We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage, perfect location.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Litton Mill, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davidcold...
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage, perfect location.”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I stayed at Riverbank Cottage for one week, It was an excellent cottage having all essentials to make a relaxing week stay. The location could not be better, the river bank was just a few yards from the front door, perfect for relaxing, feeding the ducks, watching the fish and enjoying the history of the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equiped cottage and location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisonrcx
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous little cottage - cosy and peaceful”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This cottage was perfect for our trip. We found it to be very clean and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable and the upstairs shower in particular was very refreshing. The riverside setting is peaceful and to sit out there and watch the fish and the ducks was so relaxing. Being a 'no through' road there was only the occasional car. The surrounding area is beautiful with many lovely walks and the Monsal Trail is just a short walk across the river. The weather on our particular week was cold so being able to cosy up in front the wood burning stove was a real treat. The cottage has a useful lockable bike store too which was very useful. The welcome pack was a nice touch and provided us with a few luxuries as well as a few essentials.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet riverside setting - very tranquil listening to the river.
Liked least: The weather - we had snow in April!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2016
We are so pleased to hear that Riverbank Cottage was such a perfect venue for your holiday! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience there. Sitting out watching the wildlife and the world go by from right outside the cottage sounds just wonderful, and then going inside to get cosy by the wood burner - we can think of little better! We certainly hope that you return for another stay soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahelgi...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I booked this cottage for us to take some friends from Canada. The cottage was beautiful, comfortable and immediately felt like home. The area was quiet and a wonderful place to wander around (just bring walking shoes!). The owners were really kind and easy to get in touch with. We were sad to leave. I would definitely stay here again - in fact, we're thinking about bring our parents here for a treat.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
We couldn't be happier that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Riverbank Cottage, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay there. It is wonderful to hear that you felt at home as soon as you arrived and had a great place to call home for your exploration of the area! We certainly hope you return soon, hopefully with your parents next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrmds21
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage and location are beautiful, quiet, easy access to great walks and grand countryside. The attention to detail in the cottage, comfort of the beds and furnishing are perfect for having all the "pressures" of life melt away. The welcome basket, the in-house guide, the response to and email etc etc shows that the owner have put a great deal of thought and care into this luxury location. Trout in the stream - to feed not catch or eat - ducks that just want to come up and be fed (grandkids loved that.... of so did the grandparents lol), trees just turning autumnal... perfect setting..... absolutlely NO downsides and beyond excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There needs to be a yes PLUS as this was an oustanding location and luxurious accommodation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindyliu6...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We loved this cottage looking cottage & decided to book it because of its location. My sister & I were pleasantly surprised with everything about the cottage from the pre holiday communication from the owners to welcome us & to give us an idea of weather forecast to the fabulous location & many little extras including beautiful bathroom products.
The new beds with lovely linen & bedrooms were extremely comfortable although the 2nd bedroom would benefit from a wardrobe & or chair.
Fairly well equipped kitchen & we cooked every evening
The owners have given a lot of thought yo the little extras in the cottage adding to the wonderful stay.
We have booked for next year already

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micky163
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, Great Location, Great Extra Touches”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We came across this cottage by accident really looking for somewhere to stay. First we were so impressed by the owner's communication and from the communication of the keyholder prior to our arrival.
The cottage itself is in the most amazing location - 1 mile from the nearest main road. It sits on the riverside surrounded by beauty and walks.
The cottage was so well equipped with a much unexpected welcome basket and all toiletries provided.
The cottage was very clean and the interiors and equipment are all very good quality.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Comfort
Liked least: Having to leave after the week!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafrowda1
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a week of walking and weren't disappointed, the location was great for walks straight from the door and a stones throw from the Monsal Trail. Weather permitting, the riverbank setting is a great place to kick off your boots were we relaxed with a drink while watching the fish, ducks and even saw a water vole. We were the 3rd guests to stay at this lovely cottage, which was on the whole, well equipped, clean and very nicely furnished with quality products. The owners have added little touches like providing hand wash, hand cream, shower gel and shampoo and more, which we have not experienced at other properties. We felt the one bedroom would benefit from a small wardrobe, but in saying that, there was plenty of space for all in the spacious fitted wardrobe in the other bedroom. If you want to eat out, you do have to drive, but not too far. A great time had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely furnishings made a comfortable stay
Liked least: If you want to self cater it would benefit from a couple more oven dishes, tongs and large spoons, but not really a problem
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing