We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi with at bitter aftertaste”
Review of Sabi Omakase

Sabi Omakase
Ranked #25 of 265 Restaurants in Stavanger
Price range: $117 - $150
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 28, 2018

The meal was great, 18 fantastic dishes and great wine, beer and champagne to accompany them. The servive was great and the sommelier did an amazing job.

After the meal was finished we walked home and I started feeling sick, i tried lying down but the nausia was too much to handle. I spent the rest of the night throwing up, sweating and shaking.

To summarize, the food was great but the rest of the evening was not.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Jakob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

This is a full package experience, the price is according to it, what else could you expect of a Michelin Star right?. Siting there is traveling to a mini restaurant hidden in one of the corners of the subway in japan, the space, the intimacy level, the explanation about the hole process, the respect and the honor to you who is eating there, to the knowledge and the ancient techniques and not less to the food. This is a gastronomic ritual.

Is impressive the compromise to use fresh, local ingredients, or nearest if the exclusivity is the case, where they come from, the characteristics. Normai he defined it, I hope to write it in the right way

Is just 10 seats around the Chef, the hole experience take 3 hours, the knowledge and the domain is impressive, the music and the atmosphere, the assistants who assist him in the food making the sommelier matching every drink with every course (18) in total, even the cute toilet, the serving plates, all are components who play in this delicious symphony.

I personally can’t take much sugar, and sushi lovers like me knows that rice have sugar, and of course some elements for the composition. It went great.

Every piece melt in your mouth, i eat every single one with the same respect he made it for us, sushi originally is eaten with your fingers!!

The herbs, touch details, the Norwegian Beluga, the different kinds of rice, the tuna, the salmon, squid, scallop, octopus,the last soup, the black sesame ice cream,and the Colombian strong coffe, was my most favorites ones, bravo! Simply bravo

The only 2 thing, even when I eat everything but was not for me according with the experience was the sweet omelet and a kind of very sweet stripes of something under the ice cream.

Apart from that am a very grateful mermaid who will definitely come back if you ask me so.

Thank you guys i really enjoy it.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank jennysW8328CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

An evening at Sabi Omakase is more than a dinner. It’s an all night experience where the head chef, Roger, is the entertainer. While he prepares each serving in front of you and the nine other guests, he explains various details about each serving and the dinner in general.

Every piece of sushi is meticulously prepared and every bite is perfecly balanced. Not to mention the top quality produce that are being used.

If you manage to book one of the ten seats at Sabi Omakase you should feel lucky. It’s an unique experience that’s worth every penny!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank martinv48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

After waiting 7 months, we finally got to visit Sabi Omakase! I have really been looking forward to this and the visit really lived up to our expectations. When entering you are met by the sommelier, which welcomes you with a drink. After this, the dinner menu is introduced by Roger Asakil Joya. He gladly answers questions and you can easily see that he has a great passion for the art of sushi. After this, the whole evening is spent at the bar counter while he is making the food and explaining each ingredient which is mainly local. We also went with the wine package which is carefully selected by the sommelier. He gives a great introduction often with small anecdotes about the wines.
This is a great experience which I would really recommend if you have an interest for food and especially sushi. Me and my girlfriend went together with a couple we know. I would recommend to go with a group of friends as part of the experience for me was to be able to discuss and enjoy the food in a friendly setting.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank jlokkevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

It’s quite hard to find words that best reflects our amazing experience at Sabi Omakase. A night in this incredible restaurant is beyond belief. To watch the chef prepare each and every dish accompanied with inspiring stories was simply mesmerizing. 18 dishes, full attention from the staff, exciting tastes.....beyond words and an absolute must to visit. You need to plan well ahead as the waiting list is growing by the day.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank kristianf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabi Omakase also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Sabi Omakase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing