We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, good food & amazing range of teas...”

Chai Deli and Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Mumbles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, good food & amazing range of teas...”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have visited Chai for tea and ( fab) cake with work colleagues, taken over with a big group of friends for tapas evening and popped in to buy from their enormous range of teas & unusual cheeses. The atmosphere is great, tables offer enough privacy to have a chat over a cuppa and in the evening the atmosphere is cosy and informal. The owners are knowledgeable and helpful, and couldn't do enough to welcome us. ( note that I have rated 'outdoor seating' - but there isn't any. I filled in this field by mistake but tripadvisor's website would not allow me to remove it)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizbc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    14
    1
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had heard glowing reports about their evening tapas menu so a group of us decided to give it a go. The 'bring your own' option and reasonable set menu price was also an attractive feature we felt.

On arrival, we were greeted warmly and the tea rooms had been changed into a calming, candle lit bistro atmosphere. Unlike many restaurants, the owners had not felt the urge to cram as many tables as they could into the place and as a result there was plenty of space and it was not a noisy atmosphere at all. The restuarant was fully booked but didn't feel crowded in the least.

Our bread, olives and oils arrived and were delicious - then came the wonderful main tapas. One large sharing board between two people and there was such a fantasitic array of goodies. And........not a piece of batter in sight!! Just well cooked produce where the chef hadn't been afraid to experiment with flavours.

To finish, the tea room goodies were still on display and we treated our selves with a selection of their vast tea collection.

A great little 'bistro' in the heart of mumbles, in a calming and chilled atmosphere where you can bring your own and enjoy excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DipsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Super experience”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a lovely experience. An intimate setting, fantastic freshly prepared food and such hospitable hosts. Mumbles has a number of excellent restaurants, but this restaurant is a little gem. Only room for about 20 people. Our food was a tapas platter that exceeded all expectations. Very tasty and imaginative. Combined with BYO wine/drinks, it was an inexpensive, but quality evening out. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haydn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been twice and will return”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Have visited twice and will certainly return again. Food was very tasty and because it is BYO means you choose your own wine. On both occasions we were part of a large party and the fact that the food was in front of you to nibble on, with no pressure to eat up an leave, made for a really relaxing and enjoyable, fun evening. The owners are very polite, friendly and helpful. Yes, this is a tea room by day, but give them a break for at least trying to do something that Mumbles doesn't have. The fact that they now do the Tapas evenings on Friday as well as Saturday speaks volumes for its popularity. Well done Chai, nice to have something different in Mumbles.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MFWMumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, Swansea
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“80th birthday tea”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went to Chai for afternoon tea to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday and had a truly fabulous afternoon. Lynne had discussed our needs in advance and they were delivered to the letter. A selection of tasty tapas for the more adventurous with simpler but delicious sandwiches and scones for the older family members. The individual Victoria, lemon and chocolate sponges were so light and just had to be eaten. The table was well set with a golden tea service and plenty of room for all. It was never over loaded and off-putting but just as one offering came to an end the next plate appeared. Even though they were obviously open again in the evening we never felt rushed. My Mum was so relaxed and felt really welcomed and special. Thank you again to you all for all your hard work to create a magical afternoon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wannatravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chai Deli and Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Chai Deli and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing