We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norton House more like Faulty Towers!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We recently had a family party here & so wish we hadn't! The food was awful not what was agreed prior to the even, the sandwhiches had the cheapest of cheap fillings & the bread was dry & hard lots of battered spring rolls & not much else. The DJ which was the resident DJ so if you wanted one another one too bad...he enjoyed the sound of his own voice to much & as for being a DJ take your Ipod instead as he was nothing more than VERY QUIET barely audible music which you could have a conversation over not the party atmosphere you want to create at all! The venue smells of cooking fat not great & the rooms are in need off complete renovation & upgrading. The breakfast...well self service canteen more like. They kept running ot of sausages, or the eggs or whatever else you wanted so breakfast had to be had in stages. The staff don't care & it is reflected in the running of the hotel! Very disappointed & is such as shame as this hotel if run properly could be so much more....

Room Tip: When we asked to see a room we were shown what we thought was a standard room this turned out to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 397welsh_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 466 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

First of all, reply to 'Upset and disappointed' - I have heard that the owner was taken seriously ill recently, which might explain why you haven't had a reply. My husband and I, and our family, have frequented the hotel often since the new owner took over. I can honestly say I've never had a bad dinner, lunch, bad service or any complaint whatsoever. I had relatives from Walsall staying in the coach house, in a family room. They were ovewhelmed with the hotel and the friendliness & efficiency of the staff. We also held a family wedding there, which was memorable to say the least - fantastic.As far as I'm concerned, 5 star all round.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped here overnight on our first trip to the Mumbles. The Hotel is a lovely historic building and the sea view was lovely (although a trim of that giant conifer would improve it!).We had a four poster bed which was very comfy.
The only downside was that the building needed some maintenance; also the shower over the bath was awful, very old and not really functioning.
Breakfast was good and the staff helpful but not obtrusive.
Overall we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie4499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Firstly I would like to explain the reason for my title.We celebrated our Ruby Wedding in Feb 2011 at Norton House, we invited (75 guests) family and friends to a three course meal which we had chosen with the Chef and Karen.The staff,the service and the food were excellent,and the evening was enjoyed by all.A lot of our family and friends stayed overnight (as did we)so we had booked rooms on their behalf, breakfast included ,no complaints, all enjoyed ,in fact two of our guests stayed for the week and returned again later on in the year,so we had no hesitation in booking relatives and friends in the Hotel again in September 2012 What has gone wrong!!We booked two rooms which on inspection were grubby and tired and the bathrooms were not as clean as expected,shower heads and tiles (black mould) ect the toilet would not flush in one room and there was just a general lack of interest in the upkeep of what was 19 months ago a lovely Hotel,we also booked Sunday lunch which was not up to the standad we have come to expect after eating there quite alot with family and friends over the last year,My husband has written to the owner of the hotel about our disappointment and has as yet not had any reply. As we will be having another big celebration next year we feel unable to ask our guests to book this hotel again. This review is very upsetting from our point of view but needed to be written.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neesy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you stay here check if a wedding on otherwise noisy....avoid rooms over car park again noisy with people going in & out plus with kitchen the staff standing outside smoking. Plus noisy in room above walking around all the time. Stayed in room 12A found small especially with a dog. Rooms are tired especially bathroom grouting desperately needs doing in bath & bath panel split. No smellies or little extras in bathroom quite basic. carpet could do with a clean & just very tight with 2 people trying to move round room. No bottles of water in room but do provide tea & coffee. Breakfast was ok. Reception is basic & door behind into kitchen should be kept shut so you don't hear what is going on while trying to check in. No information in room about hotel or map of town had to go & ask when breakfast. Just found disappointing but location ideal with dog for walking.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms overlooking car park if wedding as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillworts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I had our wedding day at the Norton house hotel on May 3rd 2012. From the moment we went to view the hotel we knew it was the one for us. The staff were wonderful and ensured that our day went smoothly. From the ceremony to both day and evening functions,we could not have wished for better. The quality of the food served was excellent and all our guests enjoyed themselves very much.
My wife and I loved our stay in the wedding suite and was the perfect ending to the perfect day!
We would both highly recommend this hotel not only as a function venue but as a restaurant and hotel. We are looking forward to returning on our first anniversary for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed here for the second time and absolutely love it! The staff is accommodating (including our cancelled flight from the US); the food is fabulous and the rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. We will be back again next year, I hope.

Room Tip: Wonderful place to stay and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyFooted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.6 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
144 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,014 reviews
3.9 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
762 reviews
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range: $84 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant Mumbles, Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing