We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Ways to Experience Outdoorlife Norway
from $155.09
More Info
from $167.11
More Info
from $167.11
More Info
from $131.04
More Info
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
435
15
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
435
15
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunrise hike off the beaten track photo package hiking poles an amazing experience experienced hikers great hike pulpit rock great guide small group beat the crowds waterproof pants hiking experience his knowledge snow and ice entire hike his passion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Done the above tour with OutdoorlifeNorway, with two kids (14 and 12). We were only five, with another German guy and our tour guide (Salvatore). We all admired the landscape, and the perfect organisation of the tour. We had just as many quick brakes as the kids needed. Started off with a scenic 1-hour canoeing ride, very easy. I would recommend to everybody. It is so nice, and so calming (you do not meet anyone all day) that when you arrive at Preikestolen, you do not really much care about it. Truly. Salvatore is a great guy, I am glad he was our guide.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Journey730751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes_Apon, General Manager at Outdoorlife Norway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Happy to hear you enjoyed the off the beaten track tour with your family! We have put a lot of effort into creating a unique experience, away from the crowds. I will pass on your kind words to Salvatore!

Takk for turen and welcome back any time! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Did Kjerag hike, guides were extremely informative and amusing, and helped keep the group chatty. Well paced hike with amazing views all the way there and back. Strongly recommend to join!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Patliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes_Apon, General Manager at Outdoorlife Norway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great to hear you enjoyed hiking to Kjerag with our guides!

Takk for turen & welcome back any time! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

We can not say enough good things about Johannes and the operations at Outdoorlife Norway. Our hike to Kjerag went exactly as they had communicated. The guides kept a good pace for our group, taking breaks when needed, and offering interesting information along the way. I'm not sure that I would have had as much courage to step out onto the rock if it had not been for Johannes' detailed instructions and assistance. We would recommend visiting Norway in May and beating the crowds! For both our Kjerag and Preikestolen hikes, there were few other people along the trails.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank MKAfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Good and bad, but would highly recommend. My husband told me this is a medium hike....it WAS not. This is for advanced hikers. Our guide picked us up at our lodging. There were 8 in the group. Forest we canoed across the lake to start a trek up the back of the mountain. This ended up being 9.5 km. Of course it rained and all the rocks were slippery. Half way up I fell backwards 4 feet hit the ground hard and injured myself as well as snapped the hiking pole. Don't think my guide realized this. I struggled the rest of the way up. As we got closer we all got lost sure to fog. Eventually we made it. Then we took the easy way down 4 km, the steps were so deep took us twice as long due to my injury. However, we will chalk this up as adventure...

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank 876jannettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes_Apon, Owner at Outdoorlife Norway, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Dear guest,

Thanks for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed/recommend the hike and perceived it an adventure, despite the difficulty and weather-related challenges you met during the hike.

Our guides are there to help you and deal with unfortunate and weather-related events. On this tour, the guide used equipment to safely navigate through the fog. The guide reported you stumbled and broke a hiking pole, but that you were able to safely continue the hike. I will further investigate the details of this event and how it was dealt with. I hope you are recovering fine from your great effort!

(UPDATE: The guide took care of the guest after the stumble and registered a bruise. The pace of the tour was slowed down. Although the guest on-tour said she was doing fine, the guide walked beside her on the whole way down.)

The Preikestolen Off the Beaten Track Hike is one of our more challenging hikes. On our website, we write that it is
suitable for people who are in very good condition and have previous hiking experience. It is 9.5 kilometers long, bridging 600 meters of elevation.

We specify the trail conditions as:
"Narrow/non-existent trails, mostly marked with simple signs/cairns. At times more technical “off-the-beaten-track” hiking. Mountainous. Steeper sections with rocky surfaces requiring good eye/hand/feet coordination. Unsteady surfaces and a variety of obstacles (ie creeks, swamps, bushes, boulders) occur."

In our confirmation email, we explicitly request guests making bookings on behalf of others, to communicate our sent information sheet (pdf) and all details about the itinerary, difficulty, requirements, etc to all other members of their party.

Despite being challenging, this tour has been among our most popular and highly rated tours. Based on your feedback, we will look into further improvements in our routines to make sure all guests have the right expectations and prerequisites to experience an enjoyable hike.

We appreciate your sense of adventure and wish you all the best. We hope to see you back in the future, and cross our fingers for better weather conditions.

Kind regards,
Johannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

We booked a day trip to Kjerag Bolten and it was an excellent experience! Our tour guide Jeff is a super experienced guide with great sense of humour!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank W281KIandyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews