We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SA3 Bistro - CLOSED

SA3 Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $61
Cuisines: British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“A wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I eat at this restaurant on a regular basis. Almost every special occasion is spent here. The food is an appropriate portion size. You can't have massive portions with the delicious sauces they serve. Its just right. And the desserts!!! They are to die for! I can never choose. The waiting staff are very attentive and knowledgeable and the price, I think, is very reasonable for the standard of food served. Congratulations on a fantasic restaurant! Compliments to the chef!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LozSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    69
    27
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was really looking forward to eating here and the food and service didn't disappoint. Lots of choice and a nice atmosphere. However the experience was a bit spoiled by an odd phone call the day before to ask if we were still coming (I'd booked weeks earlier) as it was going to be a very busy lunch! I got the impression I would have done them a favour if I'd cancelled and that they had a whole host of far more important people waiting for our table. I had visiions of being shoe horned in and a lengthy wait, neither of which was the case - in fact the place was half full, so I'm a bit baffled. Other than that it was very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“truly scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

fresh local produce,a great lunchtime choice of starters and mains.i had the fish which was in a light delicious batter,and my pudding was really moresome!!
the wine was a little too pricey,an offer wine may be a good option for lunchtimes.a great lunch will go again asap

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizevans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

From the friendly service to the excellent food. Set menu very reasonably priced with some fantastic dishes. The vegetable, so often an after thought were superbly cooked too. Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarneyAshworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Marine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant for special occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Been here 3 times in the past few months and have been pleasantly surprised every time. The food is very good and has good flavour. Portion size is good but not overly generous (if you're having a starter or dessert you wouldn't want a larger main) though you do get vegetables and potato side dishes with all mains. Great relaxed atmosphere and I believe you can bring your own drinks (although I haven't tried this yet). Only constructive critique is that I've been on three Saturday's now and due to it being very busy on each occasion I've found the service lacking. Not a big deal if you're a big party but I imagine would be frustrating when going as a couple.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SA3 Bistro also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing