We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average b and b, friendly people, good location clean rooms”
Review of The Mumbles Hotel

The Mumbles Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mumbles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Reviewed March 11, 2012

we booked two double rooms at the Carlton to use while we visited relatives in the Mumbles. Both rooms were clean with small but adequate en suites. We paid £70 per room per night including a full English breakfast. We are all in our late twenties-early thirties and thought the hotel served as a decent base to get out and do what we wanted to do.Would have no issues with staying here again next time we visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigeyesmalleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

good clean b and b with good service in a very good location

Room Tip: good clean b and b no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40something528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Great rooms, amazing views over swansea bay. Very clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinycrabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Everything appeared overpriced in Mumbles, and this was the cheapest. The people were lovely and very helpful. The carpet in the bathroom scared me, but it's not unusual to find. The room was clean, if not small.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Who gives hotels their star rating? This was billed as a 3 star. This was, at best, 1 star. The only 3 star characteristic was the price!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

When I heard the name of the hotel, and that they were charging £80 a night for a double room, I thought of some sort of corporately bland experience on a par with Best Western. Sadly, this was not the case.

We struggled for some time to find the hotel, only to realise it was the run-down shack on the seafront, tarted up with a few gaudy hanging baskets. Things didn't get any better as it was revealled that there was nowhere to park the car apart from the municipal facility that charged £5 a day. As we ascended the shabby stairs, and put our tacky key into the flimsy lock, our hearts sank in a sea of shattered expectations.

We opened the door of the room, or rather half-opened it, because it collided with the bed. This same bed was to be our instrument of torture. Small, yet perfectly formed to give you backache, it had obviously been perfected sometime in the late 1970s. The beige decor mirrored the tired atmosphere of the entire resort. An unusual floor-length window opened up onto the road below, beckoning us to take the fast exit from this place of torment.

In the morning, we stumbled downstairs half asleep, half numbed by the desperate discomfort of the night, At breakfast, the coffee came out a machine and the scrambled eggs came with a nasty taste of failed ambition. There was a queue for tables.

At checkout, they seemed unaware of whether we had stayed or not, and spent about 15 minutes faffing around with the bill, in a grimy reception area which only further depressed our spirits. However, in a way, it was an experience, even if it is not one we care to repeat.

Room Tip: there is no best room. The ones at the front do have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morrisey159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a small sea front hotel which is very tired and run down.

Our room was depressing and we didn't want to spend any time in there because it was dark, poorly decorated and the beds were hard and lumpy and deeply unpleasant.

Our bathroom had cobwebs and the shower cycled constantly from scaldingly hot to cold, without any controls being touched.

Breakfast was unexpectedly OK, but sausages were cheap and nasty and the coffee came from a machine.

Waitress was nice.

Thankfully we will never have to stay here agian.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redmike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.7 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,047 reviews
4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
1,021 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mumbles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mumbles Hotel

Address: 654-656 Mumbles Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EA, Wales (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range: $119 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mumbles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mumbles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Swansea
The Mumbles Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing