We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaside break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seaside break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Five of us made the trip to Mumbles and shared two rooms. The three of us that were in a ground floor, two bedroom apartment enjoyed the freedom of catering our own breakfast whilst the other couple had a double room which included buffet breakfast in the hotel.
We all appreciated the hotel's recent refurbishment although the hot water system in the ground floor apartment seemed to be having teething troubles and had to be reset each morning.
The hotel is is a nice location close to the beach and with an easy walk into Mumbles town. It suited our purposes well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGERtftfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    111
    74
    63
    31
See reviews for
119
174
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel using a Living Social voucher. For the money we paid we thought that everything was as we would have wanted.The evening meal in the new Seafood Bistro was excellent quality with superb service. In the morning we had the full welsh breakfast which even had black pudding and laverbread together with all the usual items. In the afternoon as the hotel was located just 100 yards from the main Swansea Bay we walked all the way along the Welsh Coastal Path to Swansea City centre, stopping on the way for a coffee and cake in a lovely cafe just alongside the tourist tram circuit. Then caught the bus back to the hotel stop which again was just a 5 min. walk away. The bedroom was comfortable with a very nice en suite bathroom.If it had a light over the dressing table it would have been just perfect for us. Due to the hotel's central location the Mumble shops are a short 10 min. walk away. If you go there do not miss having one of Joe's famous ice cream cones. We shall certainly be returning to the hotel.h

Room Tip: The hotel does have upgraded four poster bedrooms which have the best locations. Try and get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Interesting place. Stayed one night. Hotel good breakfast good room interesting. Room was just a little weird. No desk area. Pointless trimmings on the bed. Bathroom has wall paper poorly installed flooring very old style tap and shower unit no shower curtain and unable to gey decent shower as poor water control in terms of hot znd cold water. Staff very friendly and helpful. I was not paying for the stay and I'm not sure I would want yo stay here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Wacky-Scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a 2 bed apartment with 2 adults and 2 kids.
Arrived early so we parked our van in the car park and walked into the Mumbles. On return (at 2pm check in) apartment was not ready, so we waited in the bar area (we were tired from travelling) had a drink (overpriced) £14 approx for 3 diet cokes and a J20. The main hotel was lovely so set our expectations high for the apartments!
We were told one of the toilets was broken in the apartment but the handyman would be coming round about 6pm. We decided to go out as it was only 3pm!
When we eventually got into the apartment we found the door handle hanging off of the main lounge, if it had come off we would have been trapped! We reported it before we left and the handyman came about 3 hours later, he was very efficient and eventually fixed it and also the en-suite toilet.
Now, we're not posh or snobs but the apartment was grubby and had not been cleaned properly despite us not going into it at 3pm, a good hour after check in. I did take photos. The dishwasher was filthy, the boiler in the kitchen was leaking, they knew about this as there were cartons collecting water behind the microwave, surely a bit of a safety hazard!
The fridge had dried milk on the shelves, the kick board in the kitchen wasn't there and under the cupboards was really dirty.
The reception on the TV was poor which wasn't great for the kids in the evening. To top it all we had no hot water in the morning for a shower!
I did report the lack of hot water when we checked out, they apologised and knocked £30.00 off the final bill.
The hotel itself was beautiful, it appears that their priority and money is spent on the main house, which is a shame as it wouldn't take a lot to raise the standards of the apartments. It's ideally situated for the Mumbles, just a short walk. However we won't be returning again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammyjane1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbles hotels

wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband & I stayed for one night in this hotel-we actually stayed in a room attached (like a motel type of room) but it was fine, small but nice bathroom and clean. We arrived late & the room was very hot so had to keep the window open (only a small window above the door) and turn the radiator off! It wasn't at all noisy and parking was good. The hotel was a stones throw from the sea front. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was superb, selection of fruit, yoghurt cereal and ham followed by a full breakfast, toast and croissants! The only downside was the outside light lit up our room considerably & the bathroom extractor fine was a bit too noisy but for £49 per night with breakfast included - I'd put up with that again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hj123wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel has a very convenient location just entering The Mumbles and about 4 miles from Swansea centre along the sea-front road. This hotel has a few ground floor rooms which is good for guests with reduced mobility as the main building does not have a lift. However, these ground floor rooms are not adapted for the disabled. We had a family room in order to get the only ground floor room with a walk-in shower rather than a shower over bath. However, there are a couple of steps to negotiate up into the room and far from suitable for a wheelchair user, especially as the door opened outwards.

The same applies to the main hotel entrance - there are a small number of steps. The hotel 's public rooms are no more than average but a scheme to alter the dining room into a Seafood style Bistro was about to start so it will be interesting to see the end-product when complete.

The food was excellent - we had breakfast and dinner on each of our 3 night stay. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was either self-service or plated. I think this depended on the number of guests resident. The car park was adequate but they have a very popular Afternoon Tea service open to non-residents which can stretch the car park to its limits. This proved a nuisance if you happen to arrive to check-in at this time, which we did !!.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms face the car park which could be a bit noisy. However our family room was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leithris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent a night at this hotel a few days ago and were very impressed. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the food and service in the restaurant were second to none, far better than we have had in some 4 star hotels. We had a minor housekeeping problem but this was sorted immediately with a smile and apology. The whole hotel has been refurbished recently and the dining room was particularly pleasant. Just a few steps from the beach and cliff walks. We will certainly be back. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Room 4 was large and bright and you could see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.7 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant Mumbles, Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing