia tavern, this is a million times beter in every way. Our favourite place to eat in cyprus.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaqphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One word - Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Me and my husband were in Cyprus for a week last month and we visited this place twice (lunch and dinner)- that should tell you all about it! We were told by friends from Cyprus that the new owners have completely transformed it and it is true.

The first time (lunch) we had the kontosouvli and chicken souvla with a traditional salad and a variety of Greek cheeses. Everything was freshly made, very tasty and in big portions!

The owners informed us that they had live greek music three times a week so we decided to spend our last night there and it was an excellent choice! The music was great - everyone was having fun, dancing and singing! The food was even better, we ordered the meze which had a lot of variety and it did not contain just the standard food that is normally included in the Cypriot meze. The waiting staff were very helpful regarding what was in each dish. It was absolutely delicious and all in reasonable prices!

All in all great atmosphere and service and the best food we had in months! A restaurant worth visiting again and again-we certainly will!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Addie_Atkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyia, Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
“Not To Be Missed - Book Now !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were a bit dubious about visiting this place as it has just opened and had read a very complimentary write up in a local newspaper so decided to try it. What a fantastic night we had. We did'nt opt for the meze but the food we had, Cypriot and Greek dishes were excellent so many different dishes to chose from with different tastes and textures. We tried some familiar dishes, beef stifado, meat balls with a sauce, the starter platter for 2 was superb, we also tried some new dishes and thoroughly enjoyed everything we ate. The carafe of local wines and beers are very cheap. We were greeted by Anthoulla, who is a lovely lady, very pleasant, very informative without being over attentive and she also has a great sense of humour - and everyone felt at ease immediately. Big portions are served but we took our time and ate the lot it was so good! Not hard the wallet - this is one that we shall revisit again and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWB120344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meze-Meze - A Gastronomic Feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have lived in Cyprus for nine years and have tried the local mezes on a number of occasions at different restaurants and mostly have been very disappointed with the standard of the food served to the extent that a meze had become something to be avoided if at all possible.

We have visited this newly opened restaurant on three occasions, the first and second time we opted for the special dish of the day and were pleasantly suprised that the local food could taste so good. We had lunch there yesterday with friends and so on this occasion we decided to opt for the meze. It was an incredible experience from start to finish - in fact we cannot find superlatives enough to describe this gastronomic event. Each dish, sourced locally or from Greece, was presented and described to us in such a way that our taste buds were awakened to many new culinary delights. A big thank-you to Anthoulla who served us and seemed to get as much pleasure in describing the various dishes as we did in sampling them. A big thank-you also to Chistos (the owner) for taking on this venture and thereby giving us the opportunity to realise the true extent and versatility of Cypriot/Greek cuisine. A truly memorable lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“That's All Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The new owners have been in for about four weeks [August 2012] and have done a most excellent job, the service, the food, the building and the wine are all fabulous. Even the kids ate everything, result.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PafosTraveler, Manager at Meze Meze Tavern, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward having you back again soon, we will be delighted to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meze Meze Tavern also viewed

Kathikas, Paphos District
Kathikas, Paphos District
 
Kathikas, Paphos District
Kathikas, Paphos District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing